Horror logo

Engraved

Hate

By S HendersonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Engraved
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

This is a true tale told by the prospective of my child-like thoughts . My Step-mother was not a nice women. She got away with a lot of things that she shouldn't have. I tried to keep details down and write it in a poetry like form. Please give me your true and honest feedback; this is my first piece in years.

ENGRAVED is a feeling. When you know that you will remember this for the rest of your life.

To never forget.

Engraved

So young. What I did was forgotten. Five.

So small. Standing. Waiting. I don't move.

I think this is how I learned what patience was. Hate too.

This is different. "It's all in your head!" This feeling.

ENGRAVED

I stand. An hour passes. School night.

My brother and sister are sound asleep. I'm tired.

What did I do that was so bad? Cat walks past. Anger.

You have so many. They are always fed and bathed. Envy.

Still I stand. Another hour. Wait.

ENGRAVED

There are no lights in here. Adjusted eyes.

I swap pressure back and forth on my feet. Silence.

Standing on cat food and litter. Disgusted.

I can hear you watching tv in the living room. You laugh.

ENGRAVED

Another hour passes. I'm still here. Remember?

My nose starts to itch. Wait. Listen.

Maybe you won't know if I'm really quiet. Hold my breath.

You clear your throat. Panic.

I wait to hear something. Nothing.

TV still on, I wait. I'm still here. Why?

ENGRAVED

One of the felines is rubbing up against my leg. Annoyed.

I don't move. I couldn't hurt the cat even if I wanted to. Go away!

My head still hurts. Throb.

I don't think this is from the tears. Drowsy even.

ENGRAVED

Has it been 30 more minutes? 40 more? Wait.

I hear you get up. I brace.

Which will it be this time? Your hands or your voice? Listen.

Fridge closes. Microwave hum. Silverware drawer. Breathe.

Mouth smacking wide open. Full. Getting distant. Mercy.

ENGRAVED

I'm still standing. Pain.

Another hour passes. Pinch.

There is a cat coming to use it's box. Smell.

It's hard to scrunch my nose when its on a wall. Grey paint.

ENGRAVED

I hear your laptop close. Wince.

It hits the table. Brace.

You don't get up. Breath.

I'm thirsty. Water?

I'm to scared to ask. Bathroom?

Not a chance. Hold it. Cant.

ENGRAVED

Pins and needles in my feet. Warm now too.

I'm still standing here. Wait.

I'm pleading in my mind as hard as I can. Please.

I know you can't hear me. Hope.

ENGRAVED

Dad is asleep too. Who are you texting? QUIET.

I can't think negative to loud or you will know. Wait.

Another hour has passed. Silence.

My legs are numb and cold now. Please?

ENGRAVED

I don't like this hallway. Battleship Grey.

It's so little. Like me.

You have to come in here to get to your room. Anxiety.

I know I'll see you soon. Will I?

ENGRAVED

Standing. Waiting. 30 more minutes pass. Can I still move?

Maybe if I'm fast. I put my heels to the floor. Good pain?

Don't get caught! Get back on my toes! That's better. Wait.

You don't move. Breath.

ENGRAVED

My nose itches again. I can't; To much moving already. Stupid paint.

This isn't my home anymore. This hurts!

Another 30 minutes. Wait.

My chest. My feet. My head. My heart. Pain.

ENGRAVED

The TV shuts off. Panic.

I hear your feet hitting the ground. Brace.

All the air I had saved in my lungs is gone. Don't move. Can't.

The weight of your steps increasing with sound. Anxiety.

You stop. Fear overtakes.

ENGRAVED

I can feel you on the other side of the wall. Please.

With the air gone, all the cats are gone too. To quiet.

Everyone is still asleep. Not for long.

Why are you still standing there. Don't think.

Child curiosity got the worst of me? No.

I don't want to be here anymore. I can't.

I keep my nose to the wall but shift my eyes to the left. There.

The darkest eyes. "Mom?"

ENGRAVED

psychological
1

About the Creator

S Henderson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.