Horror logo

Different Perspective

What's Real?

By Colt HendersonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3

"The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own," Joseph said to his friend, Benny, "It wasn't even my bedroom."
"What was it a reflection of?" Benny asked.
"It was a portal to somewhere other than Earth."
"And how do you know this?" Benny asked another question.
"Well, for one, the trees were bright colors. Blues, reds, and purples," Joseph started, "The vines were ugly yellows and greens. But when I stepped through …"
"You stepped through the portal to an exotic and poisonous sounding jungle?" Benny asked, incredulously.
"That's what I said, and I explored it. I stepped through and immediately felt the gravity increase. I don't know by how much, but I do know standing up was more difficult," Joseph continued with his tale, "And it was a lot hotter there, like sauna conditions. Clouds of sticky purple goo hovered under the exuberant canopy of the trees. It was hypnotic. I started to walk through the giant dark red leaves of the bushes that hugged the blue trunks all the way up. It was a slow go, but I could hear what I thought was water, right? Maybe fifteen minutes later, and I am coming to a clearing."
"How long were you there, Joseph?" Benny interrupted with yet another question.
"I am not entirely sure," Joseph immediately answered before picking up at the next sentence, "I had found water. A small river moving rather quickly. I tried it, and it was crystal clear and delicious. Most pure water ever. I decide to follow it, right."
"Of course."
"Yeah, and I came to a lake I couldn't traverse. No matter where I tried to go in, it knocked me backward, like there was a wall." Joseph kept talking. "I walked around and around the lake, looking for a spot I could walk, and ran into a bear."
"A bear?" Benny asked.
"It wasn't a bear like our bears. First it was yellow. Then instead of a face that came to almost a point they had wide flat faces. Their teeth were sharp and numerous. It was terrifying to look at. When it lunged at me I didn't know what to do." Joseph shivered as he spoke before starting again. "The thing had a tiny and sharp twig stuck to its fur. I grabbed at it and started to stab at the hairy yellow thing."
"What happened after that? How did you get back?" Benny asked, once again intrigued.
"I killed the damn thing," Joseph exclaimed with a devilish grin, "It let me go, fell to the ground, died, and I ran home. I got away. And just in time, too, because the portal closed when I came back through it. Almost died, but I learned a valuable lesson."
"And what is that, Joseph?"
"I love the violence." Joseph said with another grin. "I want to do it again, but you know …"
There was a long pause as they stared at each other.
"Do you know where you are now, Joseph?" Benny broke the silence.
"No."
"Where do you think you are?" Benny asked.
"I don't know."
"I think you know." Benny said with a flat smile. "Where are you and why?"
"Like I said, Benny, I don't know where I am. I definitely don't know why." Joseph laughed.
"Come now, Joseph, it is Ben, not Benny." Ben replied, "Or should we stick to Doctor?"
"Okay, Doc, I guess I am in a hospital." Joseph laughed again. "I didn't know you could physically restrain free men."
"Would you think someone that attacked a janitor should be a free man?" The Doctor asked.
"No."
"Well then, you know you deserve to be restrained." Doctor Ben reasoned.
"What?" Joseph began to struggle in his tightly wrapped jacket. "I didn't kill a janitor. I fought for my life against a bear. An alien bear! I didn't kill a person. It was a bear!"

fiction
3

About the Creator

Colt Henderson

I usually write horror.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.