Horror logo

Broken Mirror

world of horror fiction,

By Arslan Hussain Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The antique mirror had been in my family for generations. It was an ornate piece of furniture that had stood in my great-grandmother's room until it was passed down to my grandmother, and then to my mother. I inherited it after my mother's death and it now sat in my bedroom.

At first, I was thrilled to have it. The mirror was beautiful and seemed to bring a sense of history and legacy to my room. But as time went on, strange things began to happen. At first, it was just small things, like the reflection in the mirror seems slightly off, or the feeling of being watched when I was alone in the room with it. But then the dreams started.

In my dreams, I would stand in front of the mirror and see a reflection that wasn't my own. It was a woman with long, dark hair and piercing green eyes. She would stare at me through the glass, and I would feel a chill run down my spine. It was as if she was trying to tell me something, but I couldn't understand what it was.

One night, I woke up to the sound of glass shattering. I ran to my bedroom and found the mirror had fallen off the wall and shattered into a million pieces. As I began to clean up the mess, I noticed that the reflection in the shards was still there. It was the same woman from my dreams, but this time she was smiling. I felt a sense of dread wash over me as I realized that the mirror was haunted.

I tried to ignore it, but the strange occurrences only continued. Objects would move on their own, and I would hear footsteps in my room when I was alone. The woman in the mirror would appear in my dreams more frequently, and her message seemed to be getting clearer. She was trying to warn me about something, but I still couldn't understand what it was.

One day, as I was getting dressed in front of the mirror, I saw a movement out of the corner of my eye. I turned to look, but there was nothing there. I shrugged it off and turned back to the mirror, only to see the woman's reflection staring back at me. This time, she wasn't just smiling. She was mouthing words, as if she was trying to communicate with me.

I leaned closer to the mirror, trying to hear what she was saying. Suddenly, I was pulled into the glass, as if it was a portal to another world. I found myself standing in a room that was almost identical to my own, except everything was slightly off. The colors were muted, and the air felt heavy with a sense of dread.

I realized that I was in the woman's world, the one she had been trying to show me in my dreams. I tried to move, but my feet felt like they were rooted to the ground. I looked around the room and saw that the woman was standing in the corner, still mouthing words. This time, I could hear her.

"You have to leave," she said. "This world is not what it seems. It's a world of darkness and pain, and if you stay here too long, you'll never be able to leave."

I tried to respond, but my voice wouldn't come out. The woman walked towards me and placed her hand on my shoulder. As soon as she did, the world around me began to shift. The colors became more vibrant, and the air felt lighter. I was being pulled back into my own world.

As I stumbled out of the mirror, I realized that the woman had saved me from being trapped in her world. But as I looked around my own room, I saw that something had changed. The world seemed slightly different as if it had been tainted by the darkness of

celebritiesfictionbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Arslan Hussain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.