Horror logo

As It Is In Hell

A Dark Lord's Prayer

By Robby BristolPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

What is it about the supernatural that intrigues human beings so much? Is it that we struggle to fathom the concept that there's more than the realm we experience? Or is it simply because we're all secretly obsessed with anything considered dark or taboo? I pondered these things on my way home from school yesterday when something told me to take a different route home. I can't say what it was exactly; not a voice, more like...a feeling. Like someone or something had implanted this vague thought into my mind and the next thing I knew, I was turning down a street I had never walked down before. The street was completely empty, which was odd for this part of town that's usually known for children playing in the yards, moms out walking with strollers, and teenagers playing basketball while blaring loud music. No, this street was different. Every house was quiet. Even the light from the setting sun seemed to morph from its once dazzling array of orange and gold to a dull stormy grey. I quickened my pace and kept walking, anxious to make it to the next street to my house. That's when I saw it. I don't know what made me turn and even look in this direction in the first place but there it was between two garbage bins filled with trash that looked and smelled like it had sat there for weeks. It was a book, old and worn. The cover was stained with god knows what and the pages had yellowed with time but there it was. I don't know what drove me to pick it up but the next thing I knew, I was running home with it neatly tucked under my arm as if the world was trying to steal it from me. The relief I felt entering my front door was breathtaking. But relief from what? What was I so anxious for? Why was I so dead set on bringing this book home? I put on a pot of coffee and sat down at the table with my new find. The cover had a strange symbol on the front that looked strangely like a pentagram merged with an upside down cross merged with...a goat head? I instantly knew I should have thrown it away. I was raised catholic after all. But then there was that vague thought in my head again that said..."open it." So I did. I can't even fully explain what happened next but the closest thing I can equate it to was a near death experience. You know how they say right before you die you experience your entire life all over again in the period of like five seconds? Well that's what happened except it wasn't my life I was looking at. I was seeing...people. People in agony. People screaming in torment and pain. But what was truly strange was that in the midst of all that, I felt none of the misery I was seeing around me. I felt like I was literally there next to these people but I was separated at the same time. Protected almost. Once the vision was gone I just sat there for a while trying to catch my breath. Once I could breath normally I decided to start reading. The book was basically an instruction manual for...something that I couldn't quite understand. But at this point I had to try and see what it was. I needed a dark room and candles. I ran to the storage closet and grabbed as many candles as I could find and placed them in a circle. Then I turned off the lights. I immediately felt like there was something else in the room with me but for some reason I didn't fear it. The next step was a passage I had to read aloud. Looking over it I realized it was a prayer...the Lord's Prayer in fact. But it had been altered.

"Our Father, who art in Hell

Hallowed be Thy name.

Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done

On Earth as it is in Hell"

I dropped the book and continued repeating the words. "Our Father, who art in Hell". The room was silent. Unnaturally silent. I could hear my own heartbeat. "Hallowed be Thy name". There was someone standing in the corner of the room now but it was too dark to make out any features. They were tall though. Very tall. Like...almost touching the ceiling. I shut my eyes and continued. "Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on Earth as it is in Hell". Suddenly I wasn't the only one speaking. There was another voice speaking along with me in a much deeper tone. Far deeper than any human could speak. And it was coming from the corner of the room. We continued repeating together, getting louder and louder each time. "On Earth as it is in Hell. On Earth as it is in Hell. ON EARTH AS IT IS IN HELL." I don't know what happened next but I guess my mother came home and walked in on me chanting and...floating off the ground. Apparently she was screaming hysterically but at least managed to take a picture to show the police before she passed out on the ground. I awoke in the hospital. I have no idea what happened to that book. Neither my mom nor the police say they saw any book or any other person in the room. I take the normal way home from school now.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.