Horror logo

For Old Times Sake

A Nuclear Red Herring

By Fellow Traveller Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1

I was already sick of this and we weren’t even halfway there. I could tell because the old railway bridge which has been recently upgraded from defunct transport to antique decoration was quickly disappearing in the taillights. The van smelled like dried paint, sawdust, and a thick saturation of air freshener with a hint of weed.

“What’s wrong?” asked Jonah from the driver’s seat. This was his dad’s old carpentry van, now Jonah’s band’s van. “We can go back, I just wanted to see what Mike was talking about.”

I hadn’t hung out with Jonah in a while so I figured I would go on this adventure with him.

“No, even if there’s nothing out here I don’t have anything going on tomorrow. We’ll just hang at your place later.”

Sooner rather than later I hope.

“So do you think it’s nuclear waste? Mike said the light was green.” Jonah exclaimed.

I couldn’t stand Mike, The only reason Jonah started their awful band together was because they played baseball together years ago and Mike’s older brother gave them the equipment. Since then I feel like I know Jonah less and less.

“Does nuclear radiation actually glow green or is that something Mike saw in a movie?”

Jonah smiles. “Probably in a cartoon.”

I laughed. I guess Jonah was at least aware enough to taking Mike’s words with a grain of salt. I reached down to take a lukewarm bottle of water from the cooler that had been hot glued to the floor of the van. While I was looking at the old slurry of dirt and water I started to see the soft green illumination begin to paint my surroundings, at least that’s when it became noticeable.

“Bro looks what’s up ahead”

I looked up and poked my head between the front seats to see the pale green light splintering through the trees. Well it looks like Mike was right about something.

“What if lights from an event?” I inquired.

“All the way out here? I dunno if it would be that much light for something this far out.” Jonah responded.

We pulled up to the source which sat about 30 yards downhill from the road. It was a small stone house with one of those metal signs that the county uses to signify a historical site.

“Looks like a private event.” I stated dryly.

Jonah looked at me, his growing smile was slightly hidden behind the long hair that was covering his face.

“Let’s check it out.” He whispered for some reason.

The newfound curiosity did little to assuage my initial apathy.

“It’s probably just some redneck playing around with some stage lights.”

Jonah’s smile widened. “But what if it’s not?”

I shook my head “Well what if it really is something nuclear, why risk it?” I wasn’t serious but I didn’t want to peak into some dude’s house.

Jonah started climbing out of the van “You can’t be serious. Now you think Mike is a scientist?”

He starts jogging down the hill. I roll me eyes as I leave the van to catch up to him. I’ll entertain this potential trespassing for now but we’re leaving as soon as I can convince him to leave.

We close in on the house. The light streams unflinchingly through the windows. Peering inside is near impossible due to the thick distorting glass. It makes everything inside looks half melted.

Jonah turns away from the window “Where’s the light coming from?”

I was wondering the same thing since there are no lights, but the fire place was lit. Maybe it somehow was nuclear.

“I’m going in.” Jonah says resolutely.

I try not to raise my voice. “No no no, this isn’t a B and E, we’re leaving right now!” But Jonah disappeared behind the house. I sit there dumbstruck. What do I do? I’m sure as hell not going in.

I see Jonah’s distorted shape sneak past me to a door on the other side of the room. Well I guess I just wait for him to get bored or scared enough to leave.

Wait...

What the hell is that?

That right there at the of the hall…

A pale shape slowly limps through into the room and through the door that Jonah went into. This can’t be happening, I gotta get in there.

I run through to the other side just in time to see Jonah climb down from a window.

“Oh thank god, let’s go now!” I say as hushed as I could. I shove him towards the van and we run up the hill.

I get into the passenger seat in the front and slam the door shut, my heart feels like it’s flooding my ears with blood. Jonah seems surprisingly calm and collected after that, his breathing wasn't even audible. I’m honestly impressed that he was so ballsy. Maybe he didn’t see the person in the house, should I tell him? Not yet, I don’t want to freak him out. I turn back to the house to see if we were being followed. I just noticed that the green light was extinguished. We were in near complete darkness.

“So” I say through my heavy breathing. “What exactly did Mike say about that place anyway?”

Jonah sits motionless, his long hair was covering his face again, his skin looked sickly pale.

“… Who is Mike?”

fiction
1

About the Creator

Fellow Traveller

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.