Horror logo

For The Love Of Horror

JD’s Very Scary Horror This Or That Challenge

By Colleen Millsteed Published 12 months ago 4 min read
3
Image courtesy of Pixabay

We all know Brett Jenae Tomlin’s This or That challenges on Medium and now JD Nealey has put together his very own Horror This or That challenge.

BJ tagged me to invite me to take up the challenge so here I am.

You can read JD’s challenge here.

So here’s my take on the questions included in this challenge.

1. Slasher or Supernatural?

As a youngster I was obsessed with slasher horror movies but then I had children. Something seriously changes you once you have your own offspring. It must be an inbuilt characteristic survival mechanism because once I had children, I began to fully realise these slasher movies could actually be real. They could and do happen in real life.

What a wake up call because once I had that realisation and as I got older, I realised I’m not bullet proof after all and only then did slasher movies begin to terrify me.

With this in mind, I’m going to choose supernatural because it seems I’m not yet old enough to start believing these movies could come true one day.

By Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

2. Zombies or Cannibals?

For some reason I’ve never been a fan or enjoyed zombie movies. They have always seemed a little too fake for my liking.

Cannibalism and cannibals on the other hand are brilliant movie topics. You’ve only got to think about Hannibal Lecter to know what I mean.

3. Vampires or Werewolves?

The pristine beauty of the full moon and my affinity with wolves ensures that I have a real soft spot for werewolves.

As to vampires, so gross! I can’t even eat my steak a little pink on the inside so I’ve no understanding how vampires can enjoy the taste of their food.

By Samuele Giglio on Unsplash

4. Humans or Aliens?

Aliens are so cool and so varied when compared to humans. Got to love me a good alien.

5. Witches or Warlocks?

Like the human race, women and witches can’t be trusted. They’ll turn on you in a heartbeat.

Whereas you’ll always know where you stand with the male of the human species and the resulting warlocks.

By Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

6. Jason or Freddy?

Jason was always my favourite, from the very first watching of the original Friday the Thirteenth movie.

He was so good at what he did and made many of us scream in fear.

7. Summer Camp or Suburb?

Summer camp. Seriously how better does it get than to have your choice of victims all waiting, grouped together, just waiting for you to choose. Take a pick.

8. Low-Budget or Blockbuster?

Sorry but low budget usually means fakeness and predictability. Blockbuster usually has you sitting on the edge of your seat the entire way through the movie.

9. Fight or Flee?

Flee and hide. I don’t think I’d ever win a fight against the bad guys. If I could, then I would have been chosen for the main actor haha.

10. Cemetery or Swamp?

I’m far more partial to the cemetery. The swamps hold a lot more than scary monsters in my imagination.

By Attila Lisinszky on Unsplash

11. Shrunken Heads or Skulls?

I just love me a little old shrunken head. Ideally keyring size please.

12. Machete or Chainsaw?

I’ve got to choose the good old chainsaw. We’ve all got one in our back shed which makes them more accessible than a machete. Plus they are more effective in ensuring the victim doesn’t survive.

By Michael Fenton on Unsplash

13. Hospital or Home Depot?

Oh, definitely the hospital. Seriously who’d choose home depot?

14. Apocalypse or No Apocalypse?

No apocalypse. Not my thing.

15. Nightmare or Reality?

Often these two can be the same thing but on saying that I’m more inclined to take my chances with reality.

16. Dungeon or Maze?

By Cihan Özdemir on Unsplash

Have you ever heard of my severe lacking of a sense of direction? It’s so bad that you’ve only got to turn me once and I’m lost.

Therefore, I’d stand a far better chance in a dungeon than I ever would in a maze.

17. Radiation or Disease?

This one is a tough one because neither are a good option. Radiation however is a terrible way to go. You may just strike it lucky with a disease, as there may be a cure, so I’ll choose disease.

18. Spells or Rituals?

Definitely love a good ritual and there seems to always be a lot more gore involved in rituals. Spells are pretty bland in comparison.

By Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

19. Skeletons or Ghosts?

I’m very partial to a good ghost story.

By Jr Korpa on Unsplash

20. Series or Standalone?

I’d have to say stand alone because unless it’s an extremely good movie storyline, it soon gets old when run in a series, with each consecutive movie getting worse than the one before it.

And a BONUS Question…

Theatre or Netflix?

It’s far more scary watching a horror movie in the theatre. More real life like and louder. A far better atmosphere watching a scary movie on the big screen.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

interview
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    I never knew you used to like slasher movies! I'm with you right there with the werewolves, I love them. I think twilight ruined vampires for me, lol. But I love blood 🤣 Oooo, a ritual sounds so fascinating! Shall we do one? 🤣🤣🤣

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is great. Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.