Horror logo

Amazon

Amazon

By Wellington LambertPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Amazon

I can see the hidden words.

Tucked under like subtitles.

Stowaways, waiting for the next stop.

It was just a package, but so much more.

When he arrived at the door, I knew he had it hidden deep inside. When he spoke, I was certain.

I invited him in.

He seemed a bit surprised, and in a way, I was surprised he came in. But it wasn’t him entering, it was what was inside him. It could feel me.

It knew I knew.

What happened next was quick, violent and beautiful.

This was the first time I had it come directly to my door.

It’s a ballsy fucker.

But now it’s stuck inside him, without the aid of sound to find its next target.

The muffled screams of my Amazon driver let me know it is still trying to get out, trying to infect me with its codes and crimes.

We think we are surrounded by blank space, but space is an illusion.

We move through bio codes and frequencies like fish in water. The density is just a trick, the thinness an act.

I have been encountering these subtitled intruders for a few years. Moving from person to person, leaving their stink on our soul, hoping for a free ride.

This goo we call human form is a complicated vessel for material experience. When we leave this daydream, we take all our horror and beauty with us, all our love, bits and pieces.

We also take what attaches to us.

Our next destination is prime real estate, a prized location that sits in infinite time and space. Our evolutionary pattern has created a direct route to this constantly growing suburb of existence. For reasons unknown, we are the lucky ones.

Our souls shine, attracting unwanted visitors.

He has stopped screaming and sits in front of me, eyes wide, tears forming.

I place my hand on his head and feel for calm. A relaxed muscle that once housed an angry host.

It is gone.

It knows when all is lost.

It has dissolved itself into the atmosphere and is now traveling to the next shiny object.

I have learned to turn off my reflection.

It is hard to tell what kind of invader you are dealing with. Some mimic your thoughts while other sit quietly in the back of your worst nightmares, holding on to them, like a weapon. You can feel them, an undefinable heaviness. Something that glues itself to your deepest insides. Waiting for your last breath and a free ride. The damage does not become evident till you are halfway through transition. It presents itself as a glitch, a bug. Something to be removed. Your transition is stalled, and the glitch is corrected. This time period is enough to allow the entity to move into the flow of what I now call the Spiritual Current. It will be carried to the final landscape and manipulate its way back into human form. The difference this time is how it presents. It will be involved in every action of the host, alive in every cell. I have been told that in order to function they disable the brains’ ability to connect, to form empathy. They are looking for intense experiences and can only feed on extreme situations.

That would explain the behavior of quite a few people.

As their population increases, the environment they live in becomes increasingly suited for their needs.

It is not good.

My delivery man is fading.

He will slowly leave this moment. I will redesign his immediate future, so he wakes up with a gap in time and a sore head. He will think he tripped on the step on the way to my door.

Nothing fancy, just a quick trip and bump.

He will feel a bit different, lighter, less crowded.

He is lucky he delivered my package.

I saved him.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.