Horror logo

A Wolf's Cry

It may become something more.

By Scarlett LovePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

A wolf’s cry is what I hear at night. This is the first time I've ever heard it. It’s an unsettling sound to hear so late at night. What made it worse was the fact that I lived alone in my big house at the edge of the woods. My closest neighbor was about three miles away. I have no pets to guard me or tell me if something was wrong. I am completely alone. I did like being alone in my house, but at the moment I was scared to be alone.

I rush to lock all the doors and my windows that were not yet locked, I closed all of the blinds. After everything was done and I knew things were cleaned up I rushed to get upstairs and to my master bedroom. Once inside my room with the door locked I made sure to go and lock the balcony doors and shut my blackout curtains. I had the lamp on my bedside table turned on that bathed the room in a dim glow. I started to get dressed for bed so I could lay down and hopefully sleep until morning.

I get dressed and lie down underneath the covers, bundling up and getting comfortable. I was asleep in no time. Though my wish to sleep until morning was once again not granted.

I was once again woken from a nightmare. Though this one was not like the usual nightmare that I always have. This one was strangely different.

The usual nightmare that I have every night. It was always me being alone and for some reason, I was always sad and depressed because I was alone. It showed me how I really felt all the time, these nightmares reflected on the feelings that I suppressed constantly. I never wanted to have the feeling of depression constantly over my shoulders and knowing I could do nothing about it.

This nightmare was different this time because in this nightmare I was in the woods. I was alone at first but instead of being sad and depressed and alone, I was scared. I felt scared that there was something out there watching me and waiting for an opportunity to hurt me. I ran and ran until I collapsed and I started sobbing. I didn't even understand why I was so scared and what was chasing me, but I knew there was something or someone after me and I was scared to death. After a while of me sobbing, I quieted down once I heard a branch snap and leaves crunching underneath the weight of something.

I looked up to see a dark silhouette of a man. From where I was on the forest floor he looked to be taller than any man I have ever seen. I could just feel the evil that was emanating from this dark shadow of a man. Just the sight of him sent shockwaves of fear through me.

This shadow of a man started to make his way towards me. I started to frantically crawl away from him. I knew that this man wanted to hurt me and something in me told me to not let him touch me. My back hit the large trunk of a tree and I now had nowhere to go. The figure kept getting closer and closer and he started reaching out for me. I was terrified and I started to scream and cry out for someone to help me, I started to cry again and the second before he touched me, I woke up in a cold sweat, my heart racing.

I look around the room and my light goes out. I look on the floor and notice that the bulb was shattered and broken. It’s strange that the light shattered because I thought it couldn't be from being on while I sleep. I have it on the dimmest light. Then I notice that my curtains look like they've been opened. I'm positive that when I went to bed that they were completely shut. But now they were open about halfway and I could see that my balcony doors were opened up.

I slowly got out of bed and walked to my balcony doors. Once I reach the doors I hesitate to go outside and look to see if anything is out there. As I look around and see that nothing and nobody is there, I go back inside. I close the doors and latch them shut, then close my curtains fully. I turn around only to see a large but beautiful silver wolf with striking ice blue eyes.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.