Horror logo

Cravings

By Nathaniel MaioccoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The area around my wound itches like crazy today. I still don’t understand why Tom went crazy at the club the other night and bit me. Would have torn my whole arm off if the bouncers hadn’t pulled him off and threw him out. Joe and I tried to find him some time later but he must have walked home because he was nowhere to be found.

Man, my arm is itchy. I’m scratching it so hard the crusty scab that formed overnight starts peeling away, revealing a sickly yellowish-pinkish color underneath. Gross. Tom better not have given me some STD or something. Thank God its my day off cause my hangover aint going anywhere either. Strangely enough, despite my head feeling light I got the weirdest case of the munchies.

Normally I don’t eat breakfast but since its still early in the day, and my body doesn’t seem to want to go back to sleep, I figured I would hit up the dinner down the street from my apartment for some bacon and eggs. I scratch my wound while I changed, scratched it some more as I give my dog his food, and continue to scratch it as I lock my door and started heading down the hall to the exit door.

My neighbor and her kid came down the opposite way carrying groceries and I had to do a double take. While the mom was your typical MILF, what caught my attention was the little girl trailing behind her. I could have sworn her face had the same dead expression Tom had last night.

“Can I help you?” the mom asked. I didn’t realize I was starring.

“Sorry…I just…. Sorry” I replied. “Is she OK?”

The mom looked down at her daughter and sighed.

“I’m afraid not. Some bully at her school the other day bit her and she’s been feeling bad ever since.”

“Hu…” I said eloquently. My mind was hazy…somehow even hazier than last night. Again, without realizing it I was starring, this time at the mom. Several awkward seconds of silence from me later and she excused herself and took her daughter inside, leaving me standing in a daze. The groceries they had must have looked really good to me because all I could think about was how hungry I was…

I pushed open the side door of the apartment complex and stepped out into the ally. As I leave the shadow of the building I am hit with an intense feeling of heat as the sun’s light glares in my face. It must have made my hangover worse as my head slowly starts throbbing more and more. As my headache got worse the pangs of hunger grew more intense. A police car screams on by with its lights on with another closely following behind it, but I barely notice.

I pass two dudes arguing…no wait…their fighting…or hugging? Or something…I don’t know…and I don’t care…I need food!

At the dinner now. My feet feel like lead as I walk in. My arm is just as grey as the door when I open it, my wound now sickly yellow and void of pinkish color. Something smells bad…still don’t care…Hungry!

Inside people are everywhere. Noise everywhere. Waiter asked me something. Don’t like his face so I ate it. Nose was crunchy but cheeks were tender. A lady screams. A busboy charges me. He pins me down…but I got his arm.

MMM…. tasty.

I hear the sound of glass breaking. People climb over other people. Some try to leave. Some try to come in. More yelling…more screaming… I enjoy my snack.

Headache gone…still hungry though….

monsterfiction
Like

About the Creator

Nathaniel Maiocco

Hello everyone,

I am just your average sci-fi/horror/nature genre lover trying to make a name for my work. I will leave positive feedback for any stories I like and hope that you will respectfully do the same for mine. Stay positive people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.