Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Nine: Forgiveness is Hard

Can the black sheep be trusted?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Nine: Forgiveness is Hard
Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

Loud sobbing woke me up, a shameful Jean sitting next to me. His suit was torn up, snarls in his hair told me that he hadn’t slept at all. Sitting up, my arms wrapped around his neck. Pressing my lips to his passionately, the tears stopped streaming down his face.

“You are not the monster that you think you are.” I comforted him, his mind broken as my body. “I love you for everything that you are, the dark and light side. I can be a monster myself. You were there for me, so I will be there for you.” His strong arms pulled me close to his chest, Elania hovering by the door. Waving her away, she shot me a sad smile as she walked away.

“Thank you for loving me.” He wept onto my head, his tears soaking my hair. “No one has ever loved me before, not the way you do.” A thought popped in my head, the blue moonlight bathing us. Childlike curiosity burned in his eyes as I fixed his hair. He seemed like such a lost child at this moment, my heart melting at this cute sight.

“How about we sit on the roof and just watch the stars?” I offered warmly, peeling him from the chair by my bed. “I find that when I am sad, the moon always has the answers.” A shrill ring from my cell phone jerked me awake, an urgent distant voice snapped me out of my slight early evening daze.

“Help me!” A little girl’s voice called out, a strange blue light dragging Jean and me into a different world. Scanning the vast area, blue roses lined the walls. A gasp of wonder escaped my lips, something dark lurking in the corner. Johnny emerged from the shadows, a shaken up Jean being utterly useless next to me. His ripped red suit exemplified the exhaustion in his eyes, his lips parting to speak. His long black covered Jean’s eyes, fangs growing over his bottom lip.

“I came here to warn you.” He explained quietly, wiping off fresh blood. “I want to switch teams for real this time, and no I don’t want to date your girl. Also I was dragged into this weird world as well.” Disbelief and hurt flashed in my eyes, my heart aching to believe him. Johnny stepped forward, the false moonlight bathing him. Horror widened my eyes, cuts and bruises dotted his skin. Crossing his hands, Jean’s arm wrapped around my waist possessively.

“Okay.” I stammered oddly, a green skinned demon leaping into the center of us. “Who the fuck are you?” A sly grin danced across his face, his yellow eyes twinkling with the delight of a fight. A yellow curved blade sat on his palms, his muscles exploding his slender body into a fighter’s body. Johnny leapt into action, his black daggers barely scratching his skin. A cry of pain exploded from his lips as he was tossed into the gray stony walls, Jean standing there numbly. Great he was utterly useless at this point, my tail flicking in irritation.

“Oh, how lovely.” The demon mused, playing with his tentacle hair. “Just me and you, huh? How about you bring out those extra tails and give me a fight to remember?” Cursing to myself, the bracelet clicked open. The ground below me quaked, my eyes growing black as a second tail grew. My red scythe sat on my eager palms, both boys incapacitated. Launching himself at me, sparks rained down around us as our blades violently clashed. Cocking his head to the right, his foot slammed into my stomach. Intense jolts of pain shot through me, yellow lightning bouncing off of my skin.

“What the hell are you?” I wheezed, struggling to stand. “Are you working for Lady Iceheart?” Chuckling to himself, my jaw cracked as his fist slammed into my face. A couple of fangs fell onto my palm, a grunt tumbling from his lips as I smashed him into the nearest wall. Black flames devoured my curved blade, flames licking my feet. Oddly enough this was the most control I had ever felt before.

“No.” He crooned bemused, his blade narrowly missing me. “I work on behalf of the demon’s to get rid of all of you blood suckers.” Rock tumbled on me, my skull cracking slightly as his blade was stuck in the wall above my head. Touching his blade, black flames fought the yellow lightning. Agony jolted my body, my hair standing on end. Panic widened his eyes, his blade smashing into tiny pieces. My eyes twitched as the electricity stopped assaulting me, cards flying in my direction. Black daggers stabbed him in a blur of red, blood raining down on me. Both brothers gazed upon me warmly, Jean using a card to cut off the demon’s head. A soft thunk against my boot told me that his head was by my feet. Swinging the scythe into his brain, unnatural howls echoed in the still silence of the rock realm. The box faded away, the headquarters looming behind us. Jean slid the bracelet on my wrist, spinning me around. His eyes fell on the black burn on my palm, Johnny turning to walk away.

“Wait!” I called out, surprise dawning on Jean’s face. “Come back and we can talk about reconciliation.” Jean’s lips parted in protest, his strong arms pulling me close to his chest. Shoving him off of me, I stopped inches from Johnny. Tears of regret were streaming down his cheek, a small smile on his face.

“I am so sorry.” He apologized shamefully, looking away. “I did so many awful things to you. How can you tru-” His eyes widened with shock, my arms wrapping around his waist. No old feelings came rushing back, but perhaps a decent friendship at the end of the long journey ahead of us. He wretched back, any touch of warmth almost sickening him. Shoving me to the ground, he sprinted into the woods. A couple of footfalls forward, Jean was holding me back. Fury burned in my eyes, my boot slamming into his groin. Falling to his knees, my boots pounded into the woods. Scanning around, Johnny was weeping just ahead of me.

“How about you form a contract with the demon in me to prevent you from betraying us?” I offered a glimmer of hope in his eyes. “Now let’s see. Give me your palm.” His bloodied palm sat inches from mine, Lady Firestone emerging from the woods with a warm smile on her face. His face fell at the sight of her beauty, his palm slamming into the dirt.

“Do you vow to protect me for the rest of your life?” She queried, hovering over him. “Do you vow to give your life if you betray us?” Nodding, he held out his hands. A circle of symbols burned on the top of his hand, howls of pain pouring from his lips. Collapsing on his back, his quivering eyes met mine.

“You know that you will never be my boyfriend, right?” I warned him suspiciously, his gaze empty. “I am sorry for that bit of information.” Fright widened his eyes, Jean sprinting towards us. Lady Firestone faded away, intense pain shooting up my arm as Jean slammed into me. Our bodies tumbled to the nearby tree, Johnny still sitting still.

“Why did you have to come back after everything you did!” He screamed with tears in his voice. “You burned down our home, and broke her heart. Explain yourself.” Holding him back was getting harder, the fury boiling in his veins. I get it, he was hurt too. To be honest everyone was.

“I am sorry.” He replied numbly, standing to his feet. “I deserve everything you want to put me through. I know that she will never be mine again. I was under a spell by Lady Iceheart that forced me to betray you guys. Finally, the last time I met with Emily snapped me out of it. Then Barbie tried to kill me as I left. So yeah, I know everyone is pissed at me, and I am willing to work towards a mended relationship. Besides, I have details that you could never get. Jean, please give me a chance.” Bowing his head, Jean stopped fighting me.

“Okay, but one step out of line and you are dead.” He threatened darkly, scooping me up into his arms. “I love her with all of my heart and you blew your chance.” Shirking back, Johnny walked behind us. Shocked gasps shot through the room, Elania ready to attack.

“Simmer down.” Jean ordered warmly, shooting everyone a genuine smile. “He is on our side, and tomorrow he will tell us everything he knows.” Elania’s lips parted in protest, my raised hands raised in my own protest.

“Listen up!” I hollered, capturing everyone’s attention. “He is on our team, and I expect you treat him as such, ‘kay.” Mumbling to herself, Elania stomped off as Shadow chased after her. Turning my gaze on Jean, slight annoyance brewed in his eyes.

“Don’t worry my dear.” He mused gently, patting my head. “I love you, monster and all. Don’t ever forget that my queen.” Warmth washed over me, his lips kissing my forehead sweetly.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.