Horror logo

Can't Leave

I can't leave my home...

By CynicalPepperPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Door

I've kept to myself in my own little apartment for a while since I don't really like interacting with people since people seem to know how to piss me off most of the time. I work at home and once in a while drop by the convenience store nearby to grab myself some food and water to survive since tap water sucks major ass a lot of the time - I think it mostly has to do with me being in the city though.

I don't really know how to cook and I'm not the best at understanding directions, so I mostly just eat ramen or something of the sort. A lot of the time, when I don't have work, I find myself staring up at my ceiling laying flat on my bed, wondering if I've been wasting away at my life or not but I don't care too much if I am, I'm happy the way things are going and I get paid pretty well so I'd say I'm living pretty well on top of that. It's not like my house is a complete mess or anything.

I do miss the countryside though... well... not really the countryside since I lived near a river in the forest but it was really peaceful and quiet there. The only reason I moved out was because of my parents. Loud is the best way to describe them and it put a damper on my mood entirely when all I wanted to do was sit next to a window drinking a coffee and indulging in the cold air coming from an open window sat right beside a thicket of trees, a lake seeing just over that green horizon wherein I can see even more trees surrounding it - it's blue tides shifting and waning.

All's well that ends well.

I've always thought I was quite a cynical person so I didn't know I could be as optimistic whilst writing this... I kind of needed to write this too.

Reminiscing is the only thing that I can do these days, maybe sometimes do the occasional odd job here and there. I'll get to the point but I'll have to start from the beginning.

It was in July -- I was minding my own business, as usual, doing work, eating, laying down and spacing out, maybe even play a few games here and there. At some point, I realized that I'm about to run out of food so I decided to peel my ass off my couch, go outside, and get myself some more food to eat as if stocking for winter. As I made my way to my door to leave, the sound of footsteps coming across the hallway could be heard outside my door so I decided to wait it out since I didn't really want to have an interaction with one of my neighbors since they're one of the talkative types. All of them are for that matter...

I don't even know how I could be positive about this but I'll continue. I looked through the eyehole of my door to see who was passing by. I sat there for a while waiting, hearing the thumps of feet colliding against the red carpet below as it moved closer and closer to my door. I clicked my tongue and moved to a small screen next to my door since looking into an eyehole for that long would hurt anyone's eyes. I turned the screen on to see the outside of my apartment -- on the screen was a black figure, too close to make out any proper color or shape, not being able to pin down where it starts or ends anywhere on the person's body. I observed for a few more seconds before quickly switching back over to the eyehole of my door.

I threw myself away from the door and crossed my room, making my way to the patio. I wanted to vomit...

It knew... they knew I was there. The instant I looked through that eyehole I felt cold as I looked into its hollow eyes and barely describable figure. The fear was too real for something I barely got to see completely, all I knew was that it had no eyes and a dried-up face as if sucked completely dry... no... better yet, like a corpse. I decided not to go out that day since I figured that I was seeing things and needed a break, or that it would go away after a day or something - couldn't be too careful.

The next day I decided to try and go out again... this time I saw its face fully, still there like before. I could clearly see it this time. A gaunt face with dried up skin like that of a prune - black hollow holes where its eyes should be whilst both of its hands remained pressed against its chest clasped together as if in prayer, slack-jawed. I could see the tendons in its neck moving as it's jaw moved slightly every few seconds or so.

It's been like this for a few days now...

I haven't been able to leave my apartment since so I'm just here hoping to god that it'll leave at some point because I can't take any more of this, ranting to myself in text as I sit here helplessly. There are some things I have confirmed about "it". 1. Whenever someone leaves their room on my floor, it leaves. 2. It doesn't leave for long. Whenever it leaves, a few seconds later I hear screaming and a cracking sound. My other neighbors seem to have not left their rooms like they have and probably noticed that it was there...

I don't know what to do...

I've tried contacting the police plenty of times but none come no matter how many times I've called... help me...

monster
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.