Horror logo

Being Watched

Melanie isn't alone....

By Aletze CastellanosPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Being Watched
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

I am scared.

I has been walking around for hours.

I has seen the sun going down slowly by slowly.

I don't know ,where I am going.

I don't know , where I am.

All I know is that I feel like I am being watched.

It is waiting for me to drop my guard , I know it is ,it is waiting for a moment of weakness to pounce.

I haven't rest at all.

I feel like is playing games with me.......am I being paranoid?

Am I losing my mind?

The snapping of branches nearby say otherwise or is it my imagination?

I don't know too many questions in my head.

Maybe....maybe, my brother, Alan, is playing a prank on me , yeah , I am not lost, right?

I mean it was Alan's fault , that he wanted to go out early in the morning in a restricted area in the woods without telling our parents.

I even told Alan is a bad idea since even the locals have said not to enter the restricted area but of course Alan being Alan , he made fun of me for believing an old folktale made to scare tourists and drag me with him.

"Come on , Melanie," Alan said earlier," don't be such a pushover."

"I am not being a pushover ,"I said yanking my arm back from his grip," is that...",I looked at the woods in front of us, no sound emitting from it and a dark aura surrounding it, "I feel like is a bad idea."

Alan grab my shoulders, "Melanie...",he lightly squeezed them.

"You are a boring", he smiles.

I gave him a glare.

"I am serious , you don't know how to have fun and besides that, you also only have one friend , besides me, of course , and that friend isn't even human," he said crossing his arms at me , the way mom did , when we did something dumb.

I crossed my arms ,mimicking him "at least Peter ,doesn't annoy me , every five nights , because of their collection of "action figures"", emphasizing on his toys.

Alan opened his mouth to argue back but closed it, pouting , just the way he did, when we were kids.

He then got on both of his knees, I arched my eyebrow, "please, can we, please, I will stop annoying you for a whole month and promised to do your bed for a whole year , as well, as your chores".

I squint my eyes at him.

Alan, then gave me a version of puppy eyes, that looked more like he was constipated and needed some time alone.

I sighed, "fine".

Alan pound his fist in the air in triumph and was the first to enter the woods.

I walk slowly towards it, step by step, looked up at it , took a deep breath and went inside.

"Tag, you are it ",he tagged me and ran.

I groaned," seriously, not even a second inside ",and ran after him.

We laughed and played ,feeling like we were eight again, in our backyard.

Until Alan got bored and decided we played hide n seek.

"Isn't that a kids' game," I crossed my arms.

"We have been playing tag for the last few minutes , you have to ask it now?"

I nod along, "good point".

Many hours later...

Here we are now...me and Alan separated....alone....to a slowly falling sun.

I screamed Alan's name , one more time.

I hope mom and dad are searching for us...

I heard a rustle behind me , I quickly looked back.

"Melanie....",I heard my brother's voice.

"Alan," I whispered back, I took a step forward but abruptly stopped.

Something feels odd.....

"Melanie..."it said again but a little more impatient.

I looked up at the branches....and gasped.

A dark chuckled followed , "you are the smart one , I supposed ", it said.

A creature,15 feet tall in height with a skull-like head and long twisted antlers came out, his glowing haunting yellow eyes ,look down on me , he twists his lipless blood-stained mouth into a smile.

"Wanna play a game of hide n seek?" it said in my brother's voice.

I screamed.

.

.

.

.

.

"Melanie !!!! Melanie !!! Honey, wake up!!",I groan.

"Oh my God, Robert, she is awake!!!"

.

.

.

.

I opened my eyes slowly to see my parents, worrying faces, as well as two local police officers we have met earlier.

I tried to sit up but felt a massive pain in my abdomen.

"Wow ,take it easy, girlie "a man said, putting a hand in my shoulder to lay me down again ," you just woke up".

"What happened ?"I groaned.

"You were attacked and lucky to be alive, young lady...."the police officer said," is a miracle ,really?"

What?

I moved arms in front of my face, bandages were around them , the brownish blood staining them.

I grabbed my face and gasped as I felt a long scar , that goes across my cheek .

My face paled as memories flashed before my eyes in fast speed.....the creature....I managed to outsmart it...I remembered running away as quickly as possible to the unrestricted area and hoping Alan was there to get help...

"Where is Alan ?"I tried to get up again, only to be held back.

"Your brother....",they looked down.

"Where is Alan ?!" I shouted.

My mom grabbed my hands ,"Alan....honey...for the past few weeks...we have been waiting for you to wake up....and also in how to give you the news...".

 ....he twists his lipless blood-stained mouth into a smile.

"Wanna play a game of hide n seek?" it said in my brother's voice....

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Aletze Castellanos

Hello there , I am Aletze , I am a college student , a cat mom, an older sister, a big Marvel, FNAF, Hazbin Hotel , Helluva Boss , etc fan.

I love to write creepy stories, romance stories, theories and what is going on the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.