Horror logo

Freaky Friday

Part One - Upstairs

By Ash LeePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I long ignored my link to the other side. The door opened for me when I was fourteen years old, it scared the absolute crap out of me. I was petrified of what I was seeing and feeling. Since then sleeping in the dark has become impossible for me; I felt I was being watched, whenever my eyes were closed.

This first story adds some context, it was before I personally experienced anything paranormal. My childhood house was haunted. I didn’t believe it was haunted when the events started occurring. This is ironic as others not believing me led to anxiety and fear about sharing this part of myself in the future.

In year seven I had a group of girlfriends stay over for my birthday. The house was huge and perfect for a sleepover. Upstairs was a granny flat, which we never used, so we held the sleepover up there. I was awoken by the screams of the girls during the night. I asked them what was wrong and they said ‘three of us saw the face of an old lady in the doorway of the staircase.’ I told them they were being ridiculous and ghosts didn’t exist. They were petrified, I could see genuine fear across their faces; I didn’t know how to equate the two. I knew ghosts weren’t real yet I knew they weren’t faking it.

Some of the girls needed the toilet and wouldn’t go alone, two of them had finally gotten the courage to go. They stood up at the same moment, two balloons (not next to each other) popped, causing the girls to scream. This was the beginning of the weird occurrences. I had convinced myself it was a coincidence at the time, as I was completely sure spirits didn’t exist … which soon faded when I started seeing things for myself.

This next story adds a little more context and is again pre-my paranormal experiences.

My aunty travelled interstate to visit us with her family and stayed in our granny flat. She began cleaning upstairs before they left. She placed the spray bottle on the bench in the bathroom, went into the bedroom to grab something and heard a THUD. She went back into the bathroom and found the spray bottle in the bin, which wasn’t next to the bench … She looked around, there was no one else upstairs. She didn’t finish cleaning, she was too scared to go back upstairs after that.

This still didn’t curb my beliefs, spirits were not real. They couldn’t be, right? Well let me tell you they aren’t real…until you start seeing them, then they are the most real thing ever.

Tune in next week where I will start from the beginning of my own experiences.

As originally seen at https://ashleeauthor.com/2020/09/14/part-one-upstairs/

Freaky Friday

Part Two - Outside

When I was fourteen something very bizarre occurred … Something I had no explanation for. Perhaps the girls from my year seven sleepover hadn’t made up what they saw. Could it be possible they actually saw a lady upstairs?

I often get told there has to be an explanation for the things I see and hear. No one has ever followed up by providing me with actual plausible theories.

Story Time:

It was a normal weekend morning, I was outside patting my two Jack Russell dogs, Pixie and Max. They were adorable (their adorableness is not relevant to my story, may they rest in peace). The spot I was sitting was against a wall. To get into the backyard it is a ‘U’ shape and I was sitting against one of the brick walls of the ‘U’ shape. (Visual learners please see diagram ‘A’ below). The dogs became unsettled making a crying noise; wind began blowing on me from the brick wall. I was scared and confused, how could wind blow from a wall? Why were the dogs freaking out? Am I going crazy? The wind was strong enough that my hair was blowing with it.

I got up to go inside, still freaked out. As I slid the fly screen door open wind blew on me as I walked through it, again strong enough to push my hair back. Please see diagram ‘B’ below. There is no way wind could come from the direction it was coming.

I sat on the couch, I told my sister the weirdest thing had happened. As I explained it to her, she was confused, she said, “you aren’t making any sense. It simply isn’t possible what you’re saying.”

The phone rang, I answered it. It was my Uncle calling to tell me my Grandpa had passed away. My father had always told me I was Grandpa’s favourite, he and I had a special relationship. I remember when I was around four he used to push his fake teeth halfway out and insist anyone could do it with their teeth, I spent what felt like hours (I was four, it was probably five minutes) trying to copy with my teeth.

Back to the creepy stuff…The event left a lot of unanswered questions, was this my Grandpa coming to say goodbye? How could something like this happen? It was enough to blow the mind of an adult. Imagine being fourteen, an age where people think you make things up or don’t put as much weight on the words coming out of your mouth as they are easy to dismiss.

Next time; the reason I became self-conscious and guarded about seeing things comes into play.

As originally seen at https://ashleeauthor.com/2020/09/14/part-two-outside/

Like

About the Creator

Ash Lee

Ash Lee is an up and coming author who enjoys discussing topical and serious issues and has a natural dry humour and wittiness seeping out into her writing. Her ideas are eclectic and she enjoys working on multiple projects at one time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.