Horror logo

A World of Darkness and Desire

Realities become one

By Steffany PopePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
2
Photo Credit: https://i.pinimg.com/originals/b9/75/f0/b975f0ce125f8b84a786d65d2a22da71.jpg

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own. I stared at the image in front of me, feeling a shiver run down my spine. The person in the mirror had the same hair, the same eyes, and the same face as me, but there was something different about them. It was like looking at a version of myself that had been twisted and distorted by some unseen force. The longer I stared, the more I began to feel like I was looking at a stranger.

I tried to let it go and turn away, but I couldn't. It was like the image was calling to me, drawing me closer. I took a step forward, and then another, until I was standing right in front of the mirror.

Suddenly, the glass began to ripple, like a drop of water hitting the surface of a pond. I stumbled back, my heart pounding in my chest. The ripple grew larger, until the entire surface of the mirror was writhing and twisting like a living thing.

And then, just as suddenly as it had begun, it stopped. The mirror was still, but the reflection was different. Instead of a twisted version of myself, I saw a room. It was dimly lit, and I could see a figure in the corner, huddled in the shadows.

I watched, transfixed, as the figure slowly began to move. It was a woman, and as she stepped into the light, I could see that she was naked. She was beautiful, with long dark hair and curves that made my heart race.

But there was something about her that was unsettling. It was like she was trying to tell me something, something important, but I couldn't quite understand what it was.

And then, just as suddenly as she had appeared, she was gone. The mirror was once again showing my reflection, but I couldn't shake the feeling that something had changed. That something had been set in motion that I couldn't stop.

Over the next few days, I couldn't stop thinking about the woman in the mirror. Who was she? What did she want from me? I found myself drawn back to the mirror again and again, hoping to catch another glimpse of her.

But each time I looked; the mirror showed only my own reflection. It was like the woman had vanished into thin air.

That is when the nightmares started. Every night, I would dream about the woman in the mirror. In my dreams, she was always reaching out to me, trying to tell me something. But I could never quite understand what she was saying. The dreams were vivid and unsettling, and I would wake up in a cold sweat, my heart racing.

As the days went by, I began to feel like I was losing my grip on reality. The line between my waking life and my dreams was starting to blur. I would see flashes of the woman in the mirror during the day, like a ghost haunting me.

I started to avoid the mirror, but it was like a magnet pulling me closer and closer. I could not resist its pull. I would find myself standing in front of it, staring into its depths, even though I knew it was only going to make things worse.

And then, one day, something changed. As I looked into the mirror, I saw the woman again. But this time, she was not alone. There was a man with her, and they were both looking at me.

A jolt of fear ran through me. It was like they were trying to pull me into the mirror, to drag me into their world.

But then, something even stranger happened. The woman in the mirror spoke to me. Her voice was soft and musical, and it sent chills up my spine.

"Come with us," she said. "We've been waiting for you."

I felt a strange compulsion to obey her. It was like she was calling to me from another world, and I had to answer.

And so, without really thinking, I stepped forward into the mirror.

The next thing I knew, I was standing in a room I had never seen before. It was like something out of a dream, with strange furniture and flickering candles casting shadows on the walls.

The man and the woman were standing in front of me, and they were both smiling.

"Welcome," the woman said. "We've been waiting for you."

I didn't know what to say. I felt like I had entered a different world, a world where the rules of reality didn't apply.

And then, something even stranger happened. The woman began to undress, and the man joined in. Before I knew it, we were all naked, and they were both touching me, exploring my body in ways that made my head spin.

The experience was both terrifying and exhilarating. I felt like I was caught in some strange erotic dream, and I could not escape.

But then, just as suddenly as it had begun, it was over. The man and the woman disappeared, leaving me standing alone in the strange room. I stumbled back, feeling disoriented and confused. What had just happened? Had it been real, or was it all just a dream?

As I tried to make sense of what had just happened, I realized that something was different. It was like a veil had been lifted, and I could see the world around me in a new light.

The world was darker, more twisted than I had ever imagined. The people around me seemed different, like they were hiding something, like they were all part of some dark conspiracy.

And then, I realized the truth. The mirror had opened a gateway to another world, a world where the rules of reality didn't apply. And I had stepped through that gateway, into a world of darkness and desire.

Over the next few days, I continued to explore this new world, seeking out the man and the woman from the mirror. I would find myself drawn to dark alleys and abandoned buildings, searching for any sign of their presence.

Each time I found them, they would lead me deeper into the darkness, showing me things I had never imagined possible. They would bring me to the edge of ecstasy, and then push me over, leaving me gasping for breath and begging for more.

But even as I reveled in this new world of pleasure and pain, I knew that something was wrong. It was like I was slowly losing myself, like I was becoming someone else.

And then, one night, everything changed. I found myself standing in front of the mirror once again, staring into its depths. But this time, the reflection was different.

It wasn't the man or the woman from the other world. It was me.

I stared at the reflection, feeling a sense of horror wash over me. I had become the thing I had been searching for, the creature that had lured me into this world of darkness.

And then, just as suddenly as it had appeared, the reflection was gone. The mirror was once again showing only my own reflection.

But I knew the truth. I had become the monster that had been haunting me all along.

Over the next few days, I tried to resist the pull of the mirror, but it was like a drug calling to me, drawing me back in. I would find myself standing in front of it, staring into its depths, searching for some kind of answers.

And then, one night, the mirror spoke to me.

"Come back to us," it said. "You belong with us."

I felt a shiver run down my spine. I knew that I had to resist the mirror's call, but it was like a siren's song, pulling me closer and closer.

But then, something inside me snapped. I realized that I couldn't keep living in this world of darkness and desire, that I had to find my way back to reality.

And so, I took a deep breath and stepped away from the mirror. I turned my back on the world of darkness and desire and walked away.

It wasn't easy. The mirror continued to call to me, tempting me with its twisted reflections and promises of pleasure. But I knew that I had to resist.

Over time, the world around me began to take on a new clarity. The people around me were no longer hiding secrets or conspiracies. They were just ordinary people, living ordinary lives.

And yet, even as I tried to move on from my experience with the mirror, I knew that it would always be a part of me. It had changed me, twisted me in ways that I could never fully understand.

But I was determined to move forward, to live my life as best I could. And as I walked away from the mirror, I knew that I had made the right choice.

The end.

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Steffany Pope on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Check it out...

halloweenurban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalpop culturemonster
2

About the Creator

Steffany Pope

Dealing with mental health problems has been hard. I've lived my whole life believing that no one understood me. I realized, my mind is not for others to understand; but for my edification of self awareness. So, I write to understand me.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Not bad. Cut 'The End' next time, and do not worry about having a positive ending when you are going for horror.

  • Colt Hendersonabout a year ago

    I found this to be a sweet story of self discovery. You sometimes have to go through the dark to find the light. Great story. The only thing I noticed was you used run instead of ran. A jolt of fear ran through me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.