Horror logo

Claustrophobic Much?

The story of tight spaces.

By Dallas ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The day of the shopping trip will stand out in my mind for the rest of my life. It was the day that my whole world changed. The day started off well enough. I woke up to my family hanging around, a few friends had stopped by on their way home or wherever they were headed. It was a big day. Sundays were always big days. After waking up enough to get my head on straight, I looked over at my family and the excitement on everyone's face sent a jolt of energy through my body. Yes, that was the day that the whole world changed.

Not long after that morning, things started to go very wrong. Someone threw a bottle of soda down and it exploded, dowsing my family and I in the process. I'm not very fond of water you see, just the thought of it makes me weak. Trembling, I asked my father when things would get started. He responded with his usual huff of breath that signified annoyance. I got that huff a lot in my life. I was about to ask again, when out of nowhere a man wearing a gray shirt grabbed me and ripped me away from my father. As he pulled me a way I felt a hard punch that knocked the wind out of me and the world went black.

I awoke to a searing pain as my stomach felt like it was twisted in a knot. Everything was black and I couldn't see anything. I sat there for a minute in a dazed silence. I thought back to my family, to my friends, wondering if I would ever see any of them again. Then, right before the despair took over, I heard a weep.

"Who's there?" I asked, desperate for an ally in the torture.

"It's me." I knew the voice instantly. It was my twin.

"You were grabbed too?" I asked.

The response was so weak that I nearly choked up with tears in my eyes, "Yes."

We sat there for a while in silence, and then a third voice called out, "I'm scared".

I knew that voice too. The voice belonged to my best friend. We have lived across the street from each other for as long as I can remember. I took a deep breath in, and then, in as brave a voice as I could manage, I said, "Look guys, I don't know where we are, but we will make it through this."

As if some higher being were listening, waiting for the chance to make me look foolish, the walls started coming together. I was being pushed towards my twin and my best friend jumped and clang to me as hard as he could manage. Only a few minutes passed by and all of a sudden my twin, my best friend, and I were being squeezed together. I don't know if the room got hotter on its own or it was just the body heat, but it was getting intensely hot. The pressure got worse as each second past, each breath being forced to be shallower than the last. A few more moments passed and my best friend passed out while my twin screamed in agony. One moment later and my twin was silent as my eyes slowly closed and faded into oblivion. The last thing I ever saw was that white plate, with the blue ring. I thought I would live my life well, maybe be something important, but at the end of the day, I ended up just being a grilled cheese sandwich.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dallas Thomas

My name is Dallas Thomas. I work in IT professionally, but writing is something I have always enjoyed. I have a wife, a stepdaughter, and a baby on the way so if you like the stories please share them and come back for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.