Horror logo

Divina & the Syphoner's Mark Ch.2

Urban Fantasy Horror Romance

By Kiersey HillPublished 3 years ago 22 min read
Like
Title change to D+SM CH.# ex: look for D+SM CH 3 for the next chapter.

I had woken up about half-way through the ride. The total drive took roughly two hours, and the closer we seemed to get to Healing Springs, the less I could control my anxiety. Panic had almost turned into hyperventilation by the time we pulled to a stop. I closed my eyes and forced myself to breathe through my nose until the panic died down.

I opened my eyes to a set of intricate golden iron-wrought gates that barricaded whatever was hidden behind them from the rest of the world. After a few seconds, the gates slowly opened –like the grand reveal of an exotic, foreign land. Once the gates were fully extended, the SUV crept through to possibly the most beauteous, melancholic sight I had ever beheld.

Dark brick and navy shingles stood out sharply against the bright, plush greenery sprawled out on either side of the main building. A narrow path of slate cobblestone, lined with tall, elegant trees led us to a roundabout in front of the manor. In the center, an intriguing but peculiar fountain with a roaring dragon with fully unfurled wings shot "flames" of water from its mouth. The SUV stopped right in front of the stairway that lead up to the manor. The main building stood, ominous and towering, with an aura of intimidation pouring from it. Midnight blue pillars protruded from the top steps. It was too high up to see anything else.

A pang of anxiety stabbed at my chest and I winced, forcing the air in and out of my nose again. Belinda pressed her face against her window and gazed up at the grand architecture.

"Incredible," Belinda whispered.

The driver slipped from his seat in silence and unloaded our belongings from the trunk while we remained pinned down in awe –or panic. He rounded to Belinda's side first and offered his hand as she slid out. My mother hopped out impatiently on her own and stood beside Belinda, clutching her hand.

I took the few extra moments to gather myself again and silently prayed –no, begged that this move wouldn't end up as life's final trick against us before it blotted the LeBeau family from existence completely.

The driver came to my side my door swung open. I took his hand as he offered it and forgot to let go until he gave a light squeeze after walking me around to the others. I smiled, sheepishly and quickly clutched onto Belinda.

We stood there, staring up at the twenty or so stairs as the SUV drove off behind us. "So...what now?" Belinda asked, shrugging me off of her and stepping forward.

I started to protest when a wraithy gust of wind rolled down from the top of the stairs. It took on a gray, cloudy form and grew darker to black as it reached us, whipping past my mother and Belinda. It swirled around me just before it dissipated.

My eye widened and I looked around me. Belinda and Momma were still looking forward like a cloud ghost hadn't just invaded my personal space and I scoffed.

"Welcome to the Loukas Manor." A man in his early twenties appeared at the top step. He was tall and slender with broad shoulders. He lithely stepped down the steps with a dimpled grin covering his face. He seemed more amused than welcoming as he reached the bottom step. His eyes were a light hazel framed by a mess of defined, russet curls that almost mixed with his bronzed complexion. His smile grew wider, revealing bright and perfect teeth and I found myself staring too openly.

"You must be the LeBeau family," he said, stepping closer. "Seth Loukas," he held a large, slender hand out to my mother first.

"Farrah," my mother beamed, briefly shaking his hand and quickly linking her arm through his. "My niece, Belinda," she rushed, leading him past Belinda. "And this," she forced his attention to me, "is my Divina." She stood directly between him and Belinda.

Seth latched onto the hand I hadn't realized I offered and smiled carefully. "Very pleased to meet you, Divina."

I nodded and jerked my hand away as a flutter rose to my sternum. My eye shifted to the ground and I stepped back reflexively. He chuckled before stepping away.

"I have to apologize for Satrina's...absence," he said. "I'm sure she wanted to be here for your arrival more than anything."

A hint of somberness in his voice and his carefully selected words spurned the shiny new hope I wanted to feel. I lifted my eyes to find him still studying me and my gaze flitted around the manor nervously. Black garland spiraled the columns lining the top of the stairs and a hearse was half-hidden by the dragon fountain was parked on the other side of the roundabout. "She's dead," I whispered as my eyes drifted back to Seth.

