Horror logo

Be Aware or Should I Say Beware

Sleepless nights can be such a hassle but then again so can absolute terror.

By Chelsea SouthPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I sat awake yet again at 3am, wishing I could just get some sleep. The wind roared outside with the storm that battered the house and shook the trees. 'This is great.' I thought. 'No sleep and a long day tomorrow. Maybe counting sheep? No what am I 12?' I paused my thoughts before releasing an exasperated sigh. 'One. Two. Three. Fou-' BANG! The sound rang loudly through the house urging me to sit upright and look around the room. I strained to listen for any other indicator that someone had broken in but my ears rang with the dead silence of the place. With a shrug I laid back down to resume my childish sheep counting. 'Five. Six. Sev-' BANG BANG!!!! Again I sat upright, my heart picking up pace with the numerous possibilities of what could've caused the sound or, where it might have come from. I swung my feet to the floor and grabbed the flashlight off my nightstand. BANG! The sound rang out again making me jump. I steeled myself as I reached the door and flung it open.

Empty darkness stood before me and stretched down the corridor. 'What the hell am I doing?' I asked before taking a deep breath, flicking on the flashlight and stepping out into the dark. I shuffled along the hallway my flashlight beaming off the floor and walls illuminating all that it touched. The floor boards creaked beneath me, giving me an unsettling feeling of being followed. I rounded the corner into the kitchen. Silence. Dead silence. BANG! Came from behind me and as I spun around the only thing that my flashlight fell upon was a closed cabinet door. Puzzled and utterly frightened at this point, I wheeled around searching frantically with my flashlight for anything that could explain the noise and put my mind at ease so I could go back to bed and go to sleep. What happened next made a scream catch in my throat. I watched as the cabinet doors opened on their own. Every last one slowly creaked open and then BANG! They slammed shut. I ran into the living room and huddled myself into the corner of the couch. Suddenly I was sinking. The couch had melted into a pile of goo that I now found myself being submerged in. I screamed and clawed at the goo trying to escape the inevitable. As the pool reached my face the smell of rank, rancid meat filled my nose. I closed my eyes, took a deep breath and let it take me.

When I opened my eyes I was in a room that looked like a mixture between a prison cell and a cheap college dorm room. The door was open and I could see a flickering light off in the distance. 'Where the hell am I?' I asked myself desperately wishing I had grabbed a knife or something from my house. Even the flashlight was gone at this point. I walked across the floor, feeling as if I were walking through sticky jelly or chewed gum. Reaching the doorway I poked my head out and looked down the hall. A woman in a wheelchair started to wheel across. "Hey! You!" I called barely recognizing my voice. I immediately regretted calling out because as she turned to face me my stomach twisted up in knots and another scream threatened to escape my lips. Her face looked as though it had been melted, skin barely clinging to exposed muscle and bone, her right eye had fallen from its socket and dangled down her face. She smiled at me, her smile stretching from one ear to the other, revealing black sharp teeth. I backed away real slow and as I did she threw her head back and let out a horrible screech before darting towards me wheeling her chair as fast as she possibly could. I turned and ran as fast as my legs would carry me. Looking back I noticed she was gaining on me quick. As she reached out a clawed hand to grab me a HUGE muscled arm reached out of one of the passing doorway and plucked her up, pulling her screeching form into the room. From the hall I heard a squishing and squelching sound. Unable to stop myself from moving forward, I neared the doorway and peeked in. Automatically vomit rose in my throat and a scream formed on my lips. This HUGE scarred man sat before me ripping apart the wheelchair woman and shoving the pieces into his mouth. As I took a last gaze at the woman's face horror clenched in my chest and the room began to spin. IT WAS MY FACE!!!! I screamed uncontrollably and sat upright in bed. Sweat dripped from my face and forehead as my chest heaved up and down rapidly with my coming breaths. I wiped my forehead and sighed in relief. It was a dream a horrible, awful, dream. I laid back against my pillow with a small laugh of relief and slowly went to close my eyes when a gigantic hand clasped my face and everything went black.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Chelsea South

I write short stories, long stories, poems and reviews. I typically stay toward the darker and magical side of things so supernatural, vampires, magic, horror. All are my forte.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.