Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Three: Betrayal

A dead heart can only take so much.

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Three: Betrayal
Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

I know I shouldn’t go, but Johnny was being a literal monster. It was almost as if darkness was seeded deep inside of him. He hasn’t even come back yet, which must have been the world’s longest hunt. Twisting my hair into a side bun, my fingers tracing the various rich fabrics. An emerald silk caught my eye, the hanger scraping against the golden pole. Wonder twinkled in my eyes, the silk draping beautifully. The silk felt soft against my pale skin, the green making it creamier. The expensive leather black heel felt nicer than anything I had ever had in my life.

“You look a lot like your mother.” Jean commented warmly, running his gloved hand through his hair. “She was a wonderful woman. If you still love my brother, we can just go out as friends.” Shaking my head, my eyebrow cocked. Flames licked my hands, Jean sauntering over in an emerald green suit. His hand patted my head, a sad smile curling on his lips.

“I don’t know what I want.” I admitted sheepishly, looking at the cindering fireplace. “He ditched me anyway.” Tears welled up in my eyes, my life was already set upside down. Just a few days ago, I was living a normal teenage life. He tilted his head, a crooked grin dancing across his face.

“Hey now.” He mused, lifting up my chin. “I hate to see my queen upset. No tears allowed here.” Chuckling to myself, my hand covered my mouth. My heart fluttered, his unique scent exciting me ever so much.

“Where are we going to go?” I asked calmly, his fingers wiping the tear from the corner of my eyes. “Is it going to be amazing?” He placed his hands in his pockets, shuffling his feet around anxiously. His eyes met mine when my fingers traced his cheek. His face flushed scarlet, a nervous chuckle tumbling from his lips.

“You’ll see.” He hinted playfully, pulling me into the cave system to a large circular opening. Only a rusty grate kept us from the woods outside, a large raven looking down at us. Stars twinkled, the blue moonlight illuminating the space. A golden table glistened in the middle with a carafe of blood in the center. Wonder brightened my eyes, blue roses climbed the cave walls.

“What is this place?” I wondered out loud, feeling the silky petal at my feet. “Why don’t they grow in the moonlight?” Pouring me a glass of blood, his gaze swept around him. His hand gripped the crystal glass tightly, a drop of blood dripping onto his white gloves. Black mist rushed towards us, the roses wilting. Dying petals falling all around me, dark storm clouds forming over the blue moon. A woman about my height, in a black flowy dress sauntered towards us. Jean growled before smiling happily back at me.

“I am not here to fight.” She groaned, rubbing her forehead. “So please leave your gloves on. No need for that mess.” Her red eyes sparkled excitedly waiting for his response, a sly grin spreading across her face.

“Fine, what is it?” He asked, holding the tip of his gloves. “Spit out, or you will be in real trouble. You got kicked out of the house a long time ago.” Curiosity peaked in my mind, her painted black nails tracing her lips.

“Are you not curious about Johnny, my dears.” She remarked, playing with a dead rose petal. “Do you know what he has been up to?” My eyebrows furrowed, her hand twitching excessively.

“God just spit it out, sis!” Jean screamed, placing his forehead in his palm. “You are too dramatic, unlike her.” Her mouth widened to a sickening grin, her body falling to the ground. Johnny walked over her, black blood oozing from the corner of her mouth. His whole demeanor was changed, the darkness all over his face. The red velvet suit he wore was crusty with fresh blood, his leather shoes leaving a trail. My breath grew short and fast, the panic tearing me apart on the inside.

“Come with me now, or I will bring Lady Iceheart’s wrath upon you.” He growled, standing inches from me. “I already burnt the house down, and your army is long gone.” Horror weakened my knees, the bodies piled up behind him. Orange flames licking their bodies, a deep evil laughter erupting from his wide grin.

“What the hell?” Jean barked, stepping in front of me. “What is your issue! You were her girlfriend up to this point.” Johnny shrugged his shoulders, his black dagger sliding into his palm. He rolled his eyes, a look of disdain darkening them.

“I already belong to Lady Iceheart, not you.” He explained, spinning his blade around. “I was just a spy. Trust me, the sex is better with her.” Shock paralyzed me, my mind spinning wildly. Tears welled up in my eyes, fury boiling in my veins. The round handle of my scythe appeared in my hand, flames licking the blade. Jean peeled off his gloves, the wind picking up around us. Johnny flew back into the flames, his darkness fading away to the distance. Gracefully the white glove slipped over his hand, the wind dying. Orange flames towered over us, sweat dripping down my face. Their sister stirred, groaning as she sat up. Alarm gripped her eyes, stumbling to her feet.

“We have to go.” She urged, checking her wrist. “Dawn is in a few minutes, also he will be back.” A black ball of energy blasted from her palm, the cave system rumbling around us. Jean dragged me out, my eyes just looking behind me. The chilly dawn air nipped at my skin, Jean and his sister scanning for a place to hide until dark. Cracks echoed around us, the cave turning into a pile of rubble. Our feet pounded against the forest floor, until an abandoned mansion loomed in front of us. The decay was incredible as we climbed down into the basement. Just in time, too. It was morning already.

“I am so sorry.” I wept, tears falling from my eyes. “It is all my fault.” Jean wrapped his arms around me, gently kissing the top of my head. Hatred and betrayal burned in his eyes, his hands rubbing his shoulders.

“Elania, I am sorry for kicking you out.” He apologized, sitting down next to her. “Where to now?” A crooked grin curled on her lips, a soft giggle tumbling from her lips. Her eyes lit up with joy, her arms wrapping around Jean. Pulling back and laying down, she rolled her eyes.

“There is a group of vampires that were either orphaned from their clans, or just didn’t want to be a part of them in a bunker.” She mused, twiddling her thumb. “Welcome back my queen.” Shame dimmed my eyes, my eyes looking sheepishly at the ground.

“I am hardly a queen.” I mumbled, my fingers tracing my red scythe. “I know nothing. I feel useless, and played real hard.” Placing her chin on her hand, a soft laugh poured from her lips. With a smile she waved her free hand around.

“You were ready to stand for me.” She expressed, sitting up. “That is a true leader, not who is the strongest. Besides, Jean is your true betrothed. Hell, he was saying that he loved you since he could speak. He never forgot you. Besides, it was Johnny who manipulated everyone. You too definitely like each other. When Johnny awakened you, your memories should have come back. I believe it was Jean who brought them back.” Jean blushed while glaring into her eyes. Laughing to myself, I watched the shadows flicker in front of me.

“Oh relax, it is just me.” A male vampire with short red hair and slim build commented, sitting down next to Elania. “I am her husband, Shadow. I am the leader of the outcasts. Get some rest, we part at dusk.” Soon snores rang out all around me, leaving just me and my mind. Jean stirred in his sleep, my head just hoping that it would be dusk soon.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.