"Dead?" my mother gasped. "She can't be...." She grew silent, looking around. "Is this some kind of sick joke?"

I grabbed her hand and squeezed until she turned her glare to me. "Mom, calm down."

"I really do apologize," Seth said, his eyes on mine. "The reading of her will is about to start. She did request your presence. Please, come in and I'll show you to your seats." He stepped in front of me and reached his hand out again. "Follow me."

I sucked in a breath and slowly placed my hand in his, following behind him as he led us up the stairs. At the top, behind the pillars were a pair of immaculate stained-glass doors that stood at least twelve feet. The glass had a family crest with three swords and a shield above the word "Loukas." Large bay windows studded the entire structure –from as far as I could see –in a sharp, deliberate pattern on either side of the entrance.

As I passed through the doors behind Seth, I noticed elaborate details on the glass –various symbols and vinery framed the crested shield at the center. Dark marble coated the floors. I stepped across the threshold of the foyer, decorated with more dark blue hues. A single dragon painting much like the one in the fountain hung high on the wall above the entryway between the foyer and the rest of the manor.

We walked through a long, dimly lit hall. Draconian décor washed nearly every wall. Everything from the gray moulding to the metal and spike-studded frames of portraits lining the hall held a sharp and oppressive aura. I shuddered at the thought of Grandma Judith in a place like this. There's no way Satrina could have been anything like her.

"Satrina was a...complicated person," Seth said quietly. My steps had fallen into rhythm with his. He glanced my way every few steps as he guided me down another, wider hallway to the right. We passed by three doorways on either side. "She had a thing for dragons."

I lifted an eyebrow and nodded carefully, noting the copper dragon statues at the end corners of the hall. "Right..." I said, glancing into each room we passed.

He slowed his pace and pressed his index finger to his lips. "She requested to be cremated, but you're free to say your goodbyes. We're just about to begin the reading of the will. Blood relatives are seated in the front," he whispered, pulling me in front of him and ushering me into the room.

My heartbeat thudded in my ears as I took in the enormous room filled with people dressed in full funereal garb. Giant black hats dotted the thirty or so rows of people. The room was dimly lit and black curtains covered the large windows on the other side. My eyes widened as Seth steadily dragged me to the front and gestured for me to take a seat. Belinda and my mother followed, their faces contorting in an embarrassed gawk that mirrored my own.

I swallowed the panic that threatened to spill out and clenched my eyes shut. Please, God, let me disappear right now, I prayed. After a few seconds, I slowly popped one eye opened. Still there. I groaned internally. I glanced over at Belinda and my mother and then down at myself. We looked ridiculous. Worse than ridiculous. This had to a be a set up. I was the closest one of us to looking remotely appropriate for this occasion in black jeans –ripped, I should add –and a light gray sweater. Belinda was wearing white jeans –not ripped, but white! –and a fluffy pink sweater. We both wore black moccasins. Neither of us stood out as much as my mother. She shone like a bright ruby in her crimson midi dress and nude heels. Our attire all but screamed "we're just here for the money." Ashamed was an understatement.

I shook my head and tried not to cry from embarrassment and my eyes drifted up to find Seth standing behind the podium. To be fair, he wasn't dressed for a funeral either. He wore a white shirt under a dark blue blazer and dark jeans. But then, everyone here already knew him. He didn't have to worry about the impression he left.

He winked at me before clearing his throat and looking straight ahead. "Satrina would have been so very...thankful to see everyone here tonight," he said, glancing down every few words. "She was a...unique woman...and everyone who knew her would say she was...of a distinguished taste." He struggled through his words, like it was hard to say nice things about my new mystery aunt.

Someone a few rows back scoffed. I turned to find the offender and instead met a pair of glowering, steel blue eyes. I snapped forward and tilted my head a bit. I glanced back again, completely confused. He was still glaring. His features were quite similar to Seth's, despite the deep wrinkle between his eyebrows. He was a bit darker than Seth and his hair was darker –ash black like mine, but his loose waves looked prettier and softer. His jaw ticked and I turned back around. Was he seriously glaring at me? Maybe I was just sitting directly in front of the person he was glaring at. I sank down stealthily, hoping no one was paying attention to me, and stole another look back. Coincidence? Nope. There was not a soul in the diagonal distance between us. It was me. He hated me and I hadn't even been here an hour.

