Horror logo

Disturbing Explosions Around Me

A nightmare or just intruders?

By Bazooka TeachesPublished 5 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Max Pixel

I was just skating down the street during a super-wonderful day. The sun was hitting my face and the warmth was just so enticing. I remember that detail very clearly. It was pretty much a perfect day. There were also kids around running and playing around the block. As far as I remember, the kids were people that I did not recognize. I was just mesmerized by the beautiful day.

I kept pushing away and skating down the street. It felt like I was on autopilot, just scooting on and on. Suddenly, my skateboard picked up speed, and I fell behind it. I didn’t fall but just stepped off. I looked down as the skateboard slowed down in front of me. It was inviting me back on. So, I took the offer and decided to jump on it again. It moved away from me. This was weird, but not too weird yet.

I went to jump on it a second time, and it moved away enough for me not to get on. I tried a third time and failed to get on as well. This edgy feeling came over me. As I tried the fourth time, slowly, the skateboard moved away and kept going this time. The skateboard rolled all the way to the curb were an old lady was standing almost motionless. She stood there staring at me with her clear eyes. Light blue, maybe light grey were her eyes as she stared. As soon as I wanted to say something to her, this overwhelming feeling came over me and I was not able to move.

Explosions started bursting all around me. Except, I could not see these explosions. I could hear them. As I tried to move, the explosions got louder. Eventually, my head tilted back and suddenly my reality was no longer in that sunny neighborhood. I was inside my father’s van. I felt like I was floating right next to my body. I could see my face right next to me. As if my soul left slightly upwards and to the left, because I felt my head was turning to the right and could see myself breathing heavy.

The more I tried to move, the more the explosions sounded out. These bursts eventually became an echoing sound of pure, deep, heavy vibrations. As I floated right above myself, I could feel a presence inside the van between me and my parents who were in the front seats. At this moment, the van looked like a tunnel. They were there but deep inside a tunnel, I could see my father driving the van. I must have fallen asleep in the back of the van in the back seat. This shadow stood between us as if putting up a barrier. The more I tried to move, the louder the vibrations. The more I tried to move, the more paralyzed I felt.

Suddenly, I realized that could hear my breathing. Obviously, my parents were in the front seat and had no idea that I was in a world of hurt. I was in a world in which some force was intruding, and it kept me down. It kept me paralyzed. The more I tried to move, the more paralyzed I felt. My breathing in the background was the key. I concentrated on it, and it calmed me down. I felt like I could move suddenly. My attempt was negated, as I tried to break free. I tried a sudden move and the vibrations got louder. That meant that my paralyzed status continued.

So, I concentrated on my breathing again. The explosions started soothing. The vibrations were waning away. I felt a window, and I took it. I jolted up from the back seat, and yelled, “Mom!” My poor mother, startled, yelled back. She looked a lot closer. There was no deep tunnel and no entity between us. Never shared what happened to my parents until years later. As far as they knew, I had a nightmare. Maybe it was a nightmare.

I was thirteen when it first happened! It was the beginning of my sleep paralysis syndrome that I still experience sporadically. These intruders though always came for me plenty of times and still do.

-

By Bazooka Teaches

1

About the Creator

Bazooka Teaches

A regular Joe that is just surviving the struggle. Loves to write and is constantly fighting the forces of evil.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was super scary. Awesome storry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.