Horror logo

DreamWalker

Traveling into the dreamverse!

By Catherine VictoriaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Everyone needs to sleep, it is a fundamental of life. What happens when we sleep has always been a question, just like what happens when we die? For some, it's a peaceful, relaxing, almost spiritual way to rest the body and soul. For some of us.. It's the beginning of terror. A completely unavoidable terror.

Every night, i try to do a relaxing technique, and trust me i've tried it all. Yet the anxiety fills my mind, the worry ignites into a fear much worse than watching a scary movie.. I lay there and the shadow figures emerge. They want answers i don't have, emotions, feelings, life. They crowd the room, the air becomes stiff. I feel my heart race, and i begin to count down to sleep. Before i know it they are breathing down my neck.

Im asleep now, in a dark room with a chair in the middle. I know for some reason its for me to sit in. As i get there the feeling of dread and despair come over me. I feel it as a weakness. I get the courage to sit.. Only to see the white screen in the background get bigger. I look down, my hand goes numb. I see a bluish decomposing hand holding mine. I all of a sudden vanish into a deserted field. Tall green grass, almost like a marsh. I walk around trying to see where i am. I hear shouting in a distance. I walk closer, as something whispers in my ear " See what I see" I find myself in a narrow path. I see 3 figures standing, surrounding something on the floor. From the outline of it, i know its a human. But the skin is so raw, and covered in earth. I sense that he wants me to see his last moments breathing. And i'm about to witness the unimaginable.

He pleads with what little breath he has left. It was a loud "STOP" at first. But as they kept beating him, like you would to tenderize steak, the loud turned into a whisper. His eyes began to get shallow, as if he was trying to sleep. Drift into a world where he felt no pain. This man, this figure, is now standing next to me. Pointing to the direction of these men who killed him. "LOOK" He shouts at me. I get the notion he wants me to see there faces. The last images he saw, before he left this world.

I look into the eyes of the killer. I see the hatred, the anger. Almost like i touched their soul. I suddenly get sucked back into reality with glimpse of street names, locations, his memories. I wake to see him still there. I know what i need to do. I know what his last words need to be. "Justice" Justice i say. And with that i embark on my journey to find the perpetrator. Mark my words, i say to him. I'm coming for them.

I memorized these men, there flaws, there imperfections, there giveaways. As i left my vision, i remembered seeing a state on the license plate. It was from Ohio. I recalled a landmark, a waterfall, close to the area. I packed my bags and headed that way, with only one intent.. to get away with murder

Is it actually murder if its justice? My own death penalty, my own justice. Commit the act that has been done, back to them. Like karma, like the infinity sign. What comes around goes around.

I have left these crimes to the police before, but it always gets brushed under the table. Leaving these souls voiceless. I am their voice. I am there justice, i am their peace.

As i get narrow on there path, i find myself staring at there faces through the restaurant windows. I see there smug faces, acting innocent, like the heinous crime was never committed. I stalk them like the prey they are. Like a cat about to pounce on a rat. I wait, and I wait, for the right time. To take them to the same location as they did prior.

It's not hard for a lady to grab a mans attention. It really didn't take much, a few spiced drinks and they were out. I offered them a ride home. So simple, so innocent. Little did they know about the terror i was about to induce in them. I was ready, were they?

As i reached this tall grassed marsh, i discovered the body of what once was a man. I feel his presence around me. I feel his soul touching mine. Like for a moment we are one. For a moment we can, together get what they deserved.

I pulled out there drugged bodies, one by one. Lay them together, like pencils. As i reach for the mallet, the same one they used. I felt the man's soul reach mine. I let him take over, as the men awoke. They saw my face, but not my eyes. I started to hit, one after the other. Until they looked like a raw steak, that had been tenderized. As we finished our mission, his soul left mine. He looked at me, and with gratitude said "Thank You." I knew this would be the last time we would see each other. As he vanished into the air, i looked around me. I had given someone peace, but i gained 3 more shadow figures, demons that will haunt me. As i lay down for another night's rest, again the room fills with untold dread, and the stiffness in the air fills my chest. As the rooms gets cold like a wintery night, i hear a child's whispering voice " Help Me." And here another story unfolds.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Catherine Victoria

I am a person with many interest. I have many hobbies and i am passionate about learning new things, and sharing my experiences with other. I love culture, cooking, arts, music, health and fitness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.