"She will be missed...by someone, somewhere...and now for the reading of the last will and testament of Satrina LeBeau-Loukas," Seth continued.

"To Divina LeBeau-Black, Satrina leaves a family heirloom – an antique trunk passed down from generation to generation for over two centuries. The contents of which are unknown. A trust at the local Loukas Bank and Trust branch in Healing Springs, which you will have access to upon the age of twenty-five should you achieve requirements therein – those requirements are not to be known to you until you have obtained your high school diploma or equivalent. She has also left to you the deed to a portion of land on the Loukas estate. All items will be sent to your private quarters at the end of this ceremony," he glanced up at me and flashed a smile.

"To Belinda LeBeau-Dupont, Satrina has left a wardrobe, already delivered to your private quarters. The contents of which are unknown. She has also left a trust under your name at the Loukas Bank and Trust branch here in Healing Springs, accessible to you upon the age of twenty-five should you achieve requirements therein. Such requirements will not be deposed to you until you have achieved an Associate's degree. You, too, have been left the deed to a portion of land on the Loukas Estate," he looked up and nodded at Belinda before continuing.

"To Farrah LeBeau, all of Satrina Loukas' remaining earthly belongings have been left to you to do with as you please, including her accounts at Loukas Bank and Trust and the subsidiary global banking institutions in Egypt under her name as well. The remainder of the Loukas Manor and Estate is left to myself and Bastien Loukas, my brother, and members of the LeBeau family as mentioned previously, to be divided in accordance with Satrina's core leger. And that concludes the reading of the will," Seth said, picking up a small stack of index cards and tapping them on the podium top.

The whole room gasped and scoffed, and those dressed in the gaudiest black hats and cloaks stood first, obviously offended. They made a show of their exit, still scoffing and throwing looks of disgust our way.

"If you didn't receive the cut you were hoping for, my condolences. Satrina was very meticulous in keeping her will updated, but feel free to contact a lawyer if you feel wronged. Relatives who have travelled personally to say their goodbyes should be sure to stay for the casting of ashes tomorrow morning. Thank you," Seth said, rushing through the rest of his speech.

For the next several moments, we waited in awkward silence as nearly the rest of the room emptied. I took another look around the room where only the three of us upfront, Seth at the podium and the blue-eyed monster sitting in the back - still glaring at me - remained. At least a dozen evil eyes were cast our way before the commotion came to an end. Seth looked back at me and flashed another smile before stepping down from the podium.

"Ladies, if you would," Seth said, approaching us again, "please follow me." He reached his hand out to me again with a bright smile. I accepted and stood beside him. As I turned to wait for my mother and Belinda to stand, I caught yet another glare for Mr. Ice Prince who was now walking towards us.

"By the way," Seth spoke, but I couldn't turn away from the dark blue eyes growing closer to me, "that's my brother, Bastien." I took an instinctive step back, half-hiding behind Seth as Bastien approached, not bothering to hide his obvious contempt for my existence. "Let's talk somewhere a little more private," Seth added, disregarding his brother's coldness.

As Seth led us back into the corridor, I could feel Bastien's cold glare stabbing into my back. I shivered and tried to focus on matching Seth's steps. We ducked into the room across the hall and Seth closed the door behind Bastien, the last one to enter. "Now, let's discuss, shall we?"

"Discuss what?" my mother asked, turning to face the brothers. "This is insane. We just got her letter two days ago! How could she have died so suddenly? What happened to her?"

"A brain aneurysm," Seth answered. "Very sudden, no one could have predicted it."

"It seems rather...convenient, don't you think?" Bastien asked, still glowering at me.

"Convenient? For our last remaining relative to die suddenly before we get to know anything about her?" I asked, with a scoff.

"Seth, how can you not see that this is a set up?" Bastien demanded, ignoring my words altogether.

My hand twitched as my fists curled and my nails pressed into the palms of my hands "A set up? We're casting her ashes tomorrow! She was cremated for Christ's sake—"

"Divina, honey, calm down" my mother said, carefully, before turning to the brothers. "Listen, we are just as confused by all of this as you are. We were expecting to meet the last part of our family, someone with answers for us and instead, walked in on her funeral."

