Horror logo

DOD Archive B.31 (Tommy)

Top-Secret

By Tim RaganPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
To my love, I’ll never give up.

Password->************

//Access Granted//

File B.31 corruption detected

Files 1-314 corrupted /error 108-32d/

/Start Transmission/

Tommy J. Spendle /Archive Date-> 2121-04-04

Entry 315

I can’t find it! Oh god! Where did I leave it! My heart shaped locket, it’s the only thing left I had of before. Before everything was taken….ripped from my life. She was all that mattered and I couldn’t even keep it safe. I need to remember. I need to think! I woke up in the subway and packed up my bag. Yes, I remember having it in my pocket before setting out for our meeting spot. Maybe…no…He wouldn’t take it… John, the only other person I know in this part of my life. He knows it’s the only thing I have left of her. Wakeing up to her face is what keeps me going, without it… I can’t. I need it! I must find him! JOHN! I know I showed him and he wanted it, I could see it in his eyes. No… He’s my friend… he wouldn’t. Sam, I’ll get it back. I’ll find it.

Archive Date->2121/04/05

Entry 316

I asked him if he took it today. Now I have no one. He accused me of not trusting him. How could he say that? I just asked him if he knew where it was. I was nice! Lord, help me! I can’t think straight. I’m not myself anymore. The dreams… The nightmares…. The thing’s I had to do to survive… Who am I? Why do I keep trying. For her. I promised, I would give up but she’s gone, Sam. What would she think of me now? Who have I become? A beast? A monster? A foul smelling mess but a man nonetheless. I need to pull myself together and find it!

Archive Date->2121/04/06

Entry 317

I got a scratch today. It’s over. I don’t have antibiotics or anything to clean the wound. Infection is eminent. All for a bag of chips. What mess! I need to find water, so I can clean it. Even in the before there was difficulty fighting infection. I don’t know where my locket is and I’m alone. Alone and hurt. If only I could see your face. I’m going back. Back to the last place I remember having it. This will be my last trip. For all it’s worth, I love you Sam. I’ll see you soon.

Archive Date-> 2121/04/07

Entry 318

I found food and some dirty water today. Wasn’t much, just a can of beans and bucket that caught some rain water. Trying to keep this wound clean is a pain in and of itself. Clean water is harder to find then food but I know how to purify it thanks to my boy scout days. I must make it back. No matter what.

Archive Date-> 2121/04/07

Entry 319

Found myself starring at a billboard today. How did we get here? Why did we think war couldn’t reach us? I remember growing up with a sense of safety and power. We where a light to the world but we let our guard down. We thought we were impervious to the world’s problems. Now there’s just burned out vehicles and rubble. One nuke slips through our defenses and it was down hill from there. We fired back of course but then another and another was sent on all side’s. Before we could catch our breath the world was engulfed in fire. I only survived because of the vacation Sam surprised me with. Spelunking wasn’t my idea of a good time but she just had a way about her. She could have talked me into anything, thank god she did. Two more days and I should be back to the subway. Just a little rest and I’ll be off.

Archive Date->2121/04/08

Entry 320

I awoke to yelling this morning. I searched the gas station I slept in but found nothing. I haven’t seen anyone but John in a year. I left my stuff and went in search of the source. As I was walking down a old canal, I found a fox den. I figured the yelling was from the foxes so I headed back. When I arrived I found a very dirty women eating the only food I had. In shock at seeing another person I just stood there. Staring at her. Where did she come from? How did she survive so long by herself? Before I could say a word she look at me with crazed eyes and screamed. The same scream I heard this morning in fact. It was her. She was the source of the sound that awoke me. I immediately fell to my knees and started to cry. I felt no embarrassment or shame baling I front of this person just pure relief and happiness flooded my face. Then without warning or provocation she got up and came to me as the mess I was and she gave me the rest of the food she had taken from my pack. We sat there as I ate in silence, tears streaming down my face. She stayed with me till night came. We slept in that gas station without so much as a word spoken between us. I think we both are in shock. I’ll talk to her in the morning. For now, I just need some sleep.

Archive Date-> 2121/04/09

Entry 321

She was gone when I awoke this morning or at least I thought she was because of the empty sleeping bag next to the smoldering embers of last nights fire. She returned before I packed up with a dead fox. Lucky the embers where still good enough to cook it. I took the opportunity to asked what her name was. With a forced smile she spoke in a whisper her name. Julia. Her eyes where sunken but I could still see that they looked emerald green. Her hair a mat of light brown and she was wearing the remnants of a bikers jacket and blue jeans. The shoes where converse high tops. As she spoke of her trials her voice became more and more smooth. I asked if she knows of anyone else but she said I was the only person aside from the ravaged. I don’t know of these thing but she told me she escaped the feeding cages. The horror! Cannibals! I’ve stayed near the city so I was protected. They are roaming, she said. I asked why are they roaming now when before they stayed to the forested areas. Food. We need to get back to the city as soon as possible! I packed as fast as I could and started on our way. Hopefully we steer clear of these ravaged.

Archive Date-> 2121/04/09

Entry 322

We ran as fast as we could for miles. Just before the city limits we saw them. Actually she pointed them out to me. The ravaged. Mostly covered in sticks and leafs I mistook them for piles of debris. That’s how the catch you, Julia said. They sneak around in these disguises to fool the you from afar. Then they take you. You can smell them usually before you see them, Julia said. I could in fact smell a sent of flowers. That’s odd. Why do they smell like flowers I asked? That’s not flowers, it’s much worse, Julia whispered. I did not ask what it was because I didn’t want to know. I don’t want to find out ether.

Archive Date-> 2121/04/10

We spent the night in a ditch. Julia and I took shifts keeping an eye out for those monsters. They moved away from the city and towards a farmhouse last night. My fever began last night too. The scratch has gotten worse. I can feel my body fighting but I know who will win. I must not forget why I returned to the city. We ran so hard my heart felt like exploding out of my chest. We made to the city and into the subway but I think they, the ravaged saw us. I could hear the behind us but luckily they don’t move fast. I found my old camp and beside the stool was my locker. I rushed over to retrieve it. Underneath was a scrap of tattered paper. On it was “I’m sorry. John”. He did take it! I knew it! How could he do these to me? Where did he go? Then it dawned on me, the farmhouse. He stayed there. I just hope we don’t get foun…………………………

Ssssssssssssshshshshhssshhhhssshshshss

/End of transmission/

Department of Defence Archive

Top-Secret

File/ B.31

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Tim Ragan

Not much to say. Just a-lot goin on in my mind. We tell ourselves stories everyday about what may happen or will happen but at the end of the day there just stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.