Horror logo

Cage

Go on, make some noise.

By Bruce ArnoldPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I sat in front of the cage in a leather recliner staring through the bars as the girl began to open her eyes. She let out a soft groan and lifted her head to look around. Her eyelids were still drooping from being half asleep. She blinked a couple of times in the light before stretching her eyes wide open and looking directly at me. I just smiled and sat back in the chair. Where I sat was bathed in shadows so she wouldn’t be able to see me even if she squinted her hardest. At most, she would just see the silhouette of my body resting in the chair.

“What’s going on?” she asked. “Where am I?”

Then she looked at her limbs and noticed she was chained. Her body hung, bound to one side of the cage by her ankles and wrists. She panicked and started struggling frantically against the chains in a futile attempt to break free.

“Keep making noise,” I said. “You’ll wake your roommate.”

She stopped for a minute and looked down at what laid below her on the cage floor. As soon as she saw it she froze and her breathing became slow and shallow. Curled up in a tight ball was a creature with pristine, white fur and a human-like body. A long tail that thinned out from its body slid across the metallic floor. The look on the girl’s face was of pure fear. She wasn’t sure whether to talk or to just remain still. Remaining still would keep her alive for the time being but she would eventually starve to death if I left her in there for long enough.

I grinned. “You wanna try crying for help? Or maybe you would prefer to sit there silently and wait to die of thirst or hunger?”

“Why are you doing this?” she whimpered.

The creature inhaled a deep breath when she spoke and she bit her lip fearing that it would wake. A low growl escaped its lips and it bared its teeth. As soon as she saw the rows of razors she cringed and shut her eyes tight.

“Most would say I have very little reason while others would say I have every reason,” I said. “Either way you’d better do something soon. I’m getting very bored over here.”

I let out a fake yawn and the creature stirred once more.

“Please don’t do this,” she pleaded in a silent whisper. “Just let me go. Please.”

I rolled my eyes and shook my head. “I’ll give you one more chance.”

She just whimpered in the cage and tears began streaming down her face. Signs of submission. The girl had already given up. She was gonna go with the silence and hope that I’d let her out eventually. I yawned.

“Booooring,” I said, then shouted, “Avanthar!”

Immediately the creature’s eyes shot open and its tale stopped swishing across the floor. Its gaze fell on the girl and it licked its lips hungrily. In an instant, the girl broke down. She went to scream but the creature was already on her in seconds. For a half-asleep animal, it moved quick. It only took a matter of seconds before blood coated its pristine white fur and pooled on the floor. I watched as its jaws tore into her naked body, ripping her apart piece by piece. She screamed for about three seconds before its tail curled around her throat and squeezed hard, breaking through the skin and crushing the bone. Then it pulled and the head came clean off. Her skull rolled across the floor with a horrified look plastered on her face as the creature devoured the bloody mass that was once her body in the cage. I watched it all with a devilish grin on my face and excitement coursing through my veins. This was better than football.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Bruce Arnold

I write. It's unclear to me if I am any good so I could use feedback. Let me know if I could improve on anything. My Instagram is @kalthurduran

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.