Horror logo

Abstract Hearts

Beauty is the beholder

By Wendy DouglasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Abstract Hearts
Photo by Viktor Talashuk on Unsplash

What a ride! It’s been about two whole months and I finally finished the project for my client. A tedious task, but well worth the time. Her features are so humble. The loose coils of her hair, the round cheeks into a petite feminine chin. Delicate yet somehow so strong, as if she could scream and get whatever it is she set her eyes upon. Modest bust, with curves enough, slender toned calves. He’ll be pleased. This drive feels like I’m trekking across the continent. If I’m not mistaken the navigation system says it's twenty-five minutes yet to go. The inquiry was quite vague from my recollection:

Looking for unique art to satisfy my unique tastes. Something new, bold, unheard of. Nothing is off-limits. Pique my ever open mind.

Gerard Montike

Abstract Hearts.

Fine by me. I’ve never been able to restrain my artistic ability and his business Abstract Hearts? Well, that’s me to a T right? I was all in. Took me a bit to prove myself to Mr. Montike. He did a thorough critique of my portfolio so very meticulous but, he did approve after obvious insight into my vision. He offered $250,000 for my first piece. If becoming enamored with her, he mentioned he'd be willing to create a collection. Me!? An artist with a collection! And better yet, a collector to fit the bill. I couldn’t be happier for the opportunity, quite frankly the money is great just helps put back into the work for me.

Ten minutes. My heart is pounding. Excellent.

The inside of the van is at a perfect temperature of 74 degrees, great for the human body. One must always be comfortable in such excitement. It has always been hard for me to contain my emotions when it comes to my work. I just feel as though the effort, labor, the pain that gets poured into my pieces. She stands tall in the back. The pristine figure, motionless.

The gate is immense, the email mentioned the code to plug into the pad:

11820

As I head up the driveway two men are waiting. Tall, strong, much unlike myself but I guess with money one does not necessarily need those features.

“Welcome to the manor, sir. Can I help you unload the merchandise?” I guess that’s fine I’d rather handle things start to finish but I cannot be rude to such a fruitful client or those he associates with.

“Please.”

Once she’s successfully unloaded, we traverse up the stairs and into the home. Immaculate. She fits right in.

“Mr. Montike, it’s a pleasure.” He’s so beautiful, so young. Must be an heir or something, I’ve never been one for family or its misfortune.

“Likewise Mr. Cahl. I am so very anxious to see the results of your vision for my home.”

Pounding. Sweating. Nervous. As we move through the home to the final resting place our eyes meet.

“Cahl, would you unveil my new piece” I can see his eyes are full of angst just the way my heart felt as I took my first step back at her, finished.

The heavy cloth hiding her modesty makes the same sound you hear in any unveiling situation. A melodic whoosh to my ears. I will never forget it.

The light is just right and in all of her glory, she is home.

"Unbelievable. Mr. Cahl, you've... you've outdone yourself. Truly." The compliment resides in my heart but, I know he has yet to fully understand this new centerpiece to his heart. I give him a moment to absorb her features. He seems approving, the occasional nod, the deep breath that typically comes with adoration. Then he stops a sharp turn of his head to meet her eyes.

"They are exquisite, such a deep amber. I feel they've seen such wonderful things. Cahl she's beautiful. I cannot thank you enough. I myself do believe we will be doing business more."

As he hands over the check I am overwhelmed with joy, he loves her. I could tell as soon as he laid eyes on her. I love her. I love the art of sculpture.

" And where might I ask, did you find such inspiration ?" A point I have been very much been waiting to disclose. "Such a beautiful girl in an art study I'm in." He looks at me with those piercing eyes, sly almost.

"I do believe that fits in all her aspects. Maybe the next piece should be more daring?"

The swell of anticipation rising over my sole being, I cannot hide how happy I am. " I can make that happen, it takes time for me to make sure everything is just right..." He nods and takes giddy strides to his desk. A perfect vantage point for gazing apon her beauty. He pulls out a small black book leather bound and hands it to me. Its smells so new its pages so crisp. The cover pressed with the words:

Abstract Hearts

Ive found my niche, my purpose. This will be my home In the heart of Mr. Montike and his new love.

" I will let you to enjoy her, I will keep in touch , thank you for your patronage Mr. Montike." I feel her gaze upon me, her amber eyes following me tears running down her porcelain face. Joy I'm sure, to be part of something so exciting is an honor. And in the company of such another beautiful being. It's almost as if I've made a family.

Shutting the doors to the van and closing up I turn in the vehicle and let a cooler rush of air conditioning consume the air around me. So refreshing . My little book. Ah! It's perfect. As soon as I saw its' layout I knew its' meaning. So I start scribing.

Ashley Marie Emmerson, Date of birth January 8th 1991, Date of Becoming March 17th 2021, Date of Rest TBD.

Im sure Mr. Montike will fill me in on when she takes her last breath. All of that information was on the Art Description Page.

I already have our next piece in mind, I cannot wait. This payout will be more than enough to fuel a fire and have an even more exquisite work of art my client. He mentioned he's not the only unique collector. Imagine , me ,my living porcelain mannequins in homes for such astute investors.

I love my job.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.