Horror logo

Conversations With Creators: Shaun Molloy Art

Get to know this creepy cool alternative artist

By A. N. Merchant Published 4 years ago 5 min read
2
@shaunmolloyart

Welcome to the first instalment of the new Conversations with Creators series. To kick things off we’re having a chat with Shaun Molloy. Shaun is a professional artist that creates digital art inspired largely by horror and nature. He also owns alternative clothing store Fear The Reaper Clothing and has created a number of pierces of artwork for my stories.

-

How would you describe your art to someone that has never seen it?

Weird, dark and sometimes colourful.

What inspired you to start creating?

I found that doodling took my mind off of the military, so it all started as a distraction for me. I struggled with that transition and often still do but drawing helps me with that.

What is the biggest challenge you have faced as a creator so far?

Getting noticed. There are so many talented artists out there.

What is your favourite picture that you have created?

Living Dead Girl.

Are you working on anything new at the moment?

I’m always working on something new. My brain never stops.

Do you have a schedule or routine that you follow on working days?

As a full-time dad to an amazing SEN little girl it can be hard for me to follow a routine so I just do what I can when I can.

What advice would you give to other creators that want to start a small business?

Be patient and don’t give up.

If your art had a theme song what would it be?

Toxicity by System of a Down.

Has your creative process changed much since you first started out?

It has changed loads. I’m always trying new things to improve my work.

When you were a kid is this what you saw yourself doing as an adult? If not, what did you want to be when you grew up?

No, I didn’t see myself as an artist. I was going to be a soldier for as long as they would have me.

How did you feel when you first shared you work with someone else? Do you still feel this way when sharing a new creation, or is it different now?

I was terrified the first time but not so much anymore. I still get a bit nervous.

If your art could be represented by a scent, what would it be?

A fart. When you first smell it, it takes your breath away. You may have a look of disgust but then after a while you smile, giggle and enjoy the moment.

How did you discover and develop your creative style?

I started my journey with digital art a few years ago now after I stopped finding conventional drawing as challenging as I had when I first started. My style has changed throughout my artistic journey and is still changing now. It is shaped by my experiences and my preferences. That’s why the main themes of my art are horror and nature.

Can you share some of your favourite creators?

There is a lot of talent out there and I couldn’t list them all but Vissenga Leathercraft makes beautiful custom leather items and my partner recently commissioned a satanic themed tobacco pouch for me which is awesome. I would definitely recommend checking him out.

Do you have a clear picture in your mind of what a picture will look like when it is finished when you first start working on it, or do you figure it out as you go along?

No not always, I usually just have a general idea.

If you weren’t doing this, what would you be doing?

Something involving the outdoors. I feel at home in the woods.

Is there a new skill that you would like to learn?

I am currently working on improving my photography.

Does your creativity come naturally or is it something that you need to work at?

I’ve always had a good creative imagination but the quality of my art is what I have had to work at.

Does your creativity flow consistently or does it come and go? Is there anything you do to help this process along?

I’m always thinking of new ideas so I don’t usually have trouble with that. I get a lot of my inspiration from my dreams.

If you had to choose one of your pictures to describe you, which one would it be and why?

Drop Dead Hunky. He portrays strength, determination and beauty but he has a dark side.

What’s your favourite scary movie?

Evil Dead

What’s your favourite quote?

If a man smite thee on one cheek, smash him on the other.

-

Massive thanks to Shaun for taking the time to talk to me. If you want to check out his work you can follow him on Instagram and Facebook, or visit his clothing store Fear The Reaper Clothing.

-

Conversations with Creators is a series where I have a chat with some of the most unique, alternative and talented creators on the internet so you can get to know the mind behind the creations. If you are a creator or know a creator that would be a creepy cool addition to the series get in touch @creepyandcurious on Instagram or @curiouslycreepy on Twitter.

Stay creepy and curious, ghouls.

interview
2

About the Creator

A. N. Merchant

Sharing factual and fictional stories of the horrific, disgusting, macabre and frightfully peculiar. Appealing to the morbid curiosity within us all.

@creepyandcurious - Instagram

@curiouslycreepy - Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.