Horror logo

Candyman (2021) Review

Say HER name please!

By Angela NolanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Movie still from The Atlantic review

I saw this movie two weeks ago and I've barely stopped thinking about it since so I thought I should put my thoughts down. I was incredibly excited about this movie, and I was worried that as this is its fourth scheduled release date it would end up going straight to home release and I wouldn't get the Candyman cinema experience I craved. I was too young when the original came out, although I don't think two year old me would have appreciated it anyway, so this was my first chance. It wasn't until a few days before I was booked to see it that I began to worry I was in fact too excited and the film wouldn't hit my high expectations.

Well I'm pleased to say it did! Rather than just being another remake, this film masterfully weaves in the original and enriches it. Set in a now gentrified Cabrini Green, Nathan Stewart-Jarrett's wonderfully camp Troy kicks off events by telling the story of Helen Lyle's descent into madness as shadow puppets dance across the screen. The story captures the imagination of Yahya Abdul-Mateen II's Anthony and he looks into the legend of Candyman and begins to incorporate it into his art exhibits, trying to convince viewers to 'say his name'. Sherman Fields, a man falsely accused of putting razor blades in candy and killed by the police, is this film's Candyman. Or is he?

I don't want to say too much more about the plot as I don't want to spoil it so I'll talk generally. Yahya Abdul-Mateen II puts in a tremendous performance as Anthony. He's a flawed character even before Candyman enters his life, full of jealousy and self-destructive tendencies who is kept in check by his devoted, organised girlfriend, Teyonah Parris' Brianna. As he begins to unravel, his wardrobe mirrors his descent into madness going gradually from pressed shirt and too-clean Converse to overalls covered in paint and muddy Converse. Props to you costume department, we noticed your hard work! By the way, just because Brianna keeps him in check, don't think that's all she is. She's actually a character in her own right; she has a successful career and she's definitely someone you want to help you survive a horror movie. At one point she stands at the top of a flight of stairs looking down into a gloomy basement, says 'nope' and shuts the door. It's nice to see horror movie characters making rational decisions and it makes her endearing to the audience.

I don't think I can review a Candyman film without talking about the bees. Remember how for the original they just covered Tony Todd in real bees and paid him $1,000 per sting? Well there's none of that this time round. The bees are CGI. They don't look as good to be honest but obviously as we're living through a time where we're losing so many bees I think it would have been more annoying had they used live bees. The bees don't feature quite as much but they tend to donk their little heads against the glass from the other side of a mirror to signal Candyman's arrival which is an interesting touch.

The kills are quite brutal and very hook heavy. There's an interesting filming choice with the kills so for some we're right there in the action as though we are Candyman but others we're much more disconnected, viewing through a window, or just hearing the kill and seeing the blood. I'm not sure if there's an end goal with this technique but it keeps it fresh.

I think you can tell by now that I enjoyed the film but there are a couple of mis-steps. The score is nothing special and I can't really remember any part of it so that could have been improved. The script is good, there are a few lines that really made me laugh such as "there's no dick on the planet that makes up for a demonology hobby", but some of its discussions about gentrification aren't very subtle. Also, if I see another post about 'Jordan Peele's Candyman' I might scream. Yes, Jordan Peele co-wrote and produced so he had a big influence but to call it his film plays down the outstanding direction of Nia DaCosta. She's been snapped up by Marvel but I hope she comes back to horror after that as I think she has a bright, or rather dark I guess, future in the genre.

So yes, definitely go and see this film especially if you're a fan of the original but please say her name.

9 stars out of 10.

movie review
1

About the Creator

Angela Nolan

I'm Angela, I have found a passion for writing so I'm creating here. You can expect horror stories from me, but I'll throw in the odd curveball too. Any queries (I also love to proofread) please email me at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.