Horror logo

Eyemun

Beginning

By Kyle ShamburgPublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

Mom and Dad tucked me in for the night. I laid awake listening to the radio coming from the other room reporting a tornado coming.

I couldn't sleep the noise from the outside was too loud. The screeching was coming from outside my window. I laid awake in fear with my head deep in the pillow. I screamed at the dark images that were grinning at me with sharp grey teeth. I pulled the covers over my nose just below my eyes. I still needed to see where the demon was. The sheets will protect me.

"I want to eat you!" The voices shriek in my ears.

"Go away!" I yell.

"We want to eat you!"

"Leave me alone!"

"Will you let us eat you?" That time the voices ripped the sheets apart.

The next words that came from me were,"No Eyemun!" I screamed at the top of my lungs. I felt my eyes come out of my sockets and for a moment I was blind. When my vision came back the demon vanished.

Sunlight filled the room making my head throb. I overslept. I sat up and stretched with a yawn. It was then that I realized the sunlight was shinning through the whole in my roof. I leaped out of bed onto the cold wet floor. Did I sleep through a tornado? I yelled out for my mom and then I stepped on something pointy. I cursed and kicked it away. I hopped up and down and noticed that my foot was bleeding. I ran to the bathroom. It was across the street. As I stood there I noticed that my house was the only house that was damaged.

"Hey kid, what happened to your house?" said an old man that I have never seen before.

"Wasn't it the tornado?" I asked.

"Son, that storm didn't come anywhere close to us."

I ran back to the house through the puddles and this time I didn't use the front door. "Dad, Mom!" I yelled for them, but there was no answer. I was alone on the floor with my head hanging low. What could have happened? The pain on my foot started to itch. My mind drifted to the night before. My mother's soft touch on my cheek as she said good night. I looked at my foot and it stopped bleeding. No, it wasn't bleeding at all. The water from the puddle must have washed it off. No blood? Where did it come from? I noticed an imprint on my foot. Oh God! Four markings that looked like finger nail scratches. "Mom, Mom!" I yelled furiously. I got up and ran to the basement. The floor wasn't covered in water. I went to the smear where I kicked that thing that I stepped on. I followed the smear into the closet. I saw my mom's hand sticking out. I reached out for her hand. I was so happy to see her again. She was so light when I picked her up. I then wept, because I was only happy to see her hand. Where is the rest of her? I haven't seen my Dad yet. I turned around because I thought someone was watching me. I was right, there were a pair of eyes staring at me. I picked up the eyes.

I heard a voice above me. "You have your father's eyes." It was the old man. "What happened sonny? I heard a loud screeching noise and saw a blast of light after a battle cry of someone saying no Eyemun," the old man babbled on.

I whispered to my self no Eyemun. I felt a pain in my eyes, they were wiggling around in my sockets. I grabbed my face trying to push my eyes back in, but they flew out. I couldn't see what happened next, but when I regained sight the old man was gone. The only trace of him was his smoked filled shoes. I ran far away still holding my father's eyes. I stopped to put them in my pockets.

I had to try something. I looked at a wall that was about fifty feet from me. I whispered no Eyemun. I felt the wobble in my eyes again and then it happened. When I regained my sight the wall was still standing. So I yelled, "No Eyemun!" three seconds later the wall was a rock pile. Some feet beyond there was more damage. I walked counting each step to see the damage I did. Some hundred feet later I saw the horror my eyes went through a church and then knocked a school bus into a school house.

I was terrified and alone. I had no home to go to, so I ran and hid. I lived in fear that someone would get me and lock me up for what I did or worse open me up and study me.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kyle Shamburg

I am an Illustrator who likes to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.