Horror logo

Eating my experiences (5)

a zombie story

By L.D. Malachite Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Eating my experiences (5)
Photo by Olivier Piquer on Unsplash

TOME 6

I stared off into the distance for some time, Gabe's voice echoing resentfully through my head, blaming me for his death. He "spoke" in a tone that he never had in life, a slithering tone that stunk of disdain. I never thought we would be here, a group of five down to only two and a half. I eventually decided it was time to leave, but I was unsure whither that meant leaving this room or this house all together.

As I thumped down the stairs, I saw Alex, writing something, probably to share with me later. The two of us would write little short stories and trade them ever since we ran out of books to read. "hey alex, what're you working on. " I asked, hopeful to change the subject, in the hope of not having to tell him what I heard upstairs.

"Hm, oh, hi, just a short story, I'm almost done" He seemed surprised to see me, almost startled. "uh, are you okay? You lost a lot of people the other night..." he trailed off as he watched my face melt.

"I'm not going to lie to you, I'm not okay, but I will be." I didn't sound convincing, and I knew it, but he let it go reluctantly, trailing me with his eyes as I sat across from him drearily. "Should we leave this place? It doesn't seem safe now that they know where we are" I stated blankly as small tears threatened my composure.

"Oh, crap, yeah, we should probably move camp to one of the other farmhouses around here, maybe a mile farther from town?" He was always quick thinking, something that would surely help us survive.

"okay, alex, I have something to do first, do we have a...a saw?" I could hardly believe what I was asking.

"Y-yes, one sec. I saw one in the attic a while back" He began to rise as my anxiety came up to greet him.

"NO!" I blurted out while leaping to my feet "I'll look for it, don't worry" I added somewhat plainly

"Aaallllright, suit yourself, I'll check the garage" he stated with a suspicious look in his eyes. I nodded and quickly disappeared up the four flights of stairs to the attic. I arrived panting heavily and a little dizzy, but knew I needed to get a saw and get out, the attic always made my asthma act up. I rummaged around for a short while before finding what I came up to get, now for the hard part. As I rounded the corner of the stairs back down to the third floor, I could already smell Gabe's decomposing body.

"Ugh, this is going to be rough..." I was already crying knowing what I was planning to do, planning to dismember my late boyfriend. I knelt next to his head, kissed his forehead and placed the saw at his throat. I moved the saw firmly against his trachea once, hearing all manner of cracks and meaty sloshing. That alone was enough to leave me reeling, running across the room to vomit out of the broken window. When I finished, I decided to roll him onto his stomach in the hopes that if I couldn't see his face it may feel less personal. I hacked for maybe five minutes as him, but it felt like a decade had passed when his head rolled free.

Swallowing, I removed his bloodied shirt from his body, wrapping his cold, lifeless head in his shirt. After I grabbed a bag from the Attic I was ready to go, I had Gabe, and that's what was most important.

"Ah, is that so? I'm the most important thing? Good to hear it!" His voice permeated me down to the bone, cruel, yet enjoyable. I chose not to respond, something he would just have to get used to if I planned on keeping this from Alex. I ran down the stairs to meet Alex who was still at the table writing.

"I'm ready to go" the words left my mouth lifelessly, and he took notice.

"Okay, but maybe you should clean up first...that's a...lot of blood."

TO BE CONTINUED...

fiction
1

About the Creator

L.D. Malachite

L.D.Malachite is an author from California who specializes in Horror, and psychological explorations on trauma.

All stories published here are first drafts which will be later published as books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.