Horror logo

Dark With Edges of Light

L.A. Moore

By L.A. Moore - NashPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Everyone has had that question asked once or twice. I've had a reasonable amount of time to think mine over seriously. The question being, of course, is if you could have any superpower in the world, what would it be and why?

I think a lot about a lot of different things. This particular question took me a little while. The answer? Simple. I would want to see into people's hearts and determine if their intentions are good or evil. If they were terrible intentions, I would condemn them to an eternal hell of incurable illness that couldn't be passed onto another good-intentioned soul. Though for the ill intent souls, it would spread like a plague... I acknowledge that my intention may be seen as ill intent, but I understand it as just that. In my mind, if a person of ill or evil intent were to become sick incurably, they would have to spend all of their time and energy and even money to an extent on the issue of their illness. Thus, relieving the pure of heart of any malignant or evil people's wills on them. Thus, giving new life to a better world. And, of course, the world will never be perfect. There will always be a person or two turning dark in the eyes of the good and just. So, the work will never indeed be done and over with. It would be an eternal justification brought onto the world over time and again.

That being said, I would also want the power to take an illness away at a moment’s notice if the person's intent is good over time. It forgives any illness thrust on the person. It would also be taken away from me if I ever became maligned.

I would assume that once I defected to being unjust and evil, it would leave me with a cursed illness just as fast as I received the power to condemn a soul.

We asked each other this question at work reasonably recently, and that had been my answer. That combined with the ability to turn invisible immediately. Like an invisible, silent death. I would plague the evil, false humane people. And they would rue the day that they decided to begin their serial crimes. But, at the same time, I would most definitely be doing a good amount of serial crimes myself. But no one would be able to pin them to me indefinitely. One could say I was getting away with murder, except in a way I would be doing humanity a huge favor in getting rid of most of the serial killers, save myself, and by giving them a series of incurable illnesses and diseases that render them incapable of doing any such harm to themselves or anyone else ever again.

I would be grotesquely pleased with the outcome. So much in fact that I could almost guarantee that I would be amongst those with the illnesses and wouldn’t care a bit about what happened to me. I would be satisfied with my work and slip silently away as an unknown. A perfectly just way to go out for people like that. Serial murderers. One would agree, yes?

What power would you like to have, and what would you do with it? I know mine went to a dark place, but such things are necessary sometimes. So much in the world is dark with edges of the light. So much in the world is also light with edges of darkness that it is hard to tell which is which.

fiction
1

About the Creator

L.A. Moore - Nash

Mom of two great small people.

https://lamoorenash.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.