Horror logo

Flight of The Blue Jay Part Eleven: The End or New Beginning

Which one will it be?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Flight of The Blue Jay Part Eleven: The End or New Beginning
Photo by Patrice Bouchard on Unsplash

Today was the grand mission to end it all, the Red Devil asked for me personally. My father and everyone else protested my leaving to fight him, so I escaped in the middle of the night. As monstrous as he was, he always kept his word. Sneaking into one of the company vehicles, the engine roared to life. No one followed me, a bag of weapons jostling about in the back. Hours passed, the tracking bug long since been taken off. The crickets chirped, the stars twinkling above me. The Red Devil stood by the lake, his red suit fluttering in the wind. The white silk rockabilly dress he sent me felt out of place, his salt and pepper hanging in front of his eyes uncharacteristically. His dark eyes watched me walk inches from him, an evil grin spreading cheek to cheek.

“I killed all of my subordinates, and I will give you the location if you kill me. Simply put, a file will be sent to your headquarters.” He explained coldly, passing me a long black sword matching his. “I knew you were holding back that day when you fought me. Why did you wear your combat boots? They simply don’t go.” Rolling my eyes, my side braid blew in the sticky summer breeze.

“I can’t walk in heels.” I admitted sheepishly, rubbing the back of my neck. “Besides, do you really see me as a pearls type of girl.” A soft chuckle tumbled from his lips, his sword dripping in fresh blood.

“I suppose that is the case. I hope you see that I did all of this for you.” He replied genuinely, emotion actually flashing in his dead eyes. “I actually feel things when I am around you. It is rather strange.” A lump formed in my throat, his gloved hand tracing my cheek. Ripping off his mask, my breath hitched. His handsome face was flawless, a perfect set of teeth unsettling me. Shock at me, my ex-boyfriend from my high school days staring back at me. Disgust flashed in my eyes, his lips kissing mine aggressively. His hot whiskey breath mixed with the iron smell of the blood in a most vile way. Shoving him off, my sword was raised in the attack position. Sparks rained down around us as the blades clashed violently, his crooked grin never leaving his face.

“It was you the whole time.” I growled through gritted teeth, it all makes sense now. “I thought you died in an accident after eleventh grade.” Charging at me, his boot slammed me into a nearby tree. Cold sweat dripped down my eyebrow, a rusty nail just above my head.

“Incorrect.” He grumbled, rage simmering in his voice. “I was sent to a mental hospital where they treated me like I was stupid. I just couldn’t take the rejection from you. You are my one and only. If I can’t have you, then no one can. I thought we could do this Romeo and Juliet style.” His sword slammed into my leg, a howl of pain exploding from my lips. Attempting to crawl away, he pinned me against the tree. The sound of his zipper alerted me, his hand creeping up my thigh.

“I refuse to let you take me.” I spat, my blade sliding through his neck. Blood dyed the white dress red, his body stumbling back. Wiping the blood off of my face, a spiked bat smashed my knee. Silent tears streamed down my cheeks, Agent S laughed confidently. Getting down to my level, she injected a needle into my neck. Darkness bathed my vision, sleep winning me over.

A single yellow light swung over me, the light giving me a throbbing migraine. Dismay dimmed my eyes, chains with spikes cutting into my waist. Shit I was tied to a concrete pillar. Looking around, crumbled concrete sprinkled the ground. So the place was abandoned, Agent S approaching me with my ex-husband on her arm. Fright paralyzed me, panic running through my mind.

“Blue Jay, you really should have killed me.” He taunted coldly, making out with Agent S. Blood spotted her black business suit, a cruel smile on her face. All of the other agents except for Sammy and Mastermind were in the same predicament that I was in.

“You are pregnant, you know.” Agent S announced jovially, her face inches from mine. “We are going to keep you alive until you give birth. Then we will kill you and raise the child. And no you guys did nothing, but we took his sperm and put it in you.” Nausea wracked my stomach, Sammy looking pale behind me. Sliding me a key, my eyes fell on his bruised and bloody face. Unlocking myself, he held the chains up. A full needle shimmered in the yellow light, Sammy dropping the chains. She barely had any time to react as I swiped the needle from her pocket. My ex-husband called out, the needle jamming into her neck. White foam frothed at her painted lips, his boots pounding towards me. Thud! Her body collapsed next to me, a lump forming in my throat. A single gunshot popped, his body dropping inches from mine. Cloudy eyes gazed back at me, blood pooling beneath my feet. Relief washed over me, Sammy pulling me close to his chest.

