Horror logo

Black Hearts

Captain's Log

By Tales from a MadmanPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
3
Black Hearts
Photo by Luke Southern on Unsplash

18 May

A crazy ol’ loon bumped me on the docks today. Afore I could run him through for the offense, he gained me attention. Offered me a trade. His life’s almost over and he’ll never make it back to his treasure. Its mine he says, if I spare him. O’ course I agree. He told me a tale of a luscious, island paradise where he hid a massive treasure. Then he told me a tale o’ rubbish about some spooks and specters what haunt the sea around the island. It’s why he never got back to it to reclaim his booty. He gave me a map afore I ran him through anyway and shoved his fresh corpse off the pier and into the drink.

21 May

Been busy a few days. The crew’s getting the ship ready to depart. I got the course charted and we’ll be leaving in the morning. We set out for the old man’s treasure. Should take a couple weeks to get there.

9 June

We been on smooth waters for days now, but the days are getting longer and hotter. If this map’s true, we should be almost upon the abandoned riches.

13 June

Another hot day. Ain’t found the island still. This map’s got to be true. The old loon wouldn’t dare lie to me. Everyone knows in that crooked port not to mess with la Couer de Noir or her captain.

14 June

Still no sign of the island and the sun is only getting hotter. We’re going to rotate crews to a heavier night shift. Can’t have them dying in the sun. Who would carry all me gold aboard?

18 June

No more night shifts. The crew get funny at night. They claim to see strange things in the water and onboard. They’re just drowsy from lack of sun.

20 June

It's too hot for me to leave the cabin in the sun. I leave the crew to Higgs during the day while I review the map over and over again. We’re lost now and I’m sure of it. I think Higgs knows too, but I’m not giving up. A free treasure and we’re almost there.

23 June

Rough day today. The crew interrupted my map studyin’. They was demanding to see the map, calling me a liar and other scandalous names. I told them Higgs seen the map. Made him lie to them. He knew not to disagree with me from just a look. Me excellent first-mate calmed the boys down for me. It’s just the heat getting them anyhow.

25 June

The last two days was tense, but today broke the heat. It rained all day. We shoulda made the island a week or more ago. Yet, we ain’t spied land in a month. The rain was nice, but the crew’s still not trusting me. Even Higgs suggested we turn back to port.

26 June

Craziness last night. Three o’ me crew jumped ship in the middle o’ the ocean. Came screamin’ out of their bunks. They was hollering about a demon come to take ‘em to the afterlife. I belayed Higgs’s order to throw a rope down. Don’t want to bring their weakness or craziness back on board. Those things spread through sailors like plague. Plus, at this rate we’ll be at sea longer than we stocked for, less mouths could be a good thing.

28 June

There’s land in the distance. We can see it in the scope. The winds are dull, but we’re heading the right way. I even let some sailors use my scope to share some hope with the boys. We feast tonight.

29 June

Hungover and dreary are we and the sea. The crew be hungover from last night and the wind has all but stopped. The island inches nearer at a snail’s pace and the crew grows tense with each passing hour. I know we must be, but it doesn’t feel like we’re getting any closer to me bounty.

1 July

I saw it too. The demon. It was here in me captain’s quarters. Six feet tall with flaming horns. It was covered in red feathers like a cardinal from hell. I stood in shock as it locked eyes with me. “The treasure is mine now” it whispered before vanishing into thick black smoke. Damned thing almost scared me off, but it’s my treasure and now I know I’m getting close!

2 July

I never should have had that feast the other night. We’re starting to run low on food. It’s raining again too. It hides the view of the island, but moves us ever closer. The rain started this morning and grew heavier and heavier throughout the day. Thunder bellows in the distance as I write... And someone knocks at the door.

3 July

It was Higgs. Higgs, me own first mate, knocked at me door. He had with him a handful of sailors who’d seen the island in the crack of lightning. Claimed we were closer than I thought. Claimed it weren’t lush with riches or paradise. Fools! The lot of them. To think they’d know more than I, Captain Edmund Creux of Couer de Noire, the deadliest ship on the seven seas! Higgs tried to steal me command. Along with the help of a few loyal sailors I fought them off. I dispatched mine own first-mate by sending him overboard in the storm....

3 July

Higgs was right. We ran aground while I was writing my last entry. I don’t know how it could have happened. The island was still a mile off from my last sight. The wind howled and the storm threw us against the rocks. I don’t even know how the fire started. Me crew scrambled to save what they could. I kicked and pushed my way through them. Killing anyone who blocked me path. I jumped from the bow and onto the blessed island. Only it’s not blessed. I watched from jagged, barren, rocks as my ship burned and sank. Occasionally, I’d notice another crewman dive into the water, but none made it to shore all night.

4 July

I sat and watched today as the bow of my ship washed away from the wreckage on the shore. Nothing left, but me and these blasted rocks.

7 July

I’m not alone anymore. Brody, one of the crewman I hated most, is here. Well, his body, anyway. I entertained myself through the day by poking holes in his fat, bloated belly. I watched as oozes seeped from him. When I’d had my fill, I shoved him back into the sea.

8 July

I was starting to think I was going crazy, but Higgs assures me I’m not. That’s right, Higgs is here now too. I can’t see him, but I can hear him. He’s always been so loyal. And even after I kicked him overboard.

9 July

Higgs and I aren’t talking anymore. He got very upset when his body washed ashore yesterday. I promised to bury him when I get home, but he wouldn’t hear it. I feel alone now. Sadness and terror are things I cause, not feel.

10 July

First Brody, then Higgs, then yesterday another body. I can’t know all their names. Plus, why should I? They’re dead now. I think I am too.

16 July

With each day that passes on these gods-forsaken rocks another crewman’s corpse washes ashore and away. This is my doing. These sailors all trusted me. They followed me. The pages in this log grow soggy, not just from the ocean air, but also from my tears.

17 July

How many? How many were on my crew? Must I revisit every face like this. Each day another shadow haunts me. Each mortal coil left behind by my greed returns to remind me of my prideful errors.

12 August

I haven’t eaten. I haven’t drunk. I know not what nefariousness lets me live, but I loathe it. My crew has run out today. No body washed ashore. Perhaps now I can move on.

13 August

The crazy old loon from port who sent me here! He did this. He knew this was going to happen. I know because he’s here now. His body washed up on the rocks this morning. I dragged him up onto the rock with me. I’ll keep him until he wakes up and frees me from this torment.

17 August

He hasn’t woken. His corpse is starting to rot and smell. Four days have passed with him here and yet no change. More bodies turn up each morning and float or sink away by night. I recognize some of them. How many have I killed?

18 August

The old man and I have made up. He forgives me for killing him. He knows I’ve now suffered enough. Yet, I am trapped here alone with him. It's only been a few days and already I’m sick of his stories.

???

I stopped counting the faces and the sunrises long ago, but I found a red feather today. It floated down into my lap as I stared out into the sea. With these words my brittle quill disintegrates in my hand and my last drop of ink runs dry...

psychological
3

About the Creator

Tales from a Madman

@TalesFromAMadman

.. the figure in question had out-Heroded Herod, and gone beyond the bounds of even the Prince's indefinite decorum.

The Masque of the Red Death

Edgar Allan Poe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.