Horror logo

A Strange day

Having déjà vu, it seems like all this has happened before, I just need to figure out what

By Ila PietersPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
A Strange day
Photo by Taylor Smith on Unsplash

After a long day of work all I wanted to do was rest. I stepped into my apartment rubbing my eyes and chucking my keys on the table, they landed with a loud bang but It didn't sound like keys falling onto the table, it sounded like a bang on the door.

I thought nothing of it, I'm just tired and everything sounds louder when you're tired. I looked down at the keys once more, shrugged it off and then headed towards my bathroom.

I could hear the water to the bath running from down the hall, which is weird because I live alone. Scared and worried I stopped cautiously outside the bathroom door and looked down at the ground. There was water coming out of the door and it looked like it wasn't going to stop anytime soon.

I quickly grasped the door handle and tried to open the door, it was locked. I put all of my weight on to the door and started to push in an attempt to open it and it did open, rather smoothly in fact, like it hadn't been locked. I looked around the bathroom trying to find whoever it was that had snuck into my apartment but no water was running, the bath was empty, the floor was dry and there seemed to be no one else around but me. This is really strange, am I really that tired?

I shook my head and walked out of the bathroom, shutting the door as I left. I took my phone out of my pocket.

One new message

None of my messages had been sent in the past three days, which is strange, the weather is fine and it says I have full bars. I opened the message that I had received.

The message was from Mike.

Hey, I wish we could have had our lunch today...but you seemed to have other plans. I wished you could have talked to me about it, I miss you.

I wonder what he meant by that? I wasn't meant to see Mike for lunch for another couple of days, maybe he just got them mixed up and we work together so I'll talk to him about it tomorrow at work. I sighed, he is being dramatic again. That's Mike for you though, I wish I could be like him sometimes, you know, happy and smiling all the time.

We can only be who we can be.

I walked into my bedroom, my chest started feeling heavy and I laid down on my bed. I placed my phone on the side table and closed my eyes, I drifted off to sleep.

---

I woke up suddenly to a loud thud noise, extremely similar to the one that I had heard before. I could hear faint sobbing; it was probably just the neighbours. I. I sat up in bed, my neck hurting, it didn't feel like I pulled a muscle, I rubbed my neck and it stung, did I scratch my neck by accident?

I stood up from the bed and walked over to my mirror to try and see if any damage had been done but nothing seemed to be there. No redness, no irritation, no scratch marks, nothing absolutely nothing appeared. What is even happening.

I looked over to the clock, it was about four in the morning. I've been waking up way too early, I won't be able to get back to sleep. So I walked out of my bedroom, grabbed my journal and sat down at my desk. I opened it slowly and looked at the last page that I had written on.

Well there wasn't that much writing on it, it was more like angry scribbles covering the page. Most days I write in this journal, its meant to help with coping but it hasn't been helping that much lately. The stress with work and dealing with a hot head of a boss gets to you. That's why there were angry scribbles there, angry scribbles to show how angry I am with the world and angry scribbles to show how angry I am at myself.

"Why can't I deal with this any better?" I spoke softly to myself, slamming the journal shut. I stared at it for a moment before standing up and walking out.

I picked up my keys off the table and made my way to the door, I needed to get out of here just for a little while. I opened the door and saw Mike sitting at the window, he looked so sad, so lifeless.

"Hey Mike," I stepped slowly towards him, "are you okay?" I placed my hand on his shoulder, he didn't seem to hear me or notice me. What is going on?

"How am I supposed to go in there and clear out her stuff?" Mike mumbled into his hand, not looking away from the window.

"Mike what are you talking about?" I shook him slightly, he didn't budge. I stepped away from Mike.

"Okay this must be a dream that I'm in, yeah that's why I've been hearing strange noises, that's why Mike isn't able to hear me," I turned around and opened up my apartment door once again. Everything made sense now, it was all just a dream!

I placed the keys down on the table and started making my way back to the bedroom, then I heard it. I heard the water running for the bath once again. I walked towards the bathroom door, water was flowing out from the bottom.

"That's what happened yesterday..." I grabbed the handle and opened the door slowly, I started making my way towards the bathtub when a piece of paper caught my eye. It sat on the counter top right next to the sink. The sink had blood all over it and the piece of paper had one or two drops of blood stained onto it.

I opened the piece of paper and looked down at the writing, my eyes widened in shock. I walked over to the bathtub, my feet moving the water. I leaned over to look into the bath, the water tainted red. I gasped and looked at the note again. Her throat was cut and her skin was paler than paper.

My hand held the letter, which was unmistakably my hand writing. It was my suicide note and it was dated three days ago.

Like

About the Creator

Ila Pieters

Hey there everyone!

I write a lot of random stuff, have a read!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.