Horror logo

Black-Eyed Children & People

Man. Life is weird.

By LilithVPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like

Ok, so I know the title sounds sensational, but it isn't meant to. It's something that seems to only happen in the parking lot of our new apartment off & on for over a month. Let me explain.

I have experienced both these "children" & adult-size beings alike. They both looked similar when I lived in the south. At first, they do incite fear. a Gutteral fight or flight response. While I believe those instincts are put there for self-preservation, sometimes they are a reflex from trauma or they get in the way, at least for me personally. Mind you, I don't feel fear like most either. My fight or flight is something I am very familiar with so I know how to decipher when I should leave a place, when it is a fear from trauma, a warning about a place or person, or if I am going to have to become angry to energetically/physically defend myself. Maybe that is also because I do a lot of meditation & I am psychic so I have senses most don't have or use. I use my intuition to know what to do & how to react. If something is otherworldy & I feel one of these reactions, I usually become defensive, angry, or depending on the location I will just leave. I do not prefer to have a confrontation with anyone or anything on this side or the other. My preference is to be diplomatic. However, occasionally, I have to handle a situation & this is one of them.

The new apartment we moved into about 6 months ago is just right for us. Cute, affordable, comfortable with neighbors that tend to keep to themselves & are polite when interacting. The complex isn't huge so there are only a few people that live in it. The neighborhood we live in is kind of in-between suburban & urban. We live on the side of the local city that is older. We are about 30 minutes from the mountains also. I know my apartment is haunted but I don't mind it, I find ways to coexist with what lived here before us. Things move from time to time but nothing is broken & it doesn't cause an issue. I can communicate with these things without anything outside my intuition (no tarot, ouija boards, etc). The parking lot to our apartment is on the smaller side, meant for only residents to park in. This is where the issues are.

My husband was taking the trash out one Saturday morning & all of a sudden rushed inside, locking all the door locks in a hurry. He looked freaked out & I asked him what happened. He said there was a small woman in the parking lot just wandering around & he got a bad feeling immediately. I let it go & just told him to stay inside. I looked out the window & yes, I saw a physical woman in the parking lot but I never saw her face or eyes. So he delayed taking our pup out until a little later. Our pup also has insane spidey senses. She always knows when something is "off"... the only time she barks or growls, which is rare, is because there is a threat present. My husband said our pup (she is full-grown by the way and a fairly large dog) hid behind him,(which is what she tries to do when she encounters something or someone she doesn't like and we are handling it) because as it turned out, the woman was still in the parking lot & this was after dark. She asked him questions about the apartment complex like how would she go about renting an apartment here, how much it is a month, how to contact the landlord etc. She kept boasting about how much she loved the look of the complex & would love to live here. Then, out of nowhere, she makes the statement, "I am dressed appropriately. I am fully dressed. I did what I was supposed to. I have clothes on." Then she goes on to tell him how she isn't trying to be inappropriate around him, she doesn't mean anything out of the way, etc. She asked what our dog's name was & tried to pet her. My husband told her to please not touch the dog because she is a service animal. She kept asking him if he knew where a specific road was in our city. He told her he didn't know. He came in, once again, freaked out & locked all of the locks on the door. I asked him again what was wrong & he said she was still outside. I opened the door this time, I was going to go outside & speak to her. He stopped me & asked me not to, that he thought maybe she was just on drugs or had mental issues. He said he got a bad feeling every time he has seen her. The only person she ever seemed to approach was my husband. I am not ok with this, at all. I am also not afraid to speak or confront someone/something when it comes to my husband & people I care about. I respected his request & stayed inside. (It should be noted that there is a POSTED no trespassing sign on the property.)

A month or two went by & no more odd encounters aside from Jehovah's Witnesses with the occasional political person. Mind you, those people won't speak to me, ever. They always speak to my husband. Then, last Thursday, my husband was taking out our pup early in the morning, like he always does before work. It was still dark out because the seasons are also changing. I felt a sudden jolt of something feeling "wrong" while he was outside. He came in with our pup & locked all the locks in a hurry. I asked him what happened. He said this SAME woman was sitting on our next-door neighbor's porch, in their chair, reading the yellow pages book that has the listings for local businesses. She never looked up at him but she did ask if he knew where a certain road was in our city, the same road she had asked about the last time he saw her. He told her he didn't know. Then she asked him if he knew what time it was and of course, he didn't because he was half-awake. He explained that the reason he locked all the locks was that he had a feeling she was going to ask to come inside. Had she followed him in, I would have handled it. I went to the door & opened it to look on the neighbor's porch. Normally I wouldn't bother anyone or go outside to someone else's porch that early in the morning but those particular neighbors are elderly & I don't play when it comes to older people & kids. Just as I opened the door & went outside, I realized she was nowhere to be seen but there was a Sprite bottle left on their porch (though my husband insisted that it had been there for a couple of days, I had never noticed it).

Now here are the "odd" details. According to some lore about black-eyed people, sometimes when they show up, the person that seen them becomes sick OR a family member gets sick or dies. To me, this might imply that black-eyed people are harbingers of death like a reaper. Coming to warn you that someone is going to pass & this wouldn't be my first experience with a being that warns me of death. The difference is, is that this encounter happened to my husband most recently, around his birthday. He is not sick, our day-to-day life is pretty much how it has been BUT my dad (who is 3000 miles away) got severely sick the same day my husband had his latest encounter with this woman. (I received a phone call this morning from my mom, telling me dad has gotten worse & is now in the hospital with renal kidney failure... they have no idea what is wrong with him. I started putting two and two together today). I am not trying to imply that she somehow harmed my dad but more so might have been warning us. She wasn't ever actually rude or inappropriate to my husband. She never threatened him but he did say that she "felt" threatening. The times I had previously had this encounter with something similar to this woman, they won't ever approach me. They won't talk to me. All but one encounter it seemed as if they didn't realize I was standing there (I have seen them in different locations just standing there, talking to someone else, or walking away). The one encounter I had with one that acknowledged me, it just stood there, about ten feet away, & stared.

At this point, I am pretty sure I know what that woman is. I am also sure that I have come up with a plan. After dark, I am going outside with my husband when he goes. If I encounter her, I am going to give her directions to the road she keeps looking for and if she only approaches my husband, he is going to give her directions (we did google the road name and it is a road close to where we live). I hope this woman can move on or go to where she is trying to get to and one day it will just be another one of my weird stories lol. I am hoping this doesn't come down to a full-fledged confrontation because well, I am far from scared of anything like her.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

LilithV

I am happily married to my very best friend. My passions are healing, occult, history, religion, theology, and psychology. I write all from personal life experiences and all my writings are non-fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.