Horror logo

BREATHLESS

PAUSE TRY AS HARD AS YOU CAN

By SIYA NIWAPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
BREATHLESS

I told this one before, but I posted really late so I’ll try again this year.

When I was 14 I worked in a doll shop on the first floor of an old colonial house. At the time I loved dolls and it was my absolute dream job. Since I was so young, one of the elderly owners usually worked the register while I ran around the floor and storage room.

At the front of the store was a large display of life-sized baby dolls. They looked extremely realistic and even felt real when Shortly after I started working, I noticed that the baby dolls sometimes moved around the shop. They turned up in strange places or in unnatural positions, like face-down on a table. I was the only person working the floor, and I watched our customers really closely due to shoplifters, but I still assumed it must be from customers messing with them.

Then one day I went in the storage room and when I turned to leave, the door was locked. The “room” was really just a narrow closet lined with shelves, stacked floor to ceiling with dolls in their coffin-like boxes. I started banging on the door and eventually the owner heard me freaking out and opened it.

Very nonchalantly, the owner proceeded to explain that the store used to be a brothel where a woman and her baby died in childbirth. He then advised that if I ever got locked in the storage room when I was alone in the shop, I should promise out loud to take good care of the ghost’s babies, and she would usually open the door that held them. There were maybe 15-20 of these dolls propped up on tables or displayed in bassinets, like an uncanny nursery.Shortly after I started working, I noticed that the baby dolls sometimes moved around the shop. They turned up in strange places or in unnatural positions, like face-down on a table. I was the only person working the floor, and I watched our customers really closely due to shoplifters, but I still assumed it must be from customers messing with them.

until one I had fell Asleep on the job and that's when I saw all the dolls standing together breathless I stood unable to make a sound I didnt even realize that I could'nt breathe looking at their now un-doll like faces as I wonder where the owner was did he know about the dolls and if so was this a trap the owner always seemed so nice I was still young I was so confused at that moment all I wanted was my parents I stood very still afraid that the dolls may attack I was reminded of a story that the owner told me about turning people into dolls to live forever I ran blindly in the semi-dark house into a random room I hid hoping not to be found when I hear something trying to get in I closed my eyes when.........to be completed

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.