Horror logo

A Tale of Haunted Reflections

Broken Mirror

By Amna AsgharPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
A Tale of Haunted Reflections
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. As I stood before it, a chill crept up my spine, sending shivers cascading down my arms. The image in the glass was distorted, twisted into a grotesque mockery of myself. My eyes widened with a mixture of fear and fascination. How could this be? I leaned in closer, my breath fogging the cold surface of the mirror.

It had been an ordinary day when I stumbled upon the antique shop, tucked away in a forgotten corner of the city. The mirror had called out to me, its ornate frame beckoning with an air of mystery. Ignoring the old shopkeeper's warnings, I brought it home, oblivious to the dark secrets it held.

As days turned into weeks, I became captivated by the mirror's enigmatic presence. It seemed to possess a life of its own, its eerie allure drawing me back time and again. It became an obsession, a portal to another realm that I couldn't resist exploring.

But now, as I stared at the distorted reflection, a whisper of doubt lingered in my mind. Shadows danced in the corners of the room, as if the mirror's alternate reality was seeping into my world. Objects shifted, furniture rearranged itself subtly, and a chilling breeze whispered against my skin.

Nightfall came, casting the room into an inky blackness. Trembling, I approached the mirror once more, the only source of light in the room being the pale moon outside. My hand reached out, fingertips grazing the cold glass. It pulsed with a malevolent energy, a gateway to a realm I couldn't comprehend.

With a deep breath, I crossed the threshold, stepping into the mirror's twisted reflection. The world beyond was a nightmare, a macabre version of my own reality. Streets were cloaked in perpetual darkness, twisted creatures roamed the shadows, and a sense of despair hung in the air like a thick fog.

I searched desperately for an escape, but the mirror had ensnared me within its sinister grasp. Days merged into nights, blurring the line between reality and nightmare. The once familiar faces of loved ones became distorted, their eyes vacant and soulless.

Every attempt to shatter the mirror's hold proved futile. It mocked me with its reflection, taunting me with the futility of my efforts. The bleeding of the alternate reality continued, consuming my world with its horrors. I was trapped, a prisoner within a shattered reality.

In the depths of despair, a flicker of determination ignited within me. I would not let the mirror claim me completely. With newfound resolve, I began to unravel the secrets that lay hidden within its ancient frame. Through dusty tomes and forbidden incantations, I discovered the truth.

The mirror was a conduit, a gateway to a realm of trapped souls. Their anguish, their longing, seeped through, corrupting everything it touched. To break free, I had to confront the twisted spirits that lurked within the depths of the mirror's alternate reality.

Armed with ancient knowledge and the remnants of my shattered courage, I faced the horrors head-on. Battle after battle ensued, as I fought the grotesque manifestations of tortured souls. With each victory, the mirror's hold weakened, its malevolent power waning.

Finally, as the last spirit was banished, the mirror shattered into a thousand shards, like broken dreams and forgotten nightmares. A rush of relief washed over me as the alternate reality faded away, leaving my world restored, yet forever marked by the haunting ordeal.

I stood amidst the fragments of the mirror, a bittersweet victory etched upon my weary face. The horrors of that alternate reality would forever haunt my memories, a reminder of the dangers that lie within the depths

of the unknown.

And as I gazed upon the scattered shards, I couldn't help but wonder if another unsuspecting soul would one day stumble upon a mirror like mine, drawn to its enigmatic call, and unknowingly unleash the horrors that lie within.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Amna Asghar

Discovering life's magic through writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.