“I am so happy you are alive.” He blubbered, pressing his lips against mine. “I don’t know what I would do without you.” Smiling weakly, my hand fell to my stomach. This time I had thought the stress made her go away, two periods having been missed.

“I am sorry about leaving you.” I apologized somberly, his hand resting on my stomach. “I won’t be a good mother.” He shook his head, my father looking at the dead body of Agent S with defeat in his eyes. My lips parted to speak, his arms wrapping around me. Tears streamed down his cheeks, sobs wracking his body. Guilt burned in my raw in my eyes, regret simmering in his eyes.

“You did the right thing.” He wept openly, various agents freeing each other. “At least I have you, and a grandchild on the way. What do you say about shutting this operation down?” Shaking my head, shock widened his eyes.

“I think we should change ourselves to a private detective company, and stop the people who the cops can’t find.” I wheezed, my chest aching from the earlier battle. “That way we can be legit.” Soft chuckles tumbled from his lips, his fingers wrapping around a government badge. My trembling hand snatched it from him, a sly grin dancing across my face.

“So my life is just in storage?” I queried oddly, Sammy sitting down next to me. “We were government agents this whole time?” Looking away in shame, he twiddled his thumbs.

“Would you have joined if I began with that?” He commented offhandedly, calling over the white haired lady to heal me. “I know you well enough you would have politely declined. Starting today, you can leave this all behind you, and live in the country if you like.” He wasn’t wrong, I would have refused to join.

“How about we change careers?” Sammy suggested happily, pulling me close to his chest. “How about you become a writer, or something?” This would make an interesting story, the words beginning to mull about in my head.

Hours passed, the salty sea air wafted up my nose. The smell relaxed me, the lighthouse coming into view. Water splashed all over me, the rotting dock of a worn cabin in the woods of Maine creaked as we pulled up to it. Sammy scooped me up, bringing me home.

Epilogue:

Several years had passed, my three children still running around outside. My books lined the shelves, Sammy bursting into the room. Kissing the nape of my neck, his police uniform felt soft against my skin.

“Rough day at work.” I joked playfully, pulling on his tie. “I bet I can fix that.” Chuckling to himself, he sat me on the counter. Pressing his body against mine, the children burst in. Their wavy dark brown hair running around the live edge island. Blue eyes glittered up at me, disgusted looks on their faces. Sammy stuck out his tongue at them, picking them all up at once.

“Ew, don’t kiss her.” My daughter Lily groaned, rubbing her forehead. “That is disgusting.” Her two brothers, Max and Ben dragged her into the living room. The latest cartoon blasted, giving us a moment of privacy.

“Nothing is rougher than what we went through.” He mused sensually, kissing my lips. “You will always be my lighthouse that guides me in the storm.” The front door burst in again, my father walking in with his polo shirt and khaki shorts. Snorting, he looked ridiculous. His eye patch made the look even more out of place.

“What happened to your suit, old man?” Sammy teased lightly, daggers shooting from my father’s eyes. “I thought you were never leaving the force.” Sticking out his tongue, a cold breeze froze my legs as they rushed to hug my father’s legs.

“Guess what, pups?” He announced cheerfully, spinning Lily around. “I just bought the house next door so you can visit any time you want to.” Sammy groaned, the children dancing around in joy.

“How about some of my special lemonade cookies?” I offered, pulling out the yellow platter. Sammy spun me around, his toughness trying to hide the excitement of my father living next door. Tears welled up in my eyes, an unfamiliar feeling washing over me.

“This just means I get more time with you, my pet.” Sammy growled hungrily in my ear, spinning me around. “Are you crying tears of joy, or sadness?” He wiped away the tears flowing from my eyes. This was the life I always dreamed of. His eyes darted anxiously waiting for my answer.

“Tears of joy.” I wept, feeling pathetic. “I don’t even know why I am crying.” Nuzzling into his chest, he just let me cry on his shoulder. Please let this last forever, my whole family hugging me. From the beginning of my life, I wanted a family to call my own. Looks like I achieved the ultimate goal in my life. This was the light at the end of the tunnel. A warm smile dawned on my face as a blue jay landed on the branch outside of the window.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.