Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Four: The Second Awakening

Can true love prevail?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Four: The Second Awakening
Photo by Jason Blackeye on Unsplash

Ten year old Johnny laid next to me on my bed, an anime blaring on the screen. Two vampires were fighting over the one girl. His gaze was fixed on mine, a creepy smile dancing across his face.

“Don’t you like the brown haired one better?” He queried playfully, tucking a piece of hair behind my ear. “I think she should pick him.” Determination burned in my eyes, my hand smoothing my red silk dress. My human room surrounded me, white walls with a touch of Gothic art. Shaking my head, I pointed to the other one. His face flashed with jealousy, his hand gripping the sheet.

“I like him because he is the underdog who loves her when she is human.” I explained, ignoring his reaction. “He can’t even drink blood to survive.” His fingers wrapped around my neck, air escaping me with each tighter grip.

“I found you.” He gloated, his form changing to his evil form. “We are coming.” Cold sweat dripped down my forehead, his fingers gripping tighter.

“Wake up!” Jean’s voice called out, tears in his voice. “Don’t you leave us now!”

Jerking awake, Jean’s eager eyes beamed in joy, heavy footfalls pounding above our heads. Shadow snapped his fingers, shadows emerging all around us. Jean wrapped his arm around my waist, Elania cursing under her breath.

“The sun is still up.” She announced, touching the ground. “I can raise an army for us real quick but-” Two white haired men crashed through the floor, landing in front of me. Icy blue eyes examined my body, a frosty hand touching my hair. The color faded from the section, the world starting to spin around me. Blue diamonds sparkled on their dress coats, pointed teeth smiling back at me.

“Master wants his second girl back.” The shorter one exclaimed excitedly, making the mood weirder. “He said something to the tune of a slave, right Glacier.” The other guy’s head tilted his head, his hand hovering over my ample chest. My undead heart almost started beating again, cold sweat dripping down my forehead.

“I do agree, Iceberg.” He cooed, touching my chest. “Lady Iceheart wants her as well. Something about keeping her kingdom from freezing over.” My chest tightened, ice crystals spreading across my collarbone. Branches of ice crept towards my undead heart, a fire starting up in me. Skeletons popped up behind them, ancient swords in their yellowed skeletal fingers. Power surged through me, red ears made of flame appearing over my head. A red flamed tail flicked behind me, the ice crystals melting off of me. My eyes grew black as the inky night sky, black ink darkening my veins. Long claws grew from my twitching fingers, Glacier and his brother killing all of the living dead army. Elania collapsed from exhaustion, Shadow not faring much better. His body swayed, his red eyes fluttering open and shut. Elania cried out, one hand touching Shadow’s arm. Unable to control myself, my scythe grew three times the normal size. Too many thoughts ran rampant throughout my mind, my strikes growing more wild and inaccurate.

“Snap out of it.” Jean cried out, throwing me to the other side of the room. “Let me take care of this.” He started to peel off his glove, only an icy blade sliding through his stomach stopping him. His boots scraped the dirt beneath him, his body falling into an icy puddle.

“Come on now, my fire fox demon girl.” Iceberg taunted, waving his hand in my direction. “Become the monster you are.” My black eyes scanned his body, the fancy pocket watch throbbing in my vision. Swinging my blade down, the glass cracked on his watch. A defiant grin danced across his face, his hand running through my chest.

“Maybe you should check the time.” I growled, his eyes falling to his pocket watch. Horror widened his eyes, his body melting into a puddle. The hole in my chest healed, sealing shut. Fury burned in Glacier’s eyes, my black eyes unable to find his weak point. His foot slammed me into the stone wall, cracks ringing out around me. Small fractures webbed out in my ribs, my breath growing shorter. Pain shot through my body, my heart starting to beat again. More black inky blood exploded through me, unnatural howls pouring from my lips. Glacier hovered over me, a triumphant grin illuminating his face. The others stirred awake, noting where I was. They scurried over to the dark side of the room, their red eyes watching me intensely.

“I win, you little half breed.” He bragged, raising his ice sword. “Say your last words.” My eyebrow cocked, my blade knocking the rotting wood above me. Hot afternoon sun poured in, his skin burning instantly. His leg turned to run, my claws ripping off his legs. His torso landed in the middle of the sunlight, screams exploding from his lips.

“Didn’t anyone ever tell you that you need more sun.” I taunted, holding his body down. His eyes bulged, his body turning to sparkling blue ash. His brother evaporated in the sticky air, my body twitching violently. Wonder filled me, my skin was not burning at all. Basic animal desires corrupted my mind, leaping to my feet. My claws swung wildly in the air, my hair turning scarlet red. Hatred fired up a dark desire to kill everyone in the room. Jean ran up to me and threw me down to the ground. Hot salty tears flowed from his eyes, my claws digging into him. A strange hunger came over me, my elongated fangs sinking into him. Pleasant memories flooded my mind, the darkness melting away.

“Come back to me Emily.” He pleaded, his body growing more slack. “I love you, and I always will.” His strong hand ripped me off of his neck, his lips pressing against mine hungrily. My flame ears and tail fluttered out, my eyes going back to red. Tears of joy shimmered in the reflection of the sunlight, his hand tracing my cheek.

“I am so sorry.” I cried out, tears welling up in my eyes. “I didn’t mean to hurt you.” Shaking his head, he pulled me to the darkest corner. His finger lifted my chin, his eyes glittering with excitement.

“It is just a flesh wound.” He shrugged it off, pointing to his back. “All I care about is you. Hey there is strip of red hair.” Red silky hair hung on his white glove, quiet alarm filling his eyes. His look frightened me a bit, his gaze passing between Elania and me. Childlike wonder brightened my eyes, his wound was nonexistent. Only scars remained, the guilt burning in me all over again. My lips parted in protest, a book shelf moving on it’s own. Elania stood there with an excited smile on her lips, shadow snuggling into her chest.

“Are you two lovebirds going to come or what?” She teased, kissing Shadow on his lips. “I have a person with whom we can talk to. He knows her past, he just needs to examine her mind.” Our shoes pounded on the floor, until we were in the hidden tunnel. The steel door slammed shut, sealing shut forever. Torches flickered on, the red flames licking the thick wick. Jean picked me up and wrapped my legs around his waist. 3

“Rest my queen.” He whispered in my ears, pecking my cheek. “Tomorrow will be rough for you. Sleep.” Exhaustion weighed heavily on my eyes, sleep winning the battle. The last thing I smelled was his scent.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.