Horror logo

Easy As 1...2...3

Cure For Numerophobia

By Shanice WadellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Makeup Art / Model / Photography: Shanice L. Wadell ~ SLWcrea8

Kali had an interesting type of trepidation. She suffered from Necrophobia, the fear of numbers. Imagine the festering dread of that... counting change, making a phone call, ordering a number 5 at the drive-thru. Numbers are part of our daily lives... one cannot just avoid them.

To try and combat this fear, Kali would often visit Dr. Scoff, her Psychiatrists. For years she visited him, over and over again, never resulting in any sustainable cure. But that did not discourage Kali from continuing to visit Scoff’s practice. She knew how dedicated he was to find a way for her fear of numbers. Until one day, the good doctor suggested a “New” type of treatment. First, he would put her in a hypnotic state. Second, a little slice and dice. Obviously, it was as simple as that.

It’s as easy as 1, 2, 3...

~ Short Story by Shanice L. Wadell

Makeup / Model / Photography: Shanice L. Wadell

This Halloween look was from Halloween Season 2017. The topic I wanted to focus on for a costume as “Fears and Phobias”. I wanted to think outside of the box with this concept… spiders and clowns seemed like the easy route. Instead, the movie, “The Number 23” popped into my head. Written by Fernly Philips, directed by Joel Schumacher, and main character Jim Carrey brings you a story of a man with an obsession with the number 23, which leads you into a dark and twisted scenario. I personally loved the movie… and I more specifically remember the movie poster that was created for it.

Inspiration ~ The Number 23 Movie Poster

At that moment I knew that I wanted to incorporate that into my own unique style/look/character as well as create a short backstory. In the movie, “The Number 23”, Jim Carrey’s character has a vicious obsession with the number 23. But for me, I was going in the opposite direction. Instead, I wanted my character to have a fear of all numbers.

Getting the Look

Makeup Art / Modeling / Photography: Shanice L. Wadell

Using 3rd Degree equal parts of Part A silicon and Part B silicon, I mixed the two together to create a custom centerpiece with a carved like 13 in the middle. For obvious reason 13 was the go-to number for this Halloween get-up. The best part about using 3rd Degree is that you can create quick custom prosthetics in about 15 minutes (being that the drying time is speedy when Part A and Part B are combined together). The outcome is a super flexible piece that when applied to the skin can be blended seamlessly. I then used my trusty Pros-Aide to adhere the piece to my skin.

Homemade Prosthetics ~ Body Pieces

In combination with the 3rd Degree silicon, I also used modeling wax applied directly to my skin, laying down a thin layer of Pros-Aide beforehand for it to stick. Using regular store-bought vaseline, I used a tiny amount to smooth out the edges of the modeling for it to appear as though it blended effortlessly to my skin. The reason why I used modeling wax on certain sections instead of the 3rd Degree, is the fact that I could be more precise carving the tinier numbers.

Carved Numbers Step By Step (Combination of Modeling Wax and Silicon)

Grabbing my everyday foundation, I put a light covering over all the wax and silicon prosthetics . To top off the look, went to town with my Graftobian Magic Blood Powder and Blood Paste filling in the carved indented number pieces. I also wanted to add a little more depth to my character and decided to paint subtle vein marks around my eyes for a more sinister feel.

Creating this character was definitely one of my more “refined” looks compared to my consistent over the top full-blown creations with head to toe body paint. Sometimes a simple look is just a striking as a bold one. I wasn’t pulling your leg when I said it was easy as 1…2…3.

Makeup Products Used

3rd Degree Silicon

• Part A and Part B in Clear

Mehron Makeup

• AQ Paradises Paints - Blue and Red for veins around eyes

NYX Cosmetics

• Ultimate Brights Eyeshadow Palette

• 10 Pod Avant Pop Palette

• 10 Pod Perfect Filter Palette

• Black Jumbo Pencil

Graftobian Makeup

• Modeling Wax (For carved numbers) with Vaseline to smooth out edges

• Magic Blood Powder

• Blood Paste

Wunder2 Cosmetics

• Cover Proof Foundation in Dark

• WunderBrow Gel in Black/Brown

Sacha Cosmetics

• Butterscotch Setting Powder

Anastasia Beverly Hills

• Powder Contour Kit in Medium

Kins Lenses

• One Lens in Topaze Hydro-cor

Coloured Contacts UK

• One Lens in Zombie (White Out)

how to
3

About the Creator

Shanice Wadell

Cat Mom of 5, Batman Fan, Story Teller, Self Taught SFX Makeup Artist! ~ @SLWcrea8

Be Unique, Be Weird, Be Creative, & Be You

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.