"There's nothing convenient about this, trust me," Belinda said. Bastien glanced to her, but only briefly before coming back to me. I looked at everyone around the room. Was no one noticing this?

"Trust the strangers who just waltzed in and inherited half of everything our father built?" Bastien snorted.

"We don't want your land or your money!" I hissed, stepping right up to Bastien. "Keep it."

"Actually," Seth chimed in, "Satrina left a clause in her will. Should any person listed in the will refuse or be unable to accept the terms as they are written, the entire Loukas Estate shall be forfeited and auctioned off for charity."

"What?!" Bastien and I said at the same time.

"You can't be serious," my mother scoffed, shaking her head. "Fine. We'll accept it and you can buy it back from us, surely there's no stipulation for that."

"Buy it back?" Bastien asked, chuckling darkly. "At what price?"

"Pay whatever you want. A dollar is fine with me! I just want to get away from this insanity!" I spouted.

Seth stepped toward me and clasped my hand in his, forcing my attention from Bastien to him. "Satrina brought you here for the chance at a better life, yes?" he asked, gently. I nodded, reluctantly. "There's a way we can all get what we want. We'll have the estate appraised and Bastien and I will purchase your portions at a reasonable price. We're more than financially able and according to Satrina's notions, you don't have many other options."

I yanked my hand from his. There were always other options. I folded my arms across my chest.

"I can't hold you responsible for Satrina's actions," Seth sighed. "You didn't ask to be given any of this –and even if you did, Satrina has never been the giving type. There's no reason we can't compromise and resolve this together. You're all free to stay here while the estate is appraised. Satrina's already made arrangements."

"I'm sure we can find other accommodations—" I said.

"Of course, thank you for offering," my mother said quickly.

"What?" Bastien and I asked in unison.

"Mom, seriously?" I plead.

"They don't belong here, Seth," Bastien said simultaneously, shifting his attention back to me.

"Your luggage has been delivered to your rooms in the South Hall," Seth ignored Bastien's words. "Bastien and I can show you around the manor. In the West Hall, we have a library and a small theatre. We also have a coffee room with a specialty espresso machine."

"I've had too much shock for one day, I'd like to be shown to my room," Belinda said, running a hand through her hair.

"I'm sure we can manage on our own if you'll point us in the right direction. We'd hate to be any more of an inconvenience than we already are," my mother said pointedly at Belinda before turning back to Seth with a smile.

"Of course," Seth smiled back, stepping out into the hallway. "If you'll follow this hall to its end, back to the foyer, and take the hall on the right, you'll find your rooms," he said, motioning with his arms. "I would like to speak with you privately," he said to my mother.

"Sure," she nodded. "Run along girls."

"Mom." I inched beside her. "Do we really have to stay here?" I whispered.

"Divina, don't be so dramatic. You like coffee, go find the coffee room and calm down," she hissed back.

"The coffee room is at the furthest end of this hall," Seth whispered, now standing on the other side of me.

I smiled sheepishly and nodded, glancing back in the room where the Ice Monster still glowered at me. I rolled my eyes and started off for the coffee room.

After a few steps, I noticed a second pair of footfalls catching up to mine. I glanced back to find Bastien on my heels. I slowed my pace, but he remained behind me. As we approached the coffee room, I stopped and when he didn't walk past me, I took a frustrated breath and turned to face him.

"Are you following me?" I asked, furrowing my eyebrows.

"Am I no longer free to get coffee in my own home?" Bastien mocked, lifting a brow.

I huffed and spun back around, shaking my head as I entered the coffee room. The nutty aroma of dark roast coffee melted away my irritation. Along the back wall was a chrome panel with a wall-length shelf a few inches beneath it. As I stepped closer to it, a screen lit up across the panel. My eyes widened as I took in the incredibility of coffee tech I had never seen before.

"Seventy-eight espresso drinks, thirty-four tea options, and twelve hot cocoa choices," Bastien rattled off as he walked up to the panel and pressed the picture of a plain black coffee. Two other options popped up when he turned back to me. "There are eight screens," he said, tapping on the screen next to him. He turned back around and continued his selection as I walked up beside him.

