Horror logo

Diggin' Up Bones Halloween Party

Let's get this party started!

By C. M. SearsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Diggin' Up Bones Halloween Party
Photo by Marko Blažević on Unsplash

Well if we are having a Halloween party, then I think these music choices are the best way to start and finish the day! Halloween is one of my favorite holidays and there is nothing better than getting ready for the day of the dead. I appreciate all the fun of a great party while intermittently answering the door to hand out free candy and admire all of the adorable faces in different make-up and costumes. I myself will dress for the occasion and I am almost always Dracula's Wife, because I was gifted with fangs of my own, and they are quite prominent so it just works out great, plus the kids and adults love it when they arrive at the door to a home that is totally into it, and I definitely am! I have to admit I also love to freak out the kiddies, it's just good clean fun...don't get me wrong, I am not trying to scare the bajesus out of them, just make em' jump a little, and hopefully we all get a little giggle out of it. I am usually playing music in the background and it keeps the mood going. So without further adieu, on to a few of my favorite Halloween tunes.

Lets start with Ol' Blue Eyes" himself, Mr. Sinatra and a little song that he made famous called "Witchcraft". If definitely fits for a great party starter, and happens to be my absolute favorite song by him.

WITCHCRAFT - BY FRANK SINATRA

My second choice for a amazing addition to a Spooktacular Halloween playlist would be an awesome song from Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack "This Is Halloween". I have probably seen this movie at least 20 times because my adopted daughter is obsessed with Jack Skellington! So, not only does she know EVERY song on this soundtrack, she was insistent about this one, so this pick was hers, she said it is a must on ANY Halloween playlist.

THIS IS HALLOWEEN - NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS

No Halloween playlist would be complete or even considered a decent playlist without this little jewel, which is from my favorite Halloween movie done by one of my favorite artists of all time! If you are saying it just has to be "I Put A Spell On You" by Bette Midler...you would be right! I am also pretty certain that everyone's playlist includes this song. If you happen to be my neighbor (I live in an apt complex) you will most certainly hear me belting this song to the top of my lungs!

I PUT A SPELL ON YOU - BETTE MIDLER/HOCUS POCUS

Even though I love Bette, can't keep a party going without a great dance song so for the next song I chose "Dead Man's Party" by Oingo Boingo, this song was featured in one of my favorite comedy movies, "Back To School" featuring Rodney Dangerfield, along with a host of famous characters. He made "stupid comedy" a thing and we love it to this day! This song is a perfect add to this playlist... what can I say, it's dead on!

DEAD MAN'S PARTY - OINGO BOINGO

I also remember as a kid my slightly older brother playing this song all the time and I absolutely loved it for this playlist because it works for a great groove to dance to and it's a little on the freaky side. I chose "The Freaks Come Out At Night" by Whodini....well, because on all hallows eve...they do!

THE FREAKS COME OUT AT NIGHT - WHODINI

Our next song is actually played at almost every single Halloween party I have ever attended, and I have been to a lot of parties in my day, and we never hesitated to dance and sing to this awesome Halloween tune. So, without further adieu, we have "Transylvania Twist" by Boris Pickett and the Crypt-Kickers

TRANSYLVANIA TWIST - BORIS PICKETT AND THE CRYPT KICKERS

and my last but not least choice on this playlist is a classic song by an amazing band, I really love this song and feel like it adds a bit of raw expression to the list and who can deny that the Cranberries are one of the greatest bands out there, so I thought it was a perfect end to an already stellar playlist, the song is "Zombie" by The Cranberries, and you would be a liar if you didn't at least try to sing "zoommmbay eh eh", when you hear it and even get the growl in!

ZOMBIE - THE CRANBERRIES

Hopefully you love this playlist as much as I loved combing thru hundreds of songs to find these gems, and let me tell you, it was a tough playlist to break down to these few songs because my list has at least 20 more songs equally as spooky and ghoulish on it. Happy Halloween to you, hope you add these to your list as well...that's what Halloween and having fun is all about!

halloween
1

About the Creator

C. M. Sears

I am learning more about writing every time I write a new story, whether it be fiction or fact. I love this platform and will continue to write and learn...if you like what you read in any of my stories please click the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.