Horror logo

Circus Chapter 7: Avery

Circus Night 7

By Christopher ShaversPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Avery woke up. He stretched as he yawned. He got dressed humming "Favorite Things". Smiling, he looked into his mirror, “Show time.”

Avery walked through the camp, walking past many nightmares doing various jobs. “Spotlight on 20.” The nightmares responded with, “Thank you 20.” Walking into a tent, he addressed Madoric, “Madness is to be in its box.” Madoric looked at him and chuckled before trading hats with him and heading into the big top. Avery shook his head as he adjusted the upright painting over the working station in Madoric’s tent, turning it upside down, he left.

“Spot in 5, tent.” He said heading towards the big top from out of a cage after feeding Cuddles steaks. “Thank you, 5.” The nightmares responded. Just as Avery was going to enter the big top, a crow dropped a letter at his feet. After reading it, Avery’s smile vanished. He sighed.

“Take over for me would you? I’ve been asked to take care of a matter.”

The black on his suit sank down onto the ground, it slithered away from him, rising from the ground it became another Avery.

“Very well, but hurry back.”

“I will.”

As one Avery went into the big top, the other went off towards the forest.

After announcing the finale, Avery walked out of the big top and sighed. Thorn walked up to him and patted him on the shoulder.

“You look tired. Since you’re done for the night, why don’t you go eat?” He nodded and walked away.

Avery walked into his tent and sat at his desk. Taking off his top hat, he undid his tie after looking at his doorway. “Scarlet, what did I tell you about hiding in my room?”

A small girl with red hair and eyes wearing a black and red armored dress came from under his bed. “How can you find me so easily?”

“I can hear your heartbeat.”

“Really?”

“No,” he tickled her, “I can smell the soul of children!”

Scarlet giggled, “Not uh!”

“Oh, but I can! And you. Smell. Like. S’mores!!!”

“Nooooo! I don’t even know what those are!”

Avery stopped, “Really?”

“Is that bad?”

“No. But how about this. I’ll make you a s’mores. If you agree to participate in a show with me tomorrow.”

“Deal but you also have to help me with my homework and ask my mom.”

“Deal if you ask your mom and stop sneaking into my room.”

“Deal.”

Scarlet ran off. Avery turned around to a shorter blue skinned, blue haired woman in a short black dress kissing him.

“You missed my performance.”

“Did I? Were you the finale tonight?”

“Yes I was. So you owe me.”

“Tomorrow.”

“Why not tonight? There was a group of teens that brought in alcohol tonight.”

“I only drink wine.”

“Is there something going on, Avery?”

“You haven’t been yourself since last year either. None of us have but I am feeling better. The prince is going to be visiting us soon. I want to focus on that.”

“Really?! Why haven’t you said anything?! This is huge!”

Avery held her hands, “Lapis, please calm down. I didn’t tell anyone yet because I don’t need anyone being thrown off their game. We need the best performances possible.”

“You’re right. You’re right.”

“Thank you, so would you mind if I get changed? I plan to show Scarlet how to make s’mores.”

“You know some of us envy you? Even though I’m your girlfriend, I find myself jealous of you at times too. You know, since you’re the only one of us that has memories of a childhood that he can look back on. But I also love you for it. Somehow it makes you more… Passionate.”

“You have no reason to be jealous of a monster like me. My childhood is the only happiness I can look back at these days.”

“What about me? You aren’t my past, you are my present.”

“Does that mean that you are going to unwrap me when you get excited?”

“I plan to rip off your bow and all. Later.”

Avery walked out his tent and down a path away from the site in a two piece suit. The path led to a campfire surrounded by the Black Knight, Thorn, Scarlet, the Red Knight, and a woman in a completely black lace dress covering her face with a lace umbrella. Avery sat on a chair made from a shadow he created. Scarlet ran to him and fussed with him about showing her how to make s'mores. Thorn smiled and told him to just get it over with since she never gives up. Avery smiled lovingly into the fire as he showed her.

“Scarlet, let me tell you a short story. Once there was a young boy. He was very lonely. He lived alone for almost his entire life. Until, one day, he made a friend. They became very close over the course of many years. Until the boy’s friend was in danger. Absolute life threatening danger. The boy sacrificed his life for his friend. The friend ran and covered up his death. They say the boy came back to life nine days after his death and became an unkillable and unfeeling creature fueled by fear and hatred. Forever enslaved to never feel any emotion.”

“Is that a true story?”

“Every story is true. In one way or another.”

fictionhalloweenmonsterpsychologicalsupernatural
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Shavers

Start writing...I am the Author of Circus by Christopher Shavers and the Author in Faceless Entertainment. I love to write and perform. Be it me bringing nightmares to life in stories or my journey through poetry. Enjoy the Show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.