I pressed the option for the latte and options for "hot" or "iced" popped up. I pressed "hot" and two more popped up, "regular" or "bold." Naturally, I selected "bold." More options surfaced for flavored creamer, sugar and syrup. I blinked at the overwhelming possible combinations and settled for a simple vanilla-caramel latte. A cup dropped to the shelving below the screen and into it poured a decadent mixture with the sweet aroma of dark roast coffee and vanilla. As the liquid filled nearly to the top, a shot of whipped cream whirled over the liquid and a line of caramel syrup drizzled on top. I glanced over to Bastien, unsure if the machine was done, and grabbed my coffee after he nodded.

I took a seat at one of the five bistro tables in the room, the one that faced next to the window and closed my eyes as I breathed in the calming fragrance of my latte. I took a slow sip and almost choked on it as I opened my eyes to find Bastien seated across from me with a studious gaze.

He took quick sips of his black coffee, never taking his eyes off me. I shifted in my seat and turned my own attention to the world on the other side of the window. I gritted my teeth, fighting the urge to end this awkward silence between us, but failed.

"Why do you hate me so much?" I asked. I closed my eyes and shook my head, not brave enough to look at him.

Bastien sighed deeply and took another sip from his cup before answering. "I don't...hate you," he said.

I scoffed. "Then why do you dislike me so much?" I asked, looking pointedly at him.

"I don't dis—" he started but stopped with a huff. He rubbed a hand over his face and his eyebrows crinkled as he studied me again. "Look, this whole thing with Satrina was crazy enough, and now you show up?"

I tilted my head to the side and took a deep breath. I looked down at my cup and nodded. "I get it." I glanced up to see him lifting his eyebrows. "The timing? I get it. I would be suspicious, too. But you're not suspicious, you're..." I struggled to find the right words, "you're downright hostile. Trust me, my family is just as thrown by this as you are. We spent our entire lives with my grandmother Judith and no one has ever even heard the name 'Satrina' before. Not even my mother. Clearly, you and Seth didn't have the best relationship with Satrina—"

"And how would you know that?" he demanded.

I lifted my eyebrows. "It's obvious. Seth could barely find anything nice to say about the woman, and she's dead." I took another sip from my latte and sighed. "Anyway, what I'm saying is I'm not the enemy here. I want to get to the bottom of this insanity as much as you do."

"Really?" he asked as he leaned back against his chair and folded his arms across his chest. "Prove it. Let me see the box."

"What box?" I asked.

"The one she left to you in the will. Let me see what's inside of it and I'll believe you," he smirked.

I sat back in my chair and took another long sip of my latte before responding. "Fine."

He tilted his head to the side and his eyes widened slightly. "Great," he said, standing to his feet. He stepped around behind me and pulled my chair back, almost making me spill my coffee. "Let's go," he said, placing my latte on the table and pulling me up from my seat.

"Can't you at least wait until I finish my coffee?" I asked with a scoff. Bastien kept his grip on my forearm as he pulled me further and further away from my beloved drink.

"Why?" he asked, glancing back once we were in the hall, "so you can have your sister go through it first?"

"She's not my sister, she's my cousin," I bit out, trying to pull my arm from his grip. His hand slipped down my arm and I was almost free until he clutched my hand in his, pulling me to the edge of the hall and then down a hallway on the right.

We passed by the foyer and headed down to the south hall where my room was located as I continued to complain and struggle to pull my hand from his. As we passed the halfway point down the hall, my attention shifted.

Everything about the manor had suddenly changed; the dragon décor was replaced with fairy tale paintings hung in golden frames that glittered as we passed by. Rose gold and creamy ivory hues colored the walls. Even the architecture seemed to soften. Rounded arches lined the thresholds up to the ceilings. Angel figurines hung in varying states of sleep and leisure over floating shelves with pastel colored knickknacks and decorations.

Bastien's quick steps slowed a few feet in front of the back wall of the manor. A large grid of windows covered the wall entirely with rose pink drapes tied back on each end. The view behind the windows was like walking into a fairytale. Large wide-based trees outlined a wide pond surrounded by colorful flowers.

I took a step towards the view, but Bastien yanked me back and ushered me to a doorway on the left side of the hall. I faced a frosted glass door framed in dark oak with "Divina" etched in the center, surrounded by a bundle of enchanting vines. My eyebrows crinkled as I yanked my hand from his and turned and stood between Bastien and the door to my room.

