Horror logo

Eternal Damnation

A Horrible Decision to be Made

By Michelle LincolnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

We were presented with two options.

We could either be cremated and turned into a light bulb or dehydrated to hang over a grate where the damned souls reside, never at peace.

I was standing in a group with others, some of them I knew, others I did not.

We were instructed to strip off what we were wearing and assemble into a line. Monotone and baggy clothes were provided. A baggy pair of shorts, a shirt, and a pair of plain socks.

I waited for the man that I loved. I wanted to see him one more time, so that we could decide what to do together.

I knew that we had come to this horrible place together, but I had gotten separated from him in the crowd.

We had been taken from our homes and our families by these beings who appeared human, but who held faceless expressions.

They showed no compassion, no remorse for what they were doing.

There is a difference between being human and having humanity. These beings looked human on the outside, but they were shells. Words were never spoken, yet their intentions were clearly understood.

And the rest of the people who were in the crowd with me?

Sheep.

They followed orders without question, and I am ashamed to admit that I did the same.

I was caught up. I was worrying about what my partner would do, and worried about what his decision would be. Truthfully, I was probably preoccupied because it was something to distract myself with.

I knew that I had to face the reality of the situation.

I looked around, there was no way out and there was no other option.

I started to panic, my mind searched for another solution. I wondered if this was a dream, if I could wake up or somehow change the course of events.

Yet nothing changed.

My mind continued to move back and forth in an attempt to deny the situation, I was almost certain that this could not be true, that this was not really happening.

The majority of the group I was with chose to be cremated. They held onto the idea that somehow their spirits would be at peace and would be able to communicate with their loved ones occasionally via flickering lights and electrical mishaps.

Only one seemed to be interested in the eternal damnation option, and it was the man that I loved. He was ahead of me in line. I could hear him rationalizing his decision out loud. He held on to the idea that his consciousness would somehow remain. It was not a pretty sight.

The only person he seemed to be trying to convince was himself.

At that moment, I felt disgusted by his decision, and yet my heart continued to feel attached to him.

When we had toured the facility on the way in and were presented with our options, we had seen the damnation room.

It was small in size, but the depth was immeasurable. It was dark and dank, the old bodies that remained there were all shriveled up and barely recognizable.

Their spirits roamed, unattached to anything. The bodies dangled over what appeared to be a sewer grate that lay just above a bottomless pit.

It was the gateway to hell.

This did not seem like a proper resting place for anyone, who would choose such an option?

I despaired, wanting to be with my mate in the afterlife, but noticing now how different our outlooks were. I began to strip off my clothes, and looked for a way out.

There was none.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Michelle Lincoln

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.