Horror logo

Evidence of an alibi

Evidence of an alibi

By Laurau RobertsqPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6
Evidence of an alibi
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

I finally killed her.

  

  This woman was uncultured and chattered all day long. These days, I've been remorseful about it. When I proposed to break up, she rolled around and threatened to come to my company and reveal everything.

  

  I am afraid of this kind of scandal to the company, and I and my boss to introduce me to the girlfriend has reached the point of marriage. So as a last resort, I had to kill her.

  

  I wrapped the body in a blanket, tied it with a rope and loaded it into the car, took it to the jungle 20 kilometers away and dug a hole and buried it.

  

  After I returned home, I grew restless. Would the body be dug out by wild dogs? A heavy rain, washed away the mud, the body will not be exposed? In either case, once found, the first suspect is me. Not only is there a motive for the crime, but there is no alibi. The motive is not to say, I have to have an alibi first.

  

  The next day, to relieve my growing fear, I went to a bistro in Shinjuku for a drink after work. As I drank, a smiling young man came up to me and said something.

  

  "Did you have a drink at the R nightclub last night around nine o'clock?" The guy asked, staring at my face.

  

  Again? I couldn't help but think so. There seems to be someone who looks exactly like me in Tokyo, and I've been mistaken for him several times before. Yesterday at the Backlot baseball stadium, a stranger also came up out of the blue and said, "It's nice of you to enthusiastically cheer for the Giants!"

  

  That was the reason I met the woman I killed. That day, while having tea at the tea house, the woman came up to me with a smile and said, "We met last month, in Guam, remember?" So I went along with it, half jokingly, and that led to a sinful relationship.

  

  "Last night at 9:00?" That was the exact time I strangled the woman with the rope, because it happened to be the whole news broadcast on NHK, and I couldn't remember it wrong.

  

  The guy nodded and said, "Yes, I guess I'm not mistaken, you went to R nightclub, right?"

  

  "That's right. You are ......"

  

  "I'm a bartender at R Nightclub, you forgot?"

  

  "Oh, right. You're the bartender at that establishment."

  

  "Guest, you were courting our June and quietly took her out before closing at 12, right?"

  

  "Well, yes."

  

  "And then went to Okimi's apartment in Yotsuya?"

  

  "Yes, she invited me there." I snickered in my heart. At 12 o'clock last night, I was digging a hole to bury the corpse with trembling hands. Now I have a perfect alibi!

  

  "Come on, let's have a drink together!" I said as I raised my glass. Which, just a moment ago, the pleasant young man stood up haughtily, winked at the door, and shouted, "Mr. Police, it really is him!"

  

  Just as I looked bewildered, two policemen rushed over and grabbed my arms.

  

  "You are suspected of killing R nightclub hostess and robbing 300,000 yen from her house, and we are now arresting you on suspicion of robbery and murder. Or, can you produce an alibi?"  

slasher
6

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.