Horror logo

Chills On The Highway

A sinister encounter

By GolgePublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like

I am a long-haul trucker, accustomed to encountering a myriad of strange and spine-chilling experiences during my nocturnal journeys. On this particular night, I found myself navigating the desolate expanse of US 93 in the Nevada desert, en route to a delivery in Portland. The clock stubbornly ticked its way towards 1:30 AM, and I knew it was time to pull over and log my mandatory half-hour break.

As the yawning darkness enveloped the barren landscape, I discovered a desolate wide spot along the desolate highway, providing a momentary refuge. I parked my rig with a sigh of relief, initiating the mundane ritual of logging my hours. A sense of isolation crept over me as I reclined in my cabin, the solitary witness to the desolation that stretched beyond my windshield.

With my logs meticulously recorded, I decided to indulge in a midnight reprieve, crafting a humble sandwich as sustenance. Munching away in solitude, I idly glanced at the rearview mirror, only to notice a vehicle gradually pulling up behind my massive trailer. At first, the intrusion did not unduly perturb me; after all, the open road was no stranger to curious passersby. Yet, as the minutes passed, an unsettling unease settled upon me.

The strange events that followed began to unfurl. From the dim glow of the headlights emerged a shadowy figure, methodically approaching the rear driver's side of my trailer. It was as though they caressed the metal surface with a malevolent intent. My pulse quickened, and a cold shiver coursed down my spine. Suspicion had firmly gripped my senses.

With a creeping sense of foreboding, I retrieved my pistol from the secure lockbox, skillfully cocking and loading it. The weapon nestled ominously behind my waistband as I prepared to confront the unknown. Caution prevailed as I stepped out of my cabin, casting a vigilant eye toward the enigmatic presence. I maintained my grip on the pistol, my flashlight casting an eerie beam into the darkness, targeting the shadowy figure.

What materialized before me was a man, or perhaps an aberration of one. His visage was an unsettling portrait, swathed in a dingy, whitish trench coat. A cascade of straggly hair hung limply around a balding pate. His obsidian eyes remained unflinchingly locked onto mine as he continued his ominous caress of my trailer.

My voice, trembling with apprehension, implored him to cease his actions. Yet, he did not yield. A sinister smirk played upon his lips as he disregarded my plea and commenced a deliberate approach, each step amplifying the tension in the frigid night air. A chilling dread tightened its grip on my chest as I warily retreated towards my truck.

Maintaining my hand upon the pistol's grip but refraining from its full unveiling, I reached the sanctuary of my cabin. The heavy door slammed shut, followed by the definitive click of a locked mechanism. The sinister figure outside continued to leer, his malevolence undeterred.

As my heart drummed a cacophonous rhythm in my chest, I peered through the safety of my window. The man's proximity was unsettling, and I felt vulnerable despite the protective barrier. But the nightmare had only just begun.

With a sudden, spine-tingling jolt, my truck shuddered as though a malevolent force had seized it. Startled and horrified, I frantically scanned my driver's side mirror, but the darkness offered no clues. My gaze shifted to the passenger side mirror, and there, on the step leading to my cabin, materialized a nightmarish apparition.

A grotesque visage of an old witch, her ghastly countenance twisted into a malicious grin, pressed against my window. Rotten teeth gnashed together in a perverse dance of malevolence as she cocked her head from left to right, each movement serving to fog the glass. The sight before me was a grotesque, macabre parody of reality, and terror washed over me in a relentless wave.

My mind reeled, and I could scarcely believe the nightmare unfolding before my eyes. In my terror, I failed to notice the strange man's absence. The specter continued her haunting display, her bony hand rhythmically smacking my window, a relentless percussion of dread.

The man's sinister voice pierced the night, a cruel taunt that sent shivers down my spine. "Open up, boy! We're friendly," he sneered, his voice oozing with malevolence. "What treasures lie within your trailer, hmm? Open up, boy!"

The imminent threat was palpable now. Fear had taken firm hold of my senses, and I knew I had to defend myself. My trembling hand drew my pistol from its resting place, and the sinister duo outside seemed to sense the shift in power.

With a sinister laugh, the witchly apparition vanished from my passenger side step, leaving behind only the echoes of her haunting grin. The man's mirthful laughter reverberated in the darkness as he gracefully descended from my driver's side step.

Without hesitation, I revved my truck's engine to life, its roar drowning out the haunting echoes of that dreadful encounter. I sped away from that desolate stretch of highway, the chilling memory of those malevolent travelers seared into my mind. Gratitude filled me as I saw no headlights pursuing me into the abyss of the night.

psychologicalmonsterhalloween
Like

About the Creator

Golge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.