"Look, I don't care if you want to see the box. You didn't have to drag me all the way down here! Would it kill you to be a little nicer?"

Bastien rolled his eyes and reached for the doorknob. I quickly covered it with my hand before he could get to it. This guy was unbelievable.

"You're awfully bold for someone your size," he said with a smirk. Slowly, he leaned his face down until it was level with mine. He stood there, staring at me in silence, and glanced from my lips back to my eyes.

I blinked and gulped. My brain couldn't process anything.

My eyes closed on their own when his face neared mine and I squeezed them tighter when I felt the warmth of his breath on my lips. Bastien snorted and I felt the door open behind me as he brushed past me, chuckling.

I gritted my teeth and turned to glare at him as I followed him into my room, but the framed painting of a glorious pastel unicorn caught my eye first. I spun around as my lips curved into a smile I couldn't contain. The room was absolutely gorgeous. Everything from the drapes to the curtains hanging over the canopy bed to the plush bedding itself was rose colored.

The floors were slate hardwood with plush pink rugs elegantly splayed in various spaces across the room. More angel figurines covered the white wooden nightstand and vanity set. The matching white wooden dresser leaned against the furthest wall beside the large bay window and on the wall across from the bed was a wall-mounted flat-screen hanging over a fireplace.

Three closed doors, aside from the entrance, stood out as I turned and took in the rest of the room before I realized I was being watched again. I turned my glare back to Bastien who regarded me with a small smirk. "Making fun of me, now?" I asked, lifting an eyebrow.

He snorted, "no, just admiring how well suited this room is to you. Angels and unicorns...it's every little girl's dream, right?"

"Little girl?" I scoffed. "You can't be much older than me."

"A year, three months and fourteen days older, actually," he rattled off, looking around the room.

"Wait...why do you know that?" I asked.

He glanced at me and quickly looked away again, clearing his throat. "That's not important. Where's the box, anyway?"

I shrugged, lifting the canopy curtain and glancing under the bed. "It's not here," I said, walking over to the window. I pulled the drapes back and dust floated down onto my glasses. I pulled them from my face and wiped them off with the hem of my shirt before putting them back on. Bastien quickly looked away as I caught his gaze.

I walked over to the door on the same wall as the fireplace and opened it. It was a private bathroom, decorated in gold, pink and whimsy unicorn patterns. I quickly closed it, noting the giant claw-foot tub for later.

I stepped to door number two beside the dresser. It was a walk-in closet that lit up when I stepped in. Linens and quilts were folded on the back shelves and not much else was inside. I shrugged and closed it back. "It's not here either."

I walked over to the last door and opened it. The light didn't turn on when I stepped in, but it seemed to be a second walk-in closet. I could make out the outline of a small wooden box at the far wall. That had to be it.

I turned back to tell Bastien I found it too quickly and slammed right into him. I grasped at his shirt as I lost my footing and pulled both of us to the ground with a heavy thud.

The light pouring in from the open door lit up his eyes as he leaned over top of me, holding himself up on his forearms. He stared down at me silently, unmoving. Slowly, he lowered his face closer to mine and just when I thought our lips might meet, a click sounded from further inside the closet. The box.

He stood quickly and pulled me to my feet as we cautiously approached the box, now opened. I pulled my phone from my back pocket and switched its flashlight on as he lifted the lid all the way open. I shined the light inside and peer over the box. An old, yellowed envelope and a small antique key were the only contents. I pulled the letter out and blew some of the dust off. "Farrah" was scribbled in cursive across the middle of it.

"What's a letter to my mom doing in here? It looks really old, too..." I turned the letter over in my hand and debated whether or not I should open it.

Bastien ignored me and reached in for the key. "If you find anything this might go to, come find me first," he said, lifting the key up. I nodded and reached for it, but he snatched it from my grasp. He shook his head. "This stays with me."

I rolled my eyes and huffed. "Ugh, fine."

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kiersey Hill

Aspiring digital cinematographer

Future Filmmaker

Storyteller, Poet

Urban Fantasy novelist

Caffeinated Aquarius

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.