Horror logo

Deep down Under

the waters of a secret town

By Vocal-lady-ist Ms. KerriPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Writer and Author of make believe real stories

Its 2 am and everyone is sleeping. By everyone, I mean, Ev-er-y-one. Of course its 2 am and everyone is sleeping accept me. Lord what do you want from me?! I start thinking of all the Gods and dieties, that I could have possibly upset and start apologizing and asking forgiveness from each one of them.

It's 2 am so I get up and throw my hair into a pony tail. The answer to my question and yes they did answer is go down to the beach and test the waters. Great, that's just...great. But the last time I tested this out, I saw ghosts surrounding my room as if I was I was inviting all of the zombies from I AM Legend into my bedroom so I decided I should probably go ahead and give this a go. Sure enough I can't find my swim suit top and can only find the bottoms so I throw on a t-shirt instead, grab a towel, put on my flips flops and whisper to the door of my roommates bedroom, I love you and Thank you. Just in case.

Anything could happen right. I walk down the side walk and see a long haired figure walking along the street. This is the only time. I have ever seen anyone, or thing, out this late at night at the same time as me. In fact the last time I was out walking the sidewalks this late at night in this little town , I was walking with a friend. Some kid zoomed by us and I screamed so loud, my friend grabbed me and put his hand over my mouth. "Stop screaming someone might think I am trying to hurt you." The truth is, he's by far the safest gentleman to ever walk a midnight street with. Ever heard of Goosebumps; well with him, I would get them, the good kind though. That night I clung to his arm as my tough girl persona hardened up and I laughed it off, but deep down inside I thought, thank God he is here with me. As soon as I let go of his arm, a bat flew out of a tree and around our heads. I swear. it was like a real life haunted house. I was just waiting for my cousins to jump out with a growl and werewolf masks, even though they lived on the other side of the world. So, within seconds I was right back on his arm, stuck like glue for the next 3 miles.

But this night, this night I walked alone and that good ol' friend of mine I am guessing was tucked in bed, fast asleep just like everybody else. And too far away to hear me scream this time. I walked the path avoiding the dark figure and stayed focus on my mission. "Just get to the water, do whatever it is they ask and get back home," I thought to myself. And I mean hey, tough girl persona hear, its not like these things are real, right. Like, its just my imagination and its probably from watching scary movies, but the last time I brushed it off, I for sure woke up with a scratch down my arm definitely worthy of telling people I had a large cat that decided to use me as a scratching past, even though in reality, a cat is the last pet I would ever get as a single woman adult. Next up, the random unexplainable bruises. A little hocus pocus, a little ree ree ree, but in all reality, I had no way of explaining this not even to myself. SO, I do what the voices say.

I get to the water and the dark figure has gone. There is a large tree and the water looks black reflecting the night sky. The stars and the moon are bright. "Get into the water, walk into the water until your head is under." Now, this is in a country where sharks are real, and definitely are in the water. I start arguing with the voice. "What?Are you kidding?" At this point, I am pretty sure whatever this voice is , is trying to kill me. "No." I state, standing my ground, taking back my power and exerting some control. Immediately, the torturous thoughts start flooding back into my head, a headache images, no no no. "Okay fine." I drop my towel and start walking in, focusing on looking at the moon and mantra over and over, I am fearless. I have heard that bears and other animals can smell fear, so with sharks, I decide to practice the same idea. I start telling myself how much I like sharks as the image of the Little Mermaid being chased in a cartoon starts scrolling through. Okay, how about, " I am a shark. I am a shark. I am a shark. I am a shark." Surely, a shark wouldn't eat another shark so mind vibes out into the water. Suddenly, waste deep I stop. The water is warm ad I feel calm. My guard is up though. A shark could swim by at any moment and nobody would know, for hours maybe even days. "Ya, I should definitely call my mom more often." The voice chimes in again, "all the way under, head deep , into the water." I start thinking of God and Jesus and angels, God help me, please keep me safe. Speaking of which, why has God not like stopped me at any point or sent in some fighter thoughts to stop me from doing this. I then think of Jesus walking on water. " I am Jesus, I am Jesus.... I am a Jesus, shark....a fearless, Jesus shark." I dropped down real quick, plugged nose and pop right back up.

"Okay there, done I did it." I turned around and bolted out of the water as fast as I could possibly run. My knees as high as my belly button jumping over water making leaps and bounds as fast as I can." If I could scream right now I would but again, Everybody else, is sleeping. I make it the sand and the biggest deepest relief of breath I have felt in the longest time fills my gut. Ho-ly crud. What the heck was I doing running into shark infested water in the middle of the night by myself. The answer comes..... for peace.

"Right, for peace." I am too old to role my eyes but believe me, I 100 percent had to stop myself from doing so. I picked up my towel, dry my face and prepare for my walk home. "Baaaah!!" There are two people just sitting on the grassy hill between the trees right along the sand. "What the.."

"Is that a girl?" one of them says.

"I think so. Hey girl what are you doing?"

"Aw crud. They probably have the totally wrong idea about what I am doing out here. What if they think I was trying to drown or something. Ugh how embarrassing." The thoughts run through my head. "Hey there guys," I say out loud. "Just going for a swim. No bother".

"Oh cool, I would never do that. That's so brave. Weren't you scared?"

At this moment in time I am just waiting for the shrilling scream of a "watch out" anticipating a ginormous lochness monster to be right above my head charging out of the water. I didn't claim to be a lockness and I would guess that even the sharks stay clear of that guy. Well maybe I am all good then...

"Aaaaaaaaaaahhhhh. Run! Lockness Monster!!" I start to bolt as I look over my shoulder and sure enough....

The boys start laughing. Yup, 26 years old, still a girl, afraid of the lockness monster.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Vocal-lady-ist Ms. Kerri

KerMama is a little nickname I go by.

With all of the outlets and places to share our experience of life, I like this one. To share art, photos, writing, I would like to share and maybe this will help someone somewhere. Have fun, enjoy be El

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.