Horror logo

A Witch's Fate

and courage

By Cathryn DennisonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

I quickly packed the trunk as quickly as I could. Time was short, and he would be here soon. Just as I thought that, there was a firm and loud pair of knocks at the door. I raised the broom in my hand in defense before I heard a loud, male voice call from behind the cabin door. “Mrs. Tully? It’s Mr. Sampson. I’m here to pick up your delivery.”

I instantly lowered the broom and promptly rushed over to the door to unbolt and open it. “Yes, thank you for coming on such short notice. Please, come in.” He tipped his hat as he came in from the late autumn cold, his shoes leaving a couple of muddy footprints in their wake. On a normal day, I would have chastised him, but not now. My mind was far too preoccupied with more urgent matters.

“You almost missed me, ma’am,” He said as he looked around my small, modest cottage while I rushed over to the bed across the room. “With the storm close by, I had planned to be on the road to Lexington even sooner, but all of the craziness of the town set me back.”

I nodded absentmindedly, though the taste of irony was bittersweet. If it wasn’t for the townspeople’s crazy beliefs and actions, then I wouldn’t have to do this. At the same time, I might not have been able to save her if they weren’t all behaving madly.

Picking up the cooing bundle that was tightly wrapped up in my mother’s blanket and in a basket, I looked over her one last time quickly. My little angel...Her cheeks were rosy and her eyes were staring up at me with wonder sleepily. My heart tightened, and I quickly handed the basket over to Mr. Sampson as he wore a confused scowl.

“Ma’am. You said you need a package delivered to Lexington. Not a child!”

I shook my head before handing him the last bit of silver that I had in my purse, giving him a look of desperation. “You won’t have to care for her long. My sister is waiting for her in Lexington, and I’m afraid I won’t be able to bring her there myself. Please, sir. She’s my only daughter, and I know she’ll be safer with you than with just me.”

The man looked at the basket again, completely bemused. I had handed him triple his usual price and my pleas seemed to persuade him, but I think he could tell that my desperation was a little suspicious. “My sister will give you an extra ten pieces of silver when you arrive in Lexington with her safely.” I nodded to my babe in the basket again, praying her natural innocence would persuade him to not ask questions.

After a moment, he relented with a nod. “I’ll keep her safe, Mrs. Tully.” Without another word, he left back into the cold night, keeping the basket close to him as he climbed back onto his wagon and started to ride off.

The moment he was out of sight, I closed the door and quickly dragged my trunk beside it, nervously sitting on the bed as my mind raced. “He will not come.” Looking up, I saw my familiar, my spirit guardian and assistant in magic, flying through the window. They were a beautiful, young barn owl; a companion I’ve had since I was a little girl.

My heart sunk as I realized what they had said. “He promised…” I all but pleaded.

The barn owl nodded its head. “Your husband kept his promise until the end. I have just come from the village. He went to the elders, as he said he would, but they had convinced the others of his insanity. He’s been thrown in the stocks until after the trial concludes.”

The owl flew up to the nightstand, landing just a few feet away and looking up at me with wise, all-knowing eyes. “You don’t have much time. They are coming for you.” Ever full of wisdom…

Shaking my head, I stood up and grabbed my cloak. “Then I should meet them and save themselves the walk,” I said resoundingly before throwing it around me as I walked through the cold towards the village.

Quickly, the owl landed on my shoulder, gazing at me inquisitively. “You’re walking to your death.” He pointed out needlessly.

I nodded, my footing as sure and true as my intentions. “Yes. If I don’t, they will look for my daughter, and I cannot abandon my husband. He’s never once scorned me for my ways, and I will not feed him to the wolves after he has staved them off of me for years.”

The owl turned their head in an inquisitive manner. “They may kill you both, and you will still go? What of your babe?”

I stopped and lifted my hand so that the owl would climb onto it so we were face to face. “She will have you to guide her, and I trust you more than anyone.” The owl’s big, black eyes peered into my soul as if acknowledging that they felt the trust I had for them. “Guide her in our ways. Watch over her, and protect her.”

They bowed their head again before it looked behind it, towards the direction that I was facing. “They are coming.” It said softly before facing me. “This is farewell.”

I nodded with a solemn smile before gently placing my forehead to theirs, closing my eyes as I said goodbye to my life-long friend and alley. “May the sky grace you on your journey.”

The barn owl nodded before taking off into the darkness in the blink of an eye. Taking a deep breath, I continued to walk towards the impending mob of villagers. All of this...just because I can do what they cannot...see what they cannot...be what they cannot...

The people of Salem are more fickle and blind than any other creature I have seen in this world or the next.

Thanks for reading! If you thought this was helpful, please give this a like and share it. It really helps. If you're interested in more of my work, check out my Twitter for live updates when articles, stories, and poems are available.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.