Horror logo

Brittany

Flash Fiction Challenge 100 - Day 34

By Shawn IngramPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

My alarm goes off, but it’s different this morning. It’s not coming from my trusted android; it’s coming from an alarmingly bedazzled iPhone X with a Hello Kitty phone cover. Oh no, it’s happened again.

I throw back the quilt, get to my feet. My body feels lighter, a lot lighter. And I’m a teenager. I went to sleep last night as a 59-year-old man; today I wake up as a teenager. And a girl. I have zero proof that any of this is even real. I brace myself and find my way to the en suite bathroom.

Yep. Red hair, slight build, and very cute, I bet I (she!) have lots of friends at whatever grade I (she!) am in at school.

I pick up the iPhone. The screen is locked, but I trust maybe there’s some muscle memory for the security pattern which will unlock it. I need to do some quick study before I face her family and friends today. I swipe the screen. DRAW YOUR UNLOCK PATTERN.

I make my mind open and empty. I swipe the pattern.

The phone unlocks. I begin my studies.

Which is the delusion here? That I was a 59-year-old male yesterday, or that I am a 17-year-old junior in high school named Brittany (her phone was very helpful in filling in details of her life)?

I had been having this happen to me, but I thought the episodes had stopped last year. But for four months in 2020, every day I woke I was a different person, in a strange body, house, situation; it was wildly disorienting.

I was a depressed, borderline man that worked in an office supply warehouse, a quirky married woman with a dark sense of humor, a miner, a theater director, an Uber driver, a thief casing a bank for a robbery.

Four months of daily identity changes can move one far outside their comfort zone. Mine had always been sizable, before at least. No, I feel it’s nonexistent. I wake up, check a mirror for my unfamiliar face, and always search through the phone. I shudder to think what a ‘slip’ (what I call this action, ‘slipping’ out of one identity into another like I was merely changing my clothes) would be like without the aid of a phone! With the phone, I can find their FACEBOOK app, scroll through their posts, look at their photos, read (or reread) all their text messages. I say reread because, once I begin a message thread, I experience a strong sense of déjà vu, a hint of vaguely familiar memories. Spontaneously I will remember the faces of someone important in my host’s life.

I try to respect whichever life I have landed in for the day. If I know they have a meeting, or, as in Brittany’s case, a homework assignment due, I do my best to see that I handle their obligations in their absence. Once I leave, after my typical 24-hour residence, I assume the original owner returns to their body. That has to be nearly as disorienting as my experience, and I would be mortified if my actions in their absence lead them to any sort of stressful encounter or awkward moments.

---

‘ … daily identity changes can move one far outside their comfort zone.’

---

For my 24 hours, I’m a tenant living in their existence. I try to return the body and the life in as good a condition as I found it. I doubt I could have robbed the bank when I was ‘Hank’ for a day. I’m glad I could just hide away in a theater watching movies all that day.

I don’t have a tidy explanation for why or how this happens. I thought about it a lot, but I have come up with precisely nothing so far.

The phone dings. A text message. I’m supposed to meet Michelle for frappuccinos. I better get moving. I scan through my photo albums, find Michelle, pick out an outfit that Brittany has worn with her BFF before.

I shower and stand in the mirror; time to use the muscle memory trick again. I see a bewildering array of make-up products on the vanity. I have no clue how to use any of this! Making my mind receptive to the significant pull of the neural patterns in her brain; I surrender to the process and put on her face.

It’s a bizarre existence. But not one without its charms. I get to see life from a bunch of different perspectives. It has shown me where I’ve been narrow-minded and closed down. It has, I hope, made me a better person.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Shawn Ingram

In January 2021, I contracted the virus du jour. I thought I was going to die. For three weeks, all I did was sleep, moan, and dream.

The following month I joined VOCAL.media. I've published over 150 sories so far!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.