Horror logo

Demon Theory

A short story

By Madyson PodojilPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Demon Theory
Photo by Sayan Ghosh on Unsplash

Have you ever been alone in your house, looking in the mirror or simply walking down a hallway, when suddenly you swear you can see something out of the corner of your eye? You suddenly feel a rush of adrenaline thinking of what it must be. Demons. Monsters, An intruder.

But the moment you turn around, nothing is there. It was as if you imagined the whole thing. You just turn back to what you were doing, and excuse the whole thing for your wild imagination. “Silly me.” The entire interaction lasts about 10 seconds or less.

But what if I told you that your mind isn’t playing tricks on you? What if I told you that it isn’t your imagination, and that what you saw… was real? Maybe you’d think I’m the crazy one, maybe you’d say I’m a genius. But it makes you think. If there are all of these stories of The Blessed Virgin appearing to mortals, and the saints descending from the sky to be made visible, why wouldn’t we be able to see the demons as well? My philosophy is that we can. We just don’t remember.

If saints and angels have all of these healing powers, and can perform miracles at will, keep in mind children, that the devil was once an angel himself. It only makes sense that Lucifer and all of his followers would have some powers of their own. Aside from just being able to haunt and possess the living. Our guardian angels are right next to us, yet we can’t see them because they don’t want us to. My view is that demons are the same way. We can’t ever see them unless they want us to, or they mess up.

So back to my original statement. When you’re alone, and you see something from the corner of your eye, it isn’t just your imagination. It isn’t your mind playing tricks on you. Instead, it’s really the demons that roam this earth, not wanting to be seen by you. I believe that every demon has the power of invisibility to the mortal eye, and because we are unaware of the magic surrounding us, we think not to question it, making it easier for those who choose to toy with our memories. They mess up, and only for that moment. You brush it off as nothing, because they distort your memory of what you think you saw. That’s why you can’t describe that movement in the corner of your room in intricate detail. It’s just “something” that you thought you saw. A figment of your imagination. They see that thought process and they laugh. How do I know all of this? Well, my friends, that is the question. The truth is, I don’t. However I am a questioning mind, and one who always needs answers. I don’t want to tell people what to think, I just want them to think.

But what happens when you know about these magical powers being used to toy with your memory? Well, I’d imagine they don’t want their secret getting out. What happens when they know that you know? I used to think they’d just go away, find another person’s brain to toy with. But truth is, they want you dead. They want your head on a spike adorning their bedroom wall. Everyone has secrets, and the soldiers of the underworld are no different. They’ll never stop hunting you. not until you’re dead.

Whenever you see a figure from the corner of your eye, never let it catch you. Demons are real, and they are the shadowy, unclear figures in the night. But listen, my friends. You are coming to the end of my entry. Think about what you just read. You now know their secret and are less susceptible to them. Just like me. I presume I’ll be found dead before this night is through. They’ve found me, they’re coming for me. The devil works in mysterious ways, and you know now what your imagination is not creating. And if you’d like to see how many demons follow you daily…

… Just look up.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Madyson Podojil

Vet Tech from Iowa, Rescue mom to a Tuxedo cat named Zuko.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.