Horror logo

Flight of the Blue Jay Part Nine: The Red Devil Appears

Who is the Red Devil?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Flight of the Blue Jay Part Nine: The Red Devil Appears
Photo by Jack Bulmer on Unsplash

The van jostled us around, trees flashing by the windows. Alarm widened my eyes, the mental hospital where my husband was kept was looming in the distance. Panic raised through my mind, trembles shaking my entire body. Every nerve in my body was on high alert as a black metal door squealed open. Empty black tunnels twisted endlessly in front of us, Mastermind turned back to me.

“You are going to hate what I am asking you to do.” He warned cautiously, taking a few steps back. “I am going to free your ex-husband.” It took all of my good efforts not to send him to the floor right there. Rolling my eyes, a snarl curled on my lips. Our footfalls echoed down the hall, every second making it harder for me to bite my tongue. Screw it!

“Who the hell do you think you are?” I snarled with a biting tone, my fists clenched until blood dripped from my palms. “He is where he needs to be. I can’t b-” Mastermind put his hand up, stopping me mid rant. Heavy boots thundered down the hall, masked men and women stopping inches from all of us. Officer Declan shifted uncomfortably, rubbing the back of his neck. A touch of sadness flickered in his eyes, Sammy stepping up next to me.

“Isn’t a beautiful day for a battle?” A deep gravelly voice suggested joyously in the front of the crowd. “I believe Raoul or whatever his freaking name is, belongs to us. Oh I see your knee is healed, shall we smash it again.” The brown leather creaked as my fingers gripped the handles of my dual machetes harder, honestly being half tempted to just handing him over.

“As much as I hate him, this society needs him more than you.” I uttered, disbelief rife in my tone. “As long as I don’t have to be near him for a long time then I will be fine.” The person in the red demon mask tilted his head, a soft layer of dust covering his red suit.

“You see dear, I am the leader of what you call the after school special murder club.” He introduced himself, turning his gray eyes onto me. “Only I and the leaders of the different groups have the red demon masks, and the rest are just white masks. You know a superiority thing. What is a fellow to do? Anyways, I need him for a special project which I am guessing Mastermind is trying to prevent. Such a shame.” Two special curved blades shimmered in his hands, Mastermind sending a couple of agents to get my nasty ex-boyfriend. Four masked men chased after them as their various weapons glistened in the weak yellow lighting.

“Don’t let me make you die today.” Mastermind scoffed in dismay, pulling out an ornate black cane. “Like this cane, it is my newest invention.” Disappointment burned in my eyes, wondering why I didn’t get such a cool weapon. A creepy smile spread cheek to cheek on the face of the Red Devil, his gaze falling on me.

“We’ll take her too.” He ordered, pointing his blades in my direction. “She intrigues me. You seem smarter than your husband. How about this? We just take her instead, and she can provide me many evenings of fun. I am assuming that you must think I am the Red Devil and you are most correct. See, so smart. Well what do you say?” Sammy shook his head no, Mastermind being the world’s biggest dick for even thinking about it.

“I refuse and I will fight for my freedom if you wish.” I offered while a stunned silence surrounded me like the endless ocean. “If I land two blows on you, I let you walk but I get to keep my ex-husband. If I lose you, you get me no questions and I will serve you as you wish until I die.” Sammy tried to hold me back, masked men and women rushing everyone but me.

“Okay.” He answered with a clever grin, a strange twinkle in his eyes. “I accept, forget about her ex-husband for now and just kill any agent you can.” Rushing at him, sparks snowed around us, our blades clashing violently. A defiant smile danced across my face, feeling pleasure in fighting the leader of this vile club. His men and women lay dead behind us, Mastermind and everyone else watching us with flickering looks of concern. Frustration boiled inside of me as I couldn’t land a hit, but he was. Sharp blades licked my skin, small lines of blood dripping from my skin. Licking his lips, his foot slammed me onto the cracked pavement. A shocked look illuminated his eyes, my blade slamming into his shoulder. Leaping to my feet, the rock crumbled underneath my feet as I leapt up above him. A strange glint in his eyes alarmed me, his blade sliding through my stomach. Red blood dripped down his blade, sickening noises filling my ear as the machete slid through his shoulder. Tossing me to the side, he whistled. His henchman came out of all of the corners of darkness. Blood poured out of my wound, the red warm liquid pooling at my feet.

“Let’s go home boys and girls.” He barked with a dismayed smile, his gaze falling on my bleeding body. “I believe a deal is a deal. Until we meet again my darling blue jay. I look forward to our next battle.” Running his hand through his slicked back salt and pepper hair, they dashed down the hall. Battered and bruised agents were dragging my indignant ex-husband down the hall, his eyes falling on me. Licking his lips, his hand grazed my thigh.

“Well it appears that we are to be together again.” He taunted coldly, the agents cuffing both his hands and ankles. “I love you my dear blue jay.” Chills ran up my spine, Sammy’s eyebrow twitching with a sense of annoyance. Jealousy burned inside of him like a white hot coal, his arms wrapping around me.

“Why the hell do you keep hurting yourself for everyone else?” He snapped at me, worried strife in his voice. “I need you to live.” Surprise parted his lips slightly, a white haired child stepping up to me, her icy blue eyes falling on me. Her head tilted to the right, a shimmering blue liquid in her tiny hand.

“If you carry her back to the van, we can fix her up with this.” She explained calmly, opposite of Sammy. “It will hurt and she will be bedridden for a week. Don’t let her push herself, or she will reverse everything this magical science potion does. I guess you can say that I am a bit of a wizard with such things.” Tears were swimming in his eyes as he solemnly carried back. The other agents sat holding my ex with a bag over his head, true respect in their eyes. The van jumped over every pothole, the little girl pouring the liquid over my wound. Howls of pain shot from my lips, the tissue forming back together, veins stitching themselves together. A feverish sweat dripped on my skin, my skin sealing shut. Nausea wracked my body, my breakfast threatening to leave my stomach. Voices faded in and out, lips were moving but no words were being heard. A touch from Sammy told me that I could rest my eyes, my head resting in his lap. My skin popped, the needle sinking into my skin. Sweet slumber wrapped her arms around me, Sammy kissing my forehead.

The Red Devil stood in front of me, his blades spinning around in his hands. Over and over again he stabbed me, the cold sweat soaking the black sweater dress I was wearing. Why couldn’t I win? I needed to get stronger, and yet every time in my dream I kept failing. The dead victims of that sick club stood up, blood pouring from their wounds. The red headed sisters smashed me into the invisible walls of my mind, dead cloudy eyes bore into mine. Rotten flesh fell off of their hands as they wrapped their fingers around my neck. Air became hard to obtain, my windpipe crushing underneath their grasp.

“Help.” I wheezed, ripping away at their fingers. “I am sorry I couldn’t save you.” The look in their eyes softened, a warm smile on their lips. Nothing, I felt nothing as my body crashed to the ground.

“Wake up.” Sammy’s voice echoed in the hollow halls of my mind. “Wake up! It is just a nightmare.”

Our forehead smashed into each other’s as I sat up. My stomach ached, Sammy laying me back down. A crooked grin danced across his face, the chair creaking as he laid down next to me. His arm wrapped around my waist, exhaustion winning my eyes over again.

“I love you.” He whispered in my ears as I fell back asleep.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.