Horror logo

Curiosity killed the dog

a campfire story

By Antonease PoindexterPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. There had been tales about that cabin, meant to scare little kids from playing in it I suppose. One story was about a group of kids who entered the cabin on a dare one night and were never seen again. Another story of a wild beast that only comes out once in a hundred years to feed and then goes back into hibernation. One kid even said that his grandpa saw the monster one day while hunting close to the cabin and barely made it out with his life. But my family has been coming out here every summer since I was two, and it has always been abandoned.

It was so weird because I’ve been walking my dog Bruno by there every night after supper. Last night like all other nights it was pitch black and eerie. As I walk by tonight the little hairs on the back of my neck stood up, and Bruno was on alert as well. I thought I saw a figure in the window, and I guess Bruno did too because he started barking hysterically. I had to pull him the rest of the way past the cabin. I decided that I would check it out tomorrow, I just don’t believe in all those tales and I want to prove there’s nothing there. It was just too late tonight and mom would worry if we were not back. Bruno and I continued our walk with me looking over my shoulder all the way home. I kept getting this feeling that something was watching me.

The next evening, I told my mom that I was going to go exploring, she told me to take Bruno with me and to be careful. I said that I would and kissed her goodbye, not knowing that this may be the last time that I would see her.

As Bruno and I get closer to the abandoned cabin, I see that the candle that was once in the window has disappeared. I move closer to the window and peer in, there is no sign that anyone has been inside for months. I walk around to the front door and twist the knob, and the door swings open. I peek my head in and look around, I don’t see or hear anyone. Bruno nudges past me and runs into the cabin. Wait, Bruno! I exclaim, but he has disappeared into one of the back rooms. Not wanting to enter but not wanting to leave Bruno, I decide to go look for him. Bruno! I call, as I inch my way into the cabin. No response, not even the faint noise of him panting could be heard. All of sudden the door slams behind me, BOOM!! I scream as I run to the door, but it doesn’t open. I tug and tug to no avail, banging on the door and crying hysterically. I hear a scraping sound come from behind me. I swing around but I see no one. Frightened, trapped, and alone, I walk slowly in the direction of where I saw Bruno. It's starting to get dark inside the cabin, and harder to see. Bruno! I call again, but still no answer. I hear the scraping sound again, I jump and swing around, there is still no one there. I slowly continue down the hallway, which seems to go on forever. I reach a staircase, puzzled because this cabin shouldn't have stairs in it. I look down the stairs and it's pitch black. Scared, but seeing no other option, I descend the dark stairs into nothingness.

Running one hand along the wall with the other out in front of me to guide me. The wall is wet, and the air is musty. The stairs creak under my weight, as I make my way to the bottom. It is now completely dark I can't see within an inch of my face, I trip over something heavy and

land in something sticky and wet on the bottom step. I feel around for something, anything to help me see, but there is nothing. Whatever I landed on is very warm and fuzzy, I get closer to it and touch it again, this time I hear a soft whimper. Bruno? I whisper, and he whimpers again. It's too dark for me to see what has happened to him, so I try to pull him close. I feel something move past me in the darkness, and then a low, deep growl. Suddenly Bruno is ripped from my grasp by a large claw that pierced my thigh. I cry out in pain as I clutch my leg and scoot close to the bottom step. I hear the creature’s teeth hitting bone as it devours Bruno’s body. Not knowing what the creature will do to me, I slowly make my way back up the stairs so as not to disturb the creature. Hoping it can’t smell the blood seeping from my thigh. I’m pulling myself up one step at a time when I hear that same low growl, coming from behind me. I stop and sit there very still, barely breathing trying to listen to see how close that thing is. It’s dead silent now, eerily quiet, so I start to move again one step at a time when I feel a warm breeze on the back of my neck.

The creature grabs my leg and lifts me completely off the ground. Sniffing the open wound on my thigh, I feel a warm sensation as it licks the blood off of my leg. I scream and kick to avail. The creature then makes a shushing sound, and in a deep voice says, “Curiosity killed the cat”. His laughter was the last thing I heard before everything went black.

urban legend
1

About the Creator

Antonease Poindexter

Hello everyone, I'm so glad to share my stories with you. It has been a long time coming for me to be comfortable publishing my stories for others to read, so please be gentle with me. I appreciate all of you, and thank you so much.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.