Horror logo

BENT

Written by: Dondi Casadat ๐Ÿ–ค

By The Casadats โ™ก Published 3 years ago โ€ข 4 min read
Like

I looked at the clock โ€œ2:46 AMโ€ in green bold letters hit my eyes. I rolled over onto my side. I canโ€™t sleep. I sat there for a minutes with my eyes closed trying to force my body to sleep, I realized it was a lost cause and sat up throwing my head back in frustration. I walk to the bathroom and through some water onto my face.

โ€œIt wasnโ€™t realโ€

I stare at my reflection in the mirror. My hair matted, my eyes looked sunken into my face with eye bags lining the bottom of them, my skin was losing its color and bloated from sleep and food deprivation. I walk back to my room listening to my bare feet hit the cold wooden floor. I stop at my door, feeling like it was something staring, or rather glaring, at the back of my head. I grab the door knob before turning around. Nothing. Just some steps. I head into my room and sit at the edge of my bed. I look outside my window at the open field, I used to love this house now it just feels like a nightmare.

โ€œI should have never agreed to thisโ€

I see a shooting star dart across the sky, it was beautiful, it made a small smile form on my face for the first time in these three days of hell. I slip some shoes on and sling a random jacket around my shoulders, glancing one last time at the clock before heading out the bedroom door.

โ€œ2:52 AMโ€

I walk down the steps and out the front door, following a small dirt trail that lead to the huge field I had so many wonderful memories on. I take my shoes of and let the grass go in between my toes, it was slightly wet from the dew forming. I look back at the house angrily.

โ€œI hate this.โ€

I see the woods where I use to run and hide, climb trees and swim in lakes. I put my damp feet back into my shoes and continue on the trail making my way to the woods. I look up at the sky looking for maybe another shooting star.

I reached the entrance of the woods, grabbing my phone and shining my flash light. As I was about to step in I realized that maybe it wasnโ€™t a good idea. I turn around and look at the house again.

โ€œAnywhere is better than thereโ€

I hesitated but I felt drawn to the woods, I shook the feeling of as just heavy nostalgia. I began walking into the woods. Soon I felt like my body was moving it self. What time is it? How long have I been in here? Should I turn back soon? All these questions and still i couldnโ€™t turn my self around only continuing deeper into the woods. The trail beneath my feet becoming less visible with each step.

I felt that glaring again.

I look around. Nothing. Just trees, leaves and hanging branches.

I saw something in the distance. My mouth was dry and I couldnโ€™t open it. What is that? I squinted, trying to make out what it even was that my eyes were looking at. My breath halted. It was a person. Their body was disfigured and horribly damaged. Their neck was bent alarming to the side, almost as if their neck was broken. Their arms were inhuman, they were long and twisted with fringes facing in all directions.

I tried to stop walking but all I could do was keep moving forward. What is wrong with me. As I got closer to the body I could see that was not a human. I didnโ€™t want to figure out what is was and just deemed it a ghost. Just a few feet away from it I felt my body gain control. I sprinted back the way I came jumping over branches, tripping on small stones but I didnโ€™t care. I could hear my heart beat in my ears and felt every breath I took. How long have I been running? Where is the field? I turn my head it was there. Every break in the trees I could see it standing there, just staring at me. I ran faster and faster but I couldnโ€™t except the glare. I see the entrance. I made it. I see the field itโ€™s right there. Iโ€™m almost there. Iโ€™m safe now.

โ€œ22 year old Sam Miller is still missing after house sitting for relatives. The owners of the property claimed they last heard from Sam saying she was heading to sleep. However, the following morning no one had heard from her. Her family is hoping to find her and has had a search party for the missing 22 year old for nearing 3 days now. If anyone has any information you are urged to call the police.โ€

fiction
Like

About the Creator

The Casadats โ™ก

โ €โ €๐““๐š๐ฏ๐ž &โ€™ ๐““๐จ๐ง๐๐ข ๐“’๐š๐ฌ๐š๐๐š๐ญ

โ €โ €๐“ฆ๐ก๐จโ€™๐ฌ ๐“ฆ๐ซ๐ข๐ญ๐ข๐ง๐ ? โ€” ๐Ÿ‘ฝ : ๐““๐š๐ฏ๐ž | ๐Ÿ–ค : ๐““๐จ๐ง๐๐ข

โ €โ €๐“ฆ๐ž๐ฅ๐œ๐จ๐ฆ๐ž ๐“ฃ๐จ ๐“ž๐ฎ๐ซ ๐“๐œ๐œ๐จ๐ฎ๐ง๐ญ ๐“”๐ง๐ฃ๐จ๐ฒ ๐“จ๐จ๐ฎ๐ซ ๐“ข๐ญ๐š๐ฒ โ—กฬˆ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.