Horror logo

Echoes of the Other Side

A Journey into the Unknown

By Umut ÇalışkanPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

As I approached the old mansion, I could feel a sense of foreboding settling over me. The sun was setting, casting long shadows across the property, and the once grand building was now a dilapidated shell. Despite my misgivings, I continued on, steeling myself for what lay ahead. I had been hired by a group of paranormal investigators to look into the strange occurrences that had been reported in the mansion. People claimed to hear whispers in the night, doors opening and closing on their own, and footsteps echoing throughout the halls. I wasn't convinced that there was anything supernatural going on, but I was determined to find out.

As I stepped into the foyer, the smell of rot and decay hit me. The floorboards creaked under my feet, and dust hung thick in the air. It was like stepping back in time, and not in a good way. I moved slowly through the first floor, examining each room and taking note of anything that seemed out of place. But aside from the expected wear and tear, everything seemed normal. However, as I made my way up the grand staircase, a chill ran down my spine.

The air grew colder as I reached the second floor, and I could hear faint whispers coming from down the hall. My heart pounding in my chest, I followed the sound, trying to pinpoint where it was coming from. As I approached one of the doors, it suddenly slammed shut, nearly causing me to jump out of my skin. I tried to turn the knob, but it wouldn't budge.

That's when I heard the voice. It was low and guttural, speaking in a language I couldn't understand. My stomach dropped as I realized that I wasn't alone in the mansion. I tried to make my way back down the stairs, but the door was locked. I was trapped. Suddenly, I heard a loud crash coming from upstairs. It sounded like a heavy object had been thrown against the wall. The whispers grew louder, more insistent.

And then, I saw it. A shadowy figure, standing at the end of the hallway. It was tall and gaunt, with glowing red eyes that seemed to burn into my soul. I backed away slowly, my heart racing, my mind reeling. This wasn't what I had signed up for. I had expected to find nothing more than a few rats and maybe a ghost or two, but this… this was something else entirely.

The figure started moving toward me, its steps slow and deliberate. I tried to run, but my feet felt rooted to the ground. And then, I felt it. A cold hand on my shoulder, pulling me back. I spun around to face my attacker, but there was no one there. I knew that I had to get out of the mansion. Now. I ran down the stairs, tripping and stumbling over debris, my heart pounding in my chest. I burst through the front door, gasping for breath, and didn't look back.

As I made my way back to my car, I could still hear the whispers, still feel the icy grip of that hand on my shoulder. I didn't know what I had just encountered, but I knew one thing for certain - I never wanted to go back to that mansion again. As I drove away from the mansion, my heart was still pounding in my chest. The events of the night had left me shaken to my core. I thought I was safe, that I had escaped the horrors that lurked within those walls. But I was wrong. As I drove down the deserted road, I felt a sudden jolt. My car had hit something, but I couldn't see what it was. I pulled over and got out of the car to investigate.

That's when I saw it. A creature, unlike anything I had ever seen before, lay crumpled on the road. Its eyes were glowing with an otherworldly light, and its skin was as cold as ice. I tried to run, but it was too late. The creature had already latched onto me, and its grip was too strong for me to break free. As I struggled to get away, the creature whispered something in my ear. It was a language that I didn't recognize, but the words chilled me to the bone. And then, everything went black. As I slowly regained consciousness, I could hear voices in the distance. The sound was muffled, like it was coming from underwater, but I could tell that they were talking about me.

"Is he okay?"

"I don't know. He's not responding."

"We need to get him to the hospital, stat." 

I tried to move, to let them know that I was awake, but my body wouldn't respond. It was like I was paralyzed, trapped in my own mind. And then, something strange happened. I felt a surge of energy, like an electric shock coursing through my body. I sat up, gasping for air, and looked around. The emergency responders were staring at me in shock, their faces pale and terrified.

"What's going on?" I asked, my voice hoarse and shaky.

"You were dead," one of them said. "We don't know how you came back to life."

I tried to explain that I had been attacked by a supernatural creature, but they didn't believe me. To them, it was just another bizarre accident, another unexplained event in a world full of mysteries. And then, something strange happened. I felt a sudden surge of anger, like a fire burning inside of me. I lashed out at the emergency responders, attacking them without warning. It was like I was a different person, someone else entirely. I had no control over my own actions, like I was possessed by a force beyond my understanding. The emergency responders managed to subdue me, but not before I had caused serious damage to their equipment and injured several people. When I finally regained control of my own body, I was horrified by what I had done. I apologized profusely, but it was too late. The damage had been done, and there was no going back. As I sat in the back of the ambulance, watching the flashing lights and listening to the sound of the sirens, I knew that my life would never be the same. The unknown had taken hold of me, and there was no escaping its grasp.

Note: İt was my first horror story so please share your views on comments.

fictionsupernaturalpsychological
1

About the Creator

Umut Çalışkan

Motivation stories sometimes tech related stuff

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.