Horror logo

Deadly Game

Part 2

By WesPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
image sourced from pinterest

The Game… what a twisted app… who thought of it? I woundered as I clicked on the first article to pop up when I typed in the name.

"The Game: Twisted App"

Police are baffled by the new bout of killings to plague City X. Perpetrated by an app called Killer: the Game. The members of the app vote on the form of killing of whatever victim has been chosen. The victim’s name isn’t disclosed until the live stream were they are killed. No one is safe as Killer has killed people others thought untouchable. The app was released a few months prior and quickly gained steam in its unique, gruesome form of entertainment.

The ever growing list of victims include:

Ex- Mayor Francis Hall (56)

- thought to embezzle funds for building of his own mansion

- closed down Watergate bridge

- had an affair with his secretary, Miss D, 20 years old

- strangulation with a pink thong

Mrs. Evelyn Potter (78)

- wife of deceased resort mongol, Jerry Potter

- accused of spilling oil and waste in the Atlantic Ocean through mal handling of resort waste

- huge sponsor of the lobbies known to block green energy laws

- drowned in crude oil in her bathtub

Mr. George Jeferson (70)

- ran the biggest drug cartel in City X

- owned multiple high end strip clubs rumored to be a front for prostitution

- found a forced overdose in the backroom of his club

Ms. Diana Green (19)

- child movie star, lived on Holly Hill

- caught doing drugs, and lapsed in and out of rehab

- known for trying to get back her fame but instead just being a reality star

- strangulation with a hot pink boa in her bathroom

Mr. Wen Garner (20)

- star quarterback of University Y

- accused of doping and taking steroids

- accused of date raping college and high school girls

- killed with a selfie stick to the head at a house party

These killers leave no trace and have police baffled as to who these people are, where they are, and why they do it. Police are facing increasing pressure from the public as they fumble and prove their ineptitude in trying to solve murders. The question then remains, are we looking at a new kind of serial killer?

- Serina Calmen

City Gazette

I sighed, clicking away, head hitting the head board, this was a shit show. I glanced at the textbook next to my leg and let out a sigh. I had 3 essays due, I couldn’t be worrying about some random app. Izzy was okay and that’s all that matter.

Bzzt

[NEW MESSAGE FROM AN UNKNOWN NUMBER]

UNKNOWN: Thanks for the company last night, I liked our conversation Moroana

ME: Who is this? How did you get my number?!

UNKNOWN: I told you, I know everything about everyone on campus. I have connections

ME: Cal, was it?

UNKNOWN: Glad to know I’m that memorable :)

ME: Hard to forget a stranger that knows everything about me. Care to tell me how you know so much?

UNKNOWN: I can’t reveal my sources, I’m sure you understand.

This asshole… who was this guy?

ME: Fine, whatever. Why did you even text me? We only talked for about 2 minutes.

CAL: You seemed interesting is all

ME: I’m not.

CAL: Hm… no.

I turned off my phone and rubbed my temples, I didn’t not have the time nor the energy to deal with guy. School came first as always. I opened up my laptop again to being typing. My phone kept buzzing, but I tried to ignore it as long as possibly. I gritted my teeth.

Could this guy just leave me alone?

No chance. I snatched my phone, swiping to answer the call without looking at the caller ID.

“What?” I snapped.

“Jesus! You okay?”

It was Izzy.

“Yeah, I thought you were someone else,” I muttered, rubbing my forehead.

“Who?” she laughed. “You have other friends?”

“Not really,” I said. “Why did you call?”

“I’m still shaken up about last night,” she admitted with a soft sigh. “I just can't believe it’s real…”

“Did you think it wasn’t?” I laughed humorlessly, shaking my head.

“I don’t know… I guess I just didn’t want to believe that it was real… y’know real lives, real people and all that shit,” she said, her voice breaking.

“Izzy…” I muttered. “Listen, want to come over? You can stay the night, no one’s here.”


“Really? Do you have alcohol?” she asked.

“I always do,” I laughed.

“Be there soon,” Izzy said. “And Morana, thanks. Really.”

